Street Art – Skull – Just in Time for Halloween :)

Santa Fe is known as an art town. This town has a proliferation of galleries; however, what I love most is the little touches that people put out and about their homes.

Santa Fe doesn’t have home owner associations for the most part, so people are free to put out art and do some creative work with their property (see the mailbox here).  To some folks from other areas, this might look a bit trashy, but to my eye, I love the little creative displays that people do. I see art in everything, and I enjoy that it spills out in the smallest ways.

This little guy and his companion (which I have no idea what that is–maybe a pan of some type) sit on the stairs outside of a home about a half a block from me. I really had never noticed him before, but since I had my 70-200mm lens with me, I knew I could take photos of things that weren’t right in front of me, so my eye was noticing different things. That’s one thing I love about photography; depending on which lens I put on my camera, I see a totally different world. :)

This was shot with my Nikon 70-200mm lens at f/2.8. On processing the raw image, I desaturated some of the color out of the photo, as the blue of the door (the top right) just seemed out of place to my eye, and I like this more in black and white. Just seems perfect for this time of year/Halloween.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 28, 2011.

50 Responses to “Street Art – Skull – Just in Time for Halloween :)”

  1. Oh yes, a great marriage of Santa Fe and Halloween 😉

    Yup, I also wondered what the thing on the left was….they look like they are “cuddling”. I love it!

    • Thanks, Charleen! 🙂 I actually took another photo on an other day, and the thing on the left was moved some, and so the photo didn’t look as good. The cuddling is wonderful! 🙂 Glad you noticed that.

  2. That is a spooky thing to see in the street.

    • Ah, here in Santa Fe, you see skulls all over the place, so you kind of get used to it. But spooky is a great adjective for this photo. Thank you! And thanks for visiting my blog!

  3. My grandmother lived in Santa Fe for about 25 years. I love the art found everywhere in your town!
    Thank you for your visit and kind words. 🙂

  4. Now, I really like that…need to see if I can find some skulls around my house.

  5. You couldn’t have timed it better! 😀 I hope I get to visit Santa Fe one day, seems like a great place 😀 I was just showing Charlie (my bf) your blog, telling him what a great photographer you are! 😀

  6. It’s good to see and photograph the smaller things. Love the composition and very nice in black and white 🙂

  7. It’s amazing what we find when we’re looking around, like you said, based on what lens we’re carrying at the time. Nice photo, love the BW treatment too! Cheers!

  8. Nice photo!

  9. It looks like the skull is putting its right hand over its face–thinking. Happy Halloween to you too!

  10. I’m thinking about all the times I came across a cow skull and didn’t have a camera to shot them. I would love to try something like this.

    • I hope you have your camera with you the next time you come across a skull! Just come to Santa Fe. They are everywhere! Thanks for your comment and visiting my blog, Allan!

  11. Skulls making interesting black and white images – I think it’s something to do with the hollows & eye sockets. Steps are another subject that works well in black and white.

    I really enjoy seeing these shots from Santa Fe.

  12. Great shot! The skull reminds me of this deer skull I had as a kid. Your composition is wonderful as always. I really like the dark of the vertebrate (that’s what the pan-shaped bit looks like to me) against the white of the skull.

  13. Yep lens make your would a different one, thats for sure. I love my two too.
    I wanted to thank you for visiting my blog about the Juncos and leaving such a wonderful comment. I’m trying to blog a little more these days and leave my Etsy alone a little more. I love it too that you live just south of here in Taos area.
    Keep up the great posts and I’ll be back.
    I liked your first moon shot from years ago too
    peace n abundance,
    CheyAnne
    http://cheyannesexton.etsy.com

    • Thanks, Cheyanne! I really loved those junco shots of yours, and I hope they travel down to my bird feeders down here in Santa Fe (it’s not far guys!). So glad you like my photos and my posts! Take care and stay warm! 🙂

  14. 🙂 Thats a great shot. Not something I would ever see in Vancouver, which I think makes it more interesting to me. I love the grittiness of it in Black and White as well. 🙂 good choice!

  15. Very cool, nice shot!

  16. very cool find! Happy Halloween! 🙂

  17. Hello Katie, thanks for visiting my little corner! My seaside shots were taken with an often-dropped Kodak V-570 dual lens snappy. Its metal body has saved it from numerous brushes with death.

    Lovely blog you have! You’re an excellent photographer.

  18. Oooh.

    Happy Halloween! 😉

  19. Yup B&W was the way to go with this one!!! BOOOO

  20. Definitely the conversion to monochromatic makes the image stronger, and I agree with your comments about how we see based on the lens used. I’ve been obsessed with my macro, and it has changed the way that I select images. I really like the skull and your composition, Sally

  21. I especially appreciate your comments about seeing art in everything, and about using different lenses to allow yourself to see the world with different perspectives.

  22. That is Awesome! It definitely has a Halloween feel to it! Superb!!!

  23. I really like this one Katie. Lovely B&W tones.

  24. “Black and White” touches how great… well captured dear Katie, I loved it. Thank you, with my love, nia

Leave a Reply

 
