Photography As Abstract – Wheels Turn

Today I’m showing another of my abstract photos. If you want to see the other posts in the series, please click here.

A few weeks back I was hired to take photos of a property that had many antique wagon wheels on it.  I took the regular photos, which I loved, but for my artistic vision, I wanted something different. I decided to see if some movement would be interesting with one of the old wood wagon wheels, and this is my favorite of the batch.

The wheel already has interesting lines and movement to it naturally, but by moving the camera, I exaggerated it, and also brought in the background of the greens and browns of the woods.

Shot with my 35-70mm lens at f/22 and a shutter speed of 1/10, as I moved my camera.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on November 8, 2011.

61 Responses to “Photography As Abstract – Wheels Turn”

  1. Great effect with the straight lines radiating outward juxtaposed with the swirls of color. Nice!

  2. The wispiness is very cool. I like the thin, layered lines.

  3. Very whimsical…like feathers….I love the softness of the colors

  4. Really nice….gonna have to try this some.

  5. Once again, you have come up with another beauty. 🙂

  6. Wow…how did you do that???? =O

  7. I love this one! What a brillinat picture!!!! 🙂

  8. very nice.
    I was working on an old wagon road the other day and found the iron pieces left from a rotten wagon wheel in the road.
    This picture is like a dream or vision from the past , very nice.

  9. Impressive, I’d love to learn how to do this!

  10. It reminds me of a flower.

  11. Fantasic!! Looks like fireworks I saw during the summer.

  12. Pretty! You’re inspiring me to PLAY more with my camera. 🙂

  13. Love this one, the movement 🙂

  14. It almost looks like hair in the wind. 🙂 Fun!

  15. Creative and beautiful effect that results in a great abstract, well done!

  16. Looks almost like grass stems waving in the wind. Nice shot. I feel like I need to play more with this technique also.

  17. Love it!! What a GREAT and creative shot

  18. Love the greens. In an odd way, it kind of reminds me of light painting…cool shot Katie!

  19. These abstract images are very cool! There’s something fluid and moving about this one, like water flowing in a small brook over rocks and branches. Love the colours! Cheers!

  20. Cool!!! it looks like something photoshopped

  21. This is way cool! It kinda looks like grass blowing in the wind. I love the movement!

  22. Fantastic. Love this image. Great patterns!

  23. Love abstract pics!

  24. Interesting shapes and colors, a picture in my taste!
    /Per

  25. Love the movement. Created a really great and original design here. Wonderful.

  26. I love abstract images like this…draw you in and make you wonder what it is.

  27. Great shot!!! Very creative!

  28. Excellent work Katie – I often take shots with a moving camera; I would be delighted to get a result this good!

  29. I like this and really want to explore this tecnique. if you haven’t watched it yet, check out the slideshows on http://www.michaelorton.com, all this kind of work and excellent.Enjoy!

  30. I love this motion blur technique, it makes a really interesting abstract photo!

  31. I love this one! Mystical wheel to take someone to some heavenly place…!

    🙂

  32. Hi Katie, just wanted to say that your photography is very well done. I like the pieces that emphasis the movement of the camera. I love abstract work, and this is hitting the mark.

    And thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Walter

Leave a Reply

 
