Chained ….

One day I made a return trip to the Farmer’s Market, but it was kind of boring to be honest, so I decided to just be nosy and walk around behind some old buildings and see if there was anything interesting to photograph.

I walked around the building that houses the railroad ticket office and saw one of the eyes of my flirty friend, and then continuing on, I found some cool old chain. There is just something about chains that is wonderful to photograph — the repeating shapes, the texture and color of the metal.

Shot with my 105mm macro lens at f/3.2.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on November 7, 2011.

54 Responses to “Chained ….”

  1. This one is amazing, the level of detail is great 🙂

  2. Massive, with vulnerable leaves.

  3. Great photo. Excellent texture and I like those tiny, minute flakes of color.

  4. It’s amazing how a close up makes things look gigantic. Nice picture Katie. The shades of the iron, the little rust at some places, the dried leaves, make it a great capture. 🙂

    • Thanks, Nandini. On this, however, the chain was pretty large and thick. I actually had a thought to adopt it, but then I thought that wouldn’t be nice and it would be too heavy to carry home. 😉 So glad you liked the photo, Nandini!

  5. Wonderful photo! The texture is really Great!!!

  6. It’s funny how the simplest things can catch the eye and insist on being appreciated. Nice!

  7. funny, chains are one of my favorites too. Love the texture, rust and repeating patterns.

  8. The depth of focus is perfect and you have caught the detail and light wonderfully.

  9. Very industrial, and cool!

  10. Great pic Katie, it’s very nice!

  11. Nature so rarely creates even patterns; I think that’s what draws me to images like this one. Love the textures of the rusty chain, the colour mix in the steel. Nice depth of field too! Cheers!

  12. My kind of photograph. Perfect!

  13. That is really cool…love it.

  14. A great macro which shows all the dents–makes one think about all it’s been through.

    • I agree! That chain was just lying there, totally abandoned, but it looked like it had been through such a life too. Love that you saw a story in the photo. Thanks for your comment! 🙂

  15. I love taking shots of chains. I especially love the ones that are rusted cause you get the cool gradients. 🙂 Your photo is great. So monochrome, yet more interesting then a BW would be.

  16. Love the composition and simplicity of the subject – I agree, chains make interesting photos (I’ve taken photos of more that one or two myself).

  17. The instinct of a photographer, everything can be an object of the photography!

    Thanks, Katie 🙂

  18. Even a chain can be beautiful through your camera, Katie! 😀 Very nice shot! 😀

  19. I love your chain image. I also enjoyed how you came upon it. Always in search of the image that moves you. Great work.

  20. Love the details in this photo! Great shot Katie! I would love to get a macro lens!

  21. I love the cold, solid feel of these chains. Great job! 🙂

  22. Ahhh, to quote someone (you) on a recent chain photo I posted: “Just something about chains that are so cool to photograph”! I couldn’t agree with you more!! 😀

  23. Who would have thought that Chain is an interesting object. I agree with you, the repeating shapes, the texture and color of the metal are really cool. I like the detail you have captured from this chain.

  24. Another impressive photograph… I loved it dear Katie, This chained photograph, photographically, philosophically and finally poetically talking with us… Thank you, with my love, nia

  25. Love what seems to be a bit of green algae on the chain. 🙂

  26. Agree ! I love chain images too. I see a rusty chain and I’m all over it too 😉

  27. Love how you find beauty in ordinary objects, Katie.

Leave a Reply

 
