Sunflowers Aren’t Always Happy

I took this image in the beginning of September on a bright contrasty late morning; the kind of day when they tell all photographers to stay inside. (;

I came upon this sunflower standing tall in the shade. It was looking a bit sad in its wilting, so I decided to take a photo emphasizing that. The Wind was helping me by blowing the pedals, so thanks, Wind.

Shot with the 105mm macro at f/3.3.

Image Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on November 16, 2011.

76 Responses to “Sunflowers Aren’t Always Happy”

  1. Aren’t always happy but are still beautiful and look good on shots πŸ™‚

  2. Its looks sad :O really.. even dead Sunflowers don’t look sad.. πŸ˜€

    • I know! I love sunflowers and there is something so strong and beautiful about the dead ones. I think it was the wind and the small DOF and the shade that created a sad look here. The way, its head is hanging slightly. That’s why I liked the photo. Not your typical sunny, happy ones. Which I have lots of too! πŸ™‚

  3. My first reaction is that this image would be in my discard edit. But, you made me pause and think for a moment. So your idea worked.

    • i always look carefully at my raw images, so I don’t discard ones that aren’t “normal” but still may have some artistic merit. Glad you could see that, Victor. Thanks for your comment.

  4. I would like to take this opportunity to thank the wind also.
    Thanks Wind πŸ™‚

    And thanks for sharing!

    • LOL! Glad we can appreciate the Wind’s work here. She really helped with moving those pedals, and giving the sunflower the bow in it’s neck. πŸ™‚ Thanks for your comment! πŸ™‚

  5. OH: I love this πŸ™‚

  6. Very nice!

  7. Definitely a sad looking flower. I like the way you’ve framed this like a portrait.

  8. Yep- I think MOST photographers would have passed this sad looking flower by- and yet- it has the potential to being so much more- as you have shown. I think it is a lovely photo- the additional movement caused by the wind- adds to the drama of the photo!

    • Thanks, Amber! I do try to see things that most people don’t, so I appreciate you noticing it. The Wind really did help with this. It can be a pain working with the wind, as things just move when you don’t want them too and ruin a perfect composition, but on this day, we really worked well together, I think.

  9. Really says something about the passage of time…

  10. Awww. it does look sad. I am glad you took the time to not only notice it, but to capture it! it’s always amazed me what people “miss” by not looking around, well done Katie!

  11. Interesting…I don’t get sad from this image. To me, the flower looks well-worn and loved, like an old ragdoll, hair blowing in the wind, with a sense of simple beauty.

  12. I really like the texture in the shot. You are always looking at things in interesting ways. Thanks for sharing.

  13. Looks right nice!

  14. I love it ! How true. This also makes me laugh, because I recently sorted through photos that I took of some very happy sunflowers. If and when I post those, I have to link to this πŸ™‚

  15. I think it’s beautiful even as it wilts. Great drama in this image, Katie! πŸ™‚

  16. I think it almost looks like a woman looking down with her hair blowing in the wind.

  17. Awesome shot. Flowers are my fav subject!

  18. Have never seen one look so sad….great shot though.

  19. There is significance in the spent flower–an icon of the cycle of life. I like the reassurance of this shot, because it still seems to breathe life through your image, Sally

  20. So touching and also so artistic… You did great shot dear Katie, this should be photographic poem that you captured. Thank you, with my love, nia

  21. Definitely a very sad flower. Nice shot though.

  22. I love this shot, there is something very beautiful about dead flowers.

  23. Oooh I like it! (: I know flowers aren’t always happy, but you can get really cool shots when they are like that!

  24. There is lots of interesting stuff happening here! Texture, shadows, a feeling of the end of summer… πŸ™‚ great work. It has a story, thats for sure.

  25. Poor flower 😦 you really capture the bad side of this flower

  26. Very nice shot! Love the movement from the wind, and the way you framed this to eliminate any background distractions. Very cool!!

  27. She looks like a princess leaning out the window, sad because the prince hasn’t showed up yet…

  28. What a great picture! And original too: not the usual bright sunflower, but one that is fading away.

  29. Superb image and even better words!! πŸ™‚

  30. very nice shot Katie!!

  31. Fantastic! Beautiful! Poetic! Great Great shot!

  32. The wind blowing the petals really makes the shot. It reminds me of some of my bad hair days made worse by the wind!

  33. […] I usually can’t help myself when I walk by a particularly happy looking sunflower bush; I have to take at least one shot. Β I wasn’t going toΒ post these photos though, because it’s like, what . . . another happy sunflower ? Β But I’m inspired to do so by a fellow blogger’s recent post, entitled Sunflowers Aren’t Always Happy. Β WhichΒ made me laugh out loud. Β Because it’s so true, and also kind of perversely brilliant. Β So here are my, uh, happy sunflowers (but note the looming dark side in the last photo) — and check out this beautifully morose sunflower here. […]

  34. Lovely image, as I said before, everything is beautiful through your camera! I am sure the sunflower had a very happy life and she’s ready to go now πŸ™‚

  35. Stunning!!!

  36. It doesn’t look sad – but it has a faded beauty and determination all its own.

  37. Sadness is just another side of the coin. If we look carefully, happiness and sadness both make our lives worth living. Every phase is important and your picture shows that. Beautifully captured and the focus is great. Wind was working with you in this shot, how sweet πŸ™‚

  38. I think you have precisely captured this fleeting sunflower moment. And for me, coming from a sculpture background, there is something sculptural in all your photos – almost coming off the page.

Leave a Reply

 
