Humpty Dumpty Sat on a Wall …

I really feel strange when I photograph other art work; it’s kind of like I’m cheating in a way. Stealing from another. But still. Sometimes I do it. (:

I was at a house earlier in the year and they had some interesting collectibles. There was this little egg that impressed me, as he looked like Humpty Dumpty to me. I decided to see if I could get a photo where the egg would look like he was in a precarious position, and he just might fall.

Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall,
Humpty Dumpty had a great fall.
All the king’s horses and all the king’s men
Couldn’t put Humpty Dumpty together again.

Shot with my 105mm macro lens at f/3.2

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on November 14, 2011.

70 Responses to “Humpty Dumpty Sat on a Wall …”

  1. Nice one… great perspective and the colours are really nice 🙂

  2. Yes, nice!

    I prefer to think of it as capturing a permanent record of one’s perception of the original work 🙂

  3. Hi Katie – Another smile arrived on my face when I saw your photo, and I thought Graham’s comment was ace! Nicely executed photograph! What fun this blogging is!

    Cheers

    John

  4. Actually, no where in the poem does it say that Humpty Dumpty was an egg…

    I like the sky-blue underneath the egg; it really gives a feeling like he’s about to fall, as if he’s not really supported.

    • You’re right, Jacob,and a great thought too. No where in the poem does it say Humpty was an egg, but he is most commonly thought of one, from what I know and have read. Very interesting comment. And glad you like the sky blue. That was the pair of jeans I was wearing that day.:) I positioned myself so the jeans would be in the background and get some color into the image. Thanks so much for your comment and visiting my blog. 🙂

  5. Hahaha that’s pretty cool!

  6. Great creative pic!! When I first watched it, I thought it is an animal 🙂

  7. You are amazing, how much I loved this one. Dear Katie, I love your creative works… you always fascinate me. Thank you, with my love, nia

  8. It’s a deceptively clever shot that wouldn’t be particularly easy to achieve…and as Graham says, you are inbuing the original with your own responses and atmosphere. You’re also saying “look at this!” which is the highest compliment you can pay to an artist…so well done!

  9. I like your creativity! Made me smile!

  10. Great composition, very clever.

  11. To this day, I feel that Humpty was pushed. And I blame it on one of those troublesome king’s men. 🙂

    P.S. Great picture. 🙂

  12. Adorable!! 🙂

  13. 🙂 Cute one!

  14. this is awesome ! so fun. Yeah, I know exactly what you mean about photographing another’s art… I kinda feel that way when I photograph graffiti works, over even building facade etc But then again I figure that I’m exposing another artist’s work to more people, and plus not like I do high concept photography anyway 🙂

  15. So creative, Katie! Love it 🙂 And don’t feel bad, I bet lots of people do that!

  16. So cool & creative, love it 🙂

  17. I don’t see how taking a photo of a cool art piece is cheating. You are still taking your own photo and putting your own creative spin on it. Neat little photo 🙂

  18. Perfect in so many ways……. and It has your magic touch 😉

  19. Your egg actually had emotion. Strange I know, but the image had feeling. It was more than the nice lighting too.

  20. What a great picture! I particularly like how there is a ‘sky’ blue layer beneath his perch… you would almost expect it to be behind his head and it for some reason that and the blank ‘face’ of Humpty are really moody to me.

    I feel the same way taking pictures of someone else’s art – how funny! Great post. 🙂

  21. What I like most are the layers of color that give it an abstract quality, Sally

  22. cute 🙂

  23. Totally brought a smile to my face! 😀

  24. I love this.

    If it helps I believe the Nursery Rhyme was originally set as a riddle to which the answer was, an egg. As the answer is now known it isn’t said as a riddle anymore but the portrayal of Humpty Dumpty is now always an egg.

  25. Loved this! I was freed from the tyranny of the passive response….quirky and interesting….

  26. I also feel strange about photographing other art 😉 You have captured it beautifully, love the light and tones here…

  27. Nice shot. I love the blue-toned bokeh below him.

    It does feel a little like cheating when photographing someone else’s work, but you can still imprint your own particular style/take on the image, which you have clearly done here. That is the essence of photography – taking something that already exists and creating a pleasing or challenging image from it.

    • Thanks, Stevie. I agree with you; it does feel a little bit like cheating, as it’s the other person’s art work, but taking the time to create a certain image is a compliment to it, I think. Great comment and thank you.

  28. Wonderful!

  29. Whoaaa I like this a lot!! You should have given him eyes,mouth and nose aunt Katie 😉

    Did you know that my eggs are white instead of brown like that?

  30. This one made me laugh! A sitting egg, relaxing and looking over something or may be posing for you. Nice humpty-dumpty title. 🙂

  31. Hilarious! Imaginative set-up–love it.

  32. Love it! Your set-up is wonderful and imaginative. Awesome, awesome, awesome!

  33. I think this is one of my favourites so far, just the fact that you took it so well and also it being humpty dumpty made me smile! 😀

  34. It is really a nice composition. Love it! 🙂

  35. This is so freaking cute! I love it!

Leave a Reply

 
