New Mexican Sunset

In the last couple of days, I’ve been going through my professional photos trying to get together ones that I want to put into an online photo gallery. There are so many to go through and narrow it down, and it’s a bitΒ difficult.

I came across this shot I took six years ago, about ten miles outside of Santa Fe, at a house that was then for sale. I had shot the property earlier in the day, but I offered to come back for sunset shots, as the natural environment was just beautiful, and the house was situated so that the rear portal (porch) would get a perfect view of the sunset. And besides, this is the type of shooting I really love. πŸ™‚

I Β remember it was a hard shot, as I was trying to get the right mix of sun and darkness, and seeing the pond in the distance and yet still getting some detail in the architecture. Plus I had to wait until the sun was in just that perfect sweet spot as it was setting.

In the end, I really like this shot, and I love running into it every once in a while on a search through my computer. It just is classic Santa Fe. This is what people commonly want when they buy their second homes in this area. Those gorgeous sunset views off a rear portal, and then big eastern views of the mountains.

I hope you like this photo too. Β Have a great weekend!

Image Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 29, 2011.

84 Responses to “New Mexican Sunset”

  1. Beautiful! πŸ™‚

  2. Beautiful photo!

  3. Radiant – the rays of light are perfect!

  4. I love the rays, how they have been captured neatly. My camera never does that for me. 😦
    The tree looks great too in this picture. And the wooden pillers have been silhouetted. Great picture. Perfect shot to end a day!:)

  5. Sunsets are my weakness… I love the sunbeams spreading forward! It’s so difficult to take a picture when the sun is so bright! Amazing, so much detail in this picture! πŸ˜€

  6. fantastic sun set…warm … and amazing framing.

  7. Gorgeous !!

  8. Wow, that’s really pretty! (:

  9. you captured a beautiful sunset, wonderful photograph and artistic insight. thank you for sharing your gift with us all πŸ™‚

  10. Nice to see you shooting into the sun and not only pulling it off but executing a gorgeous shot like this!

  11. That is so wild catching the rays like that. Beautiful.

  12. This is beautiful!! You’re making me want to come visit New Mexico πŸ™‚ One of my favorites….

  13. Great!

  14. masterfully done! πŸ™‚

  15. beautiful shot! Nice πŸ™‚

  16. Great photo, Katie. I like the way the sun is reflecting on the porch. Very nice. πŸ™‚

  17. eyes breath it, don’t look at it.

  18. amazing… simply awesome.

    hey will u check my blog too?

    https://mayflower19.wordpress.com/2011/10/28/those-things-that-never-came-back/

  19. I like this one also.. You captured the warmth of the sun.

    P.S. My wife sharon says that the Adobe Moon photo would make a fantastic cover for a travel brochure/book.

  20. Wow, this photo is stunning! I never was able to make such beautiful photos in RL, I’m mostly working with digital pictures… And I’m deeply impressed when people are able to create such beautiful photos as you do. All your posts are wonderful! And I wanted to thank you for your kind comment, it really made me feel happy, thank you! Your art is beautiful!
    Atteris

    • Thanks so much, Atteris! I truly appreciate your wonderful comment. I love your website too. I think your images are just stunning to the eye and just so fun to look at. Thanks again for your comment and visiting my blog!

  21. Nice place to make a good siesta… and after, to drink a mescalito before the dinner.

  22. AMAZING!!! Very Pretty! πŸ™‚

  23. A breathtaking photo!

  24. Beautiful! Well worth the wait to get the sun at the perfect angle. I loved your story of taking the picture, too.

  25. Stunning capture of the starburst from the sun! What a beautiful spot! I can picture myself there, in the evening, watching the sun set on that wonderful landscape! Great photo!!

    • Thanks, Steve! I wonder if this shot helped to sell the house. πŸ™‚ It was delightful to be there. I think there was even a hot tub that I had a thought for just a second of getting into. πŸ™‚

  26. Just exquisite!!

  27. You found the sweet spot alright!! Nice work!

  28. I love the way you catch the sun rays.

  29. Just beautiful, Im such a sucker for a sunset and you have caught it perfectly!

  30. Magnificant!!!!

  31. Beautiful dear Katie, your composition is great while the sun goes down… Captured so nicely. Yesterday, I smiled when I saw some apply candies at the street because they were not like your beautiful photograph. πŸ™‚ Photography how magical… how beautiful… in my mind your apple candy is being the only address for them. Thank you dear Katie, this is your impressive eye of camera. I hope and wish you have a nice weekend, Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

  32. nice!

  33. I love your photos πŸ™‚ The composition and attention to detail in the shots are great

  34. That is a wonderful shot

  35. love the sunset, the sun shined beautifully. How lucky you got to capture that moment. I was on the beach too last weekend and it was cloudy 😦
    but at least I nice landscape photos to share in my blog.

  36. I love it when you can combine work with fun!! Great shot, love the perspective and the starburst on the sun. πŸ˜‰

  37. Hello, thank you for the like.
    I love this picture; so simple and so effective. I think sometimes simplicity is the hardest thing to achieve.
    I’m impressed that you went back to this place to take the shot: it shows commitment to be there, by design, at the right time and just wait for the moment, rather than just to be opportunistic and pick things up as they come. Always bears the risk of disappointment, if not working out.
    Well done.
    Annette

  38. Love the warm and lovely evening mood in this image – the rays from the sun have become really powerful!

  39. This is a fantastic photograph. So peaceful!

  40. I love the way the sun plays in this picture.

  41. Great flare

Leave a Reply

 
