A Simple Pretty Flower for a Sunday – 6

Here’s the sixth installment of “A Simple Pretty Flower for a Sunday.” You can view all the earlier Sunday flower posts on this page.

For today, I was looking at some dandelion photos (don’t snicker at me 😉 ) that I took earlier in the week.  This flower was outside my home and was just in that perfectly beautiful state of getting ready to spread its seeds to the world. I had my macro lens with me, so I took a series of photos with different apertures and compositions.

I liked a lot of the photos with their different levels of depth of field/focus, but the photo that won out is below. I think I like it because it feels magical to me, and for the Sunday before Halloween, that just seems like the right photo to post. Did I change your mind about dandelions?  (:

Shot with my Nikon 105mm lens at f/5.0, to get a shallow depth of field/focus and the soft feel.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 30, 2011.

76 Responses to “A Simple Pretty Flower for a Sunday – 6”

  1. When I was a little kid growing up in Michigan, we used to make little chains out of dandelions. Great photo, Katie.

  2. Lovely photograph. I really like the off-centre composition 🙂

  3. Thanks Katie for reminding us we can find beauty in all things…even weeds! I love this one!

  4. This is great. Like the depth of field.

  5. this one is amazing, great work. the focused area is great and the DoF just atracts it even more 🙂

  6. I just want to blow it away (used to do that a lot when I was a kid 😉 )

    Nice close up. 🙂

  7. Awww I love this!! I have photo’s of my son ‘blowing’ these away, wishing on them!! Happy Sunday!!

  8. I think they are magic when you photograph them. The seeds play with the light in such a beautiful way.

  9. LOVE shooting dandelions and this one is a beauty!

  10. Very nice picture!

  11. Nice shot Katie – wonderful detail.

  12. Very nice! I love looking at the laciness of dandelions – their beauty lies more in their old age than in their youth!

  13. Dandelions get a bad rap. If you forget about the fact that society collectively agreed that they are weeds, and see them for what they are…. well, they are incredibly beautiful – as your photo shows! Besides pretty, they are edible and medicinal…. ! I say: make friends with your local dandelions. Who needs all that green grass anyway? 😉

    • I agree, Amy. Dandelions are a pest in one way, but they are very useful as greens and as medicine. And in Santa Fe, they grow in these huge bouquets and they are just pretty. Good motto you have about Dandelions! 🙂

  14. I just had fun the other day shooting dandelion fluff, too. I like the composition of your shot. Good job!

  15. So gorgeous and looks so fragile, luckily it’s not windy here!!! 😀

  16. Katie, this is beautiful. It makes me think of an audio-book I listened to as a kid – Thumbalina. I almost feel like a micro-world creature looking at this image. It’s beautiful and hopeful.

  17. I love the ethereal quality of this photograph – great composition, too! I think dandelions are awesome. They make great salad greens (and even wine). Having a perfectly manicured lawn is actually not natural, but dandelions are! Their sunny yellow flowers and light, wispy seed pods make me smile.

  18. Katie, you are again creating such a beauty! This photo is fabulous! I’m always impressed by your posts…))
    Atteris

  19. I think the title sums it up ‘simple pretty photo’ 🙂 Katie

  20. Perfectly centered compositions have their place (your moon over adobe, for instance) but for this it would have been static and boring. Nicer this way

  21. I sure am enjoying your images!!

  22. Beautiful shot! Who says dandelions can’t be flowers? They are a nice part of spring and summer. Such a nice color when they are young, so fragrant, and then they turn white like this…a hundred star bursts on each stem. Nice show for something people try to kill out. 😉

  23. Lovely photo

  24. They remind me of snow flakes… so delicate, frilly. What a great capture!

  25. So beautiful, I want to touch… Thank you dear Katie, and I would like to say that your blog is one of my nominated blogs. If you visit you can find the details. With my love, nia
    http://photographyofnia.com/2011/10/30/another-versatile-blogger-award-thank-you-dear-david/

  26. I love the texture of this one! 🙂 It came out great. Time to blow it out and make a wish.

  27. Stunning, I love dandelion clocks… And have spent loads of time photgraphing them too. Yours looks magical!

    • Ah, glad you like dandelions too, Janette. And I’m so glad you can see the magic in this photo. That’s what I saw when I first saw the photo. 🙂 Thanks for your wonderful, comment!

  28. I’ve always thought dandelions were beautiful, so there was no need to convince me, but thanks for posting such a pretty picture anyway. 🙂

  29. I like pictures of dandelions, at least if they are well executed (which this is).

  30. Love the simplictiy of a dandlion. Yours is a lovely image – soft, beautiful colours & DOF (& it looks good off centre also). I might add, a dandelion seed head was one of the first & best photos I ever shot when I first bought a camera early 2010.

    A dandelion image was what made me take up flower photography.

    • Ah, that is so nice to hear, Victoria. I’m so glad your first photo of a dandelion sent you on the way to taking more photos of flowers. What a wonderful tribute to the dandelion. Thanks so much for the wonderful comment!

  31. Like little star bursts! The symmetry is terrific! Great shot Katie!

  32. Lovely light shot

  33. Beautiful….so soft and gentle!!

  34. I love this photo. great!

  35. Wow. o.O Beautiful. I can’t believe the detail you got in this shot. Just stunning.

  36. I have found the dandelion so hard to capture that I am very impressed and adore this photo!

  37. Wow! You have a huge number of followers & comments! I love your dandelion pic, I have also shot some dandelions – they are so delicate. I just wish I had a macro lens 🙂

    • Thanks! I am amazed at the number of followers and the comments! Truly amazing to me. So glad you love the dandelion pic! And hope you get a macro lens someday. If any lens changes the way you see, I think it’s the macro. A lot of fun. 🙂

  38. Another well done image Katie…in every way!

Leave a Reply

 
