Photography as Abstract – When Adobe Goes Bad

Today I’m showing another of my abstract photos. If you want to see the other images/posts in the series, please click here.

This one isn’t a moving image; it’s more in the way of shapes and lines and textures, which I love in photography.

Here in Santa Fe, many of the old buildings and walls (and the pricier newer ones) are made of adobe (mud bricks). Adobe has to be covered with something like stucco or plaster to protect it from water damage. This protection has to be reapplied at certain intervals, or else water will get in and damage the adobe bricks, and they will begin to fall apart. Untimely without repair, the wall or building will come down as the adobe bricks disintegrate.

I see that a good bit in the places I like to frequent here in Santa Fe — the older parts, the back alleys. It’s really sad to see the adobe falling down, but it can make for interesting photos.

This image is actually part of the wall that connects to the home where I live. The back wall runs down the alley behind my home and divides a parking area from the alley. In this section, the protection for the adobe has begun to fall off, which reveals what’s beneath it.

I wanted to see if I could take an interesting image, and found this area which had the adobe, the wire to hold the protective coating, and a couple of pieces of protective coating still hanging on. I just thought it made for a compelling image with the late afternoon sun providing some shadow and pretty light.

Shot with my 105mm macro lens at f/11.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on November 15, 2011.

45 Responses to “Photography as Abstract – When Adobe Goes Bad”

  1. Great shadows and contrasts, loved the lines 🙂

  2. That photo draws your eye in for a closer look. Well done.

  3. very nice and imaginative, Katie.

  4. Hi Katie – I love this shot – the composition, the shapes and the texture! When I received the notification e-mail and saw the title I thought that you were talking about Adobe Photoshop, having never heard of adobe bricks before! Ha! Ha!

    Katie, is there a website where you put your professional work? I am interested in seeing what you do, if you don’t mind that is?

    Cheers

    John

  5. Nice Katie, I like the shadows and the play of the light.

  6. Another simple, but lovely photo. Great shot.

  7. great composition, the lines, lights and the shadows are very interesting to see.

  8. what a great photo! for one the inner workings of adobe and for the play of the light…awesome… very interesting for sure!

  9. I love the shadowing and subject. Well done Katie!

  10. very amazing pic! Love this!

  11. Fascinating background information! Your title made me first of all think you were referring to Photoshop 😉

  12. The title made me giggle. Its like a movie… dun dun duuuun

    Neat photo too. I like how it looks like the chunks are just hanging in space. 🙂

  13. Great use of the strong sunlight to create the shadows! What an interesting view of something most of us would have passed by without appreciating. Cheers!

  14. really like this shot,but when I read the title I immediately went to thinking it was something about the companyLOL

  15. I really like how you writing brings the picture to life Katie. Your title threw me for a minute. I had this picture in my head of Photoshop running amok on your computer and doing something unexpected to your photos. 🙂

    • Thanks, Matthew! I rarely have issues with my computer Adobe, but I know when I search “adobe” on the web, it comes back with Photoshop, Lighteroom, etc. Adobe certainly has stolen the thunder from those little mud bricks. 🙂

  16. Definitely my kind of photography!! Awesome shadow and textures!

  17. Impressive, you captured so nicely the light and shadows… I loved it too, Thank you dear Katie, with my love, nia

  18. Great shot!! I can see the ….I don’t know how to say this in English,the pattern or the motif of that rock. It reminds me of earrings

  19. Katie, i like your abstracts so much – and you give me great inspiration! And this is fine – nice light and shadows.

  20. Beautiful as always! You can make anything look great! 😀

  21. Great shapes, shadows, oldness, cracks, everything!

    I took some “crack” pictures, while I was travelling. Good to see see some of yours too; it seems like we both were thinking same for some moments in the past, hehehe 😀

  22. I really love all of the detail in this shot. Lots of shapes and linnes add a lot of interest as well.

  23. While I love this photo, I’m a lover of things beautiful in their decrepitude (one of my favourite made up words), this isn’t an abstract. It may be a nit picky thing, but an abstraction, at it’s most basic, finds it’s truth when it’s no longer recognizable as a particular thing. This is lovely, but it’s not abstract.

    (not a criticism, just a pet peeve)

Leave a Reply

 
