Beautifully Unobtainable – 4

It’s time again for one of my “Beautifully Unobtainable” series of photos. If you’re interested, you can see the other images/posts in this series here.

I walk by this fencing several times a week in the South Capitol area of Santa Fe, New Mexico, and I’m always happy to do so. The house is an old flat roof bungalow style home from early in the 20th century, with era appropriate wrought iron gating. Santa Fe homes most often have tall stuccoed walls around them, so it’s nice when you have fencing that allows you to see the yard and house behind it.

This wrought iron fencing has a wonderful look to it with the decorative circles and the pointed arrow tips. I just thought it was beautiful, and with the late summer light on the home, I thought it would make a good shot for my “Beautifully Unobtainable” series of photos.

Shot with the 105mm lens at f/2.8.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on November 17, 2011.

59 Responses to “Beautifully Unobtainable – 4”

  1. Very beautifull indeed 🙂 the colours and shapes are just great 🙂

  2. A solid yet frail barrier. Beautiful, Katie! 🙂

  3. Very nice photo. Good job!

  4. very nice idea, Katie, great!!

  5. I really like how this picture makes me think……and I love the quality. Great shot!

  6. Great shot – I love iron railing fences. I’ve never seen round circles between the straight railings before though. Must be a Santa Fe style. Love the symmetry of iron railing fences in a photo.

    • Thanks, Victoria. I’ve never seen those round shapes either. It’s not a Santa Fe style here, as there really isn’t much wrought iron work here (mostly walls). I think it was just the home owner/builder who decided they wanted a personal touch. That’s the Craftsman style from the earlier part of the 20th Century, I’d guess. Glad you like the photo!

  7. Perfectly composed. Great shot, Katie.

  8. Really lovely photo 🙂 I love how you see something so “every day” and turn it into art x

  9. The framing is wonderful. I like how the depth of field adds to the unattainable nature of the shot.

  10. Pokey and pretty 🙂 I like it.

  11. As usual, you take simple everyday things and make them special, Katie!

    Cheers

    John

  12. NIcely done Katie…this makes me wonder what is beyond the wrought iron fence…one gets a hint unlike a high wall as you said.

  13. I love ironwork. Your shot captures the protective points softened by the openness of the circles, inviting us to look but not enter the dream world beyond. Beautiful!

  14. like the fence and the narrow depth of field that further emphasizes the unattainability of the background. Love the buildings and art of the southwest, someday I may get down there…:D

  15. Very nice photo!

  16. Nice, I really like the repetition of shapes in the fence.

  17. Love these sort of pictures! Very captivating, Katie :0

  18. There is something ‘charming’ about this fence, it’s closed off – being a fence – but with the open circles there’s an openness too, sort of welcoming.

  19. It’s beautiful indeed! Great theme and great angle 🙂

  20. These type railings always remind me of a nasty scene from Deathwish 2. But they do photograph well I must say.

  21. Those turquoise circles and arrows have a childlike simplicity that’s probably deceptive — I wonder how tricky that fence was to weld? Nice! (I want to find the fence’s gate and walk through it…)

    • I wonder too, Susie. I love when I see old, hand crafted things like this. Just something that inspires me. I’ve been tempted to go through their front gate and just tell them that I took a nice photo of their fence.:)

  22. What a beautiful image. The entire “Beautifully Unobtainable” series is just great!

  23. Nicely done

  24. Great shot! I love the shapes and colors!

  25. I love how you’ve framed the gate in the shot! Very beautiful shot!

  26. What a lovely shot – wonderful DOF too!

  27. I’m back! 🙂

    Great shot, just as the previous fence shot. Nice angle. 🙂

  28. How amazing photograph, I love your photographical touches… Thank you dear Katie, with my love, nia

  29. Love the bokeh here! Lovely and colorful.

  30. I really like this one….very cool.

Leave a Reply

 
