Photography As Abstract – Autumn

Today I’m showing another of my abstract photos. If you want to see the other posts with abstract photos, please click here.

This photo was taken about two weeks ago. The subject was the same autumn leaves that I posted a still image of earlier (you can view the post here). Can you see the connection between the two photos?

To me, today’s image speaks of fall and how quickly the leaves can change. I like the warm colors in the image and the blue of the sky.

Taken with my 105mm lens at f/36 at a shutter speed of 1/13, while I moved the camera in a diagonal motion.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on November 2, 2011.

76 Responses to “Photography As Abstract – Autumn”

  1. To me, regardless how it was made, or what it represents, if it was hanging in a gallery,(as it should be), I would just marvel at what a great abstract it is. I love it. 🙂

  2. Great colours 🙂 Nicely done

  3. Brilliantly captured. It looks like a painting, a beautifully colored painting. 🙂

    • Thanks, Nandini! I’ve been looking at abstract paintings lately, and they can really design those things with different shapes, and in my head, I’m trying to figure out how to do that with photography in these types of abstracts, without lots of post processing. 🙂

  4. This is beautiful! I love the colors

  5. Nice colors! 😀

  6. Great shot!

  7. What a transformation from the previous picture! Very nice and the colours ar so warm! 🙂

  8. Love the colours, Love the idea, Love everything! It is fabulous as all you do!

  9. I love the contrast and the colors all mixed together! It’s really unique (:

  10. Love this! At first glance it made me think of oranges on an orange tree… I love the colors of Autumn.

  11. Absolutely crisp! Very original….thanks for the color joy!

  12. You continually amaze me!

  13. That is a really nice abstract. It even inspires me to try more of them. The colours are wonderful!

  14. Very cool…kinda looks like a painting.

  15. hi there! thanks for the comment on my blog, so I could find yours. :] Great photos! I’m following it!

  16. Nice work with this…looks good

  17. I love these abstract series… They are also your creative style and your artistic touches of these autumn views… fascinated me, as always. Like reading a wonderful poem and to feel it in your heart. This is what your photography makes me to feel… Thank you dear Katie, with my love, nia

    • Ah, Nia, I’m so happy to hear that you like my abstracts! 🙂 And your wonderful words just touch me so deeply, so thank you, thank you, Nia! I truly appreciate it! 🙂

  18. Woohoo! Another abstract 🙂 Although I haven’t taken any recently (been too busy with various other revenue-producing activities) I do still have a bunch of flower abstracts that I will get around to posting shortly. Been distracted by the Lewes and Sussex theme recently.

  19. really great color and motion blur! i’ve been playing a lot with blurring my photos lately too :^)

  20. abstract photo is interesting. I love the color in this photo of yours. If I have a better camera than my pocket one, I’d love to try this trick too.

    by the way, since you are such great photographer (way more proffesional than me, I am still amateur)…if it doesnt bother you, can you give me critiques of photos I took at Green Canyon (it’s on my blog, second from the top). thanks in advance Katie 🙂

    • Ah, thank you! I enjoy reading your blog too. Interesting things there and a picture into a different culture. And then throw in Kame and Kroten, and I have my cute factor fill for a week. 🙂 I did visit your blog, and I like your images! It was a hard situation to shoot in with the sun, but you told a great story with your photos, and I think that is wonderful Loved seeing all that falling water and people having fun. Good job! Take care!

      • Thank you for the input Katie…I will try making better outdoor photo next, thanks to you 🙂

        It always brighten my heart to read/hear someone told me my turtles are cute *hug*

      • You’re so welcome! I loved looking at the photos, as they told a story, no matter about the sun. I loved the ones with your friends, swimming, boating, etc. too. Just a wonderful photo journalism set of photos.

        I love Kame and Kroten! I’ve never seen turtles like that (although I fell for a snapping turtle once when I was younger 🙂 ). And I do think your photos show just how cute and adorable they are. You are a great photographer! 🙂

  21. Great Fall colors! 🙂

  22. Cool picture and great colors! 🙂

  23. I love the silvery-blues. It makes the fall colors pop. Very evocative.

  24. Nice expression of colour. Though it makes me feel a little dizzy looking at.

  25. What a great idea!! Keep the amazing colors in a totally new image! Great work (as always 🙂 )!

  26. Another trick of taking an abstract photography! I like it. Thanks, Katie. 🙂

  27. Very cool effect. I’ll have to try that sometime. 🙂

  28. Great job! I love the way the colors create their own shapes.

  29. Your abstract images are very exciting! This one has a beautiful pallette of bright and dark swatches; the mix is quite interesting and vibrant. Great photo!

  30. So fun to do! Someone once told me the acronym for this which I can’t remember…from a Flicker group that has this sort of abstract photos

  31. I likey!

  32. Love the colourful streaks with different thicknesses! Did you also try exposures while rotating your camera in circular (e.g., quarter-, half-) arcs? 🙂

  33. Cool effect Katie, I might have to try that!

  34. Very nicely done! Like it.

  35. This looks *a lot* like the photos I’m going to post Friday… I’m sure you won’t even have to guess how I took them when you see them,

  36. […] things came together that led me to this particular weird activity, though I am definitely not the only one doing this sort of thing.  First, reading Aaron Leaman’s awesome blog lately has given me a […]

  37. Really good photo! Very creative way of representing autumn without doing it the usual way! Really Really love it! Given me some inspiration now x

Leave a Reply

 
