Photography as Abstract – Shadow and Light, Dark and Shapes

My primary focus in the last month or so has been abstracts, so I’ve decided to show another one of these photos. If you want to see the other images/posts in the series, please click here and here.

I did a series of abstracts of the shadow play on an adobe wall, and this is one of the ones I liked best. In this, I used movement to get the interesting feel that I like, and then to add some more shapes into the image, I moved the camera to include objects not on the wall (the sky, etc.). I just liked the way this turned out.

I took this image leading up to Halloween, and the thing that I noticed in the photo was the shadowing person in the lower right, kind of menacing.

Shot with 105mm lens at f/32 and a shutter speed of 1/15 of a second, while I moved the camera.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on November 17, 2011.

44 Responses to “Photography as Abstract – Shadow and Light, Dark and Shapes”

  1. I like the way the lines came out. Great use of light and shadow.

  2. Wow, glad you pointed out the shadow in the lower right; I would have missed it (early AM is probably the problem LOL). Nice shot, love the movement in it! Cheers!

  3. very futuristic. I love the abstract playing with light. great art

  4. I like the shadows and movement in this one!

  5. Very nice!

  6. I love the image, the first thing that came to mind was chocolate, which might explain the attraction!

  7. Chocolate flake and sugar cube.

    Love the tones and sense of motion. Nice work katie.

  8. Gives the impression of life rushing by! 🙂

  9. Great lines, light/shadow! I agree with the comment before me – it really does give the impression of life rushing by… : )

  10. Love the shadow guy! My eyes keep going to the white “box” in the image, love how you can make out the edges in the lower right (or, perhaps my eyes are just tweaking…but pretty sure I am making them out)! 😛

  11. Katie,

    I love these blurred photo’s that you have done. While looking through your photos I’ve noticed that you have done a couple of these and I really like the look of them. Do you just choose a slower shutter speed in order to produce an image like this?

  12. I just went back to look at some of your other abstracts in the collection. I get the feeling you’re having as much fun making them as a kid with a new box of 64 crayons! Very cool! 🙂

  13. Nice one, Katie.
    I get a vision of a truck racing into a dark tunnel with this image.
    (Alright, I know I have weird imagination).
    Love these abstracts – keep shooting and creating.

  14. Ah, another abstract! I like the simplicity of colour in this one, leaving the eye to focus more on the movement.

  15. When I looked at the photograph the first time, it somehow reminded me of a bar of chocolate 🙂 Love the colours!

  16. it reminds me of a movie called flash,that is the way he sees things around him when he is running at high speed 😉

  17. Another inspiration from you, Katie! 🙂 It’s like watching The Matrix. Love its colors as well 🙂

    As you’ve inspired me with your photography, so here is mine:

    http://godslover.wordpress.com/2011/11/19/indefinite-image-the-bright-against-the-dark/

    Thanks for the inspiration and wish you are having a great weekend, Katie 🙂

  18. Hi Katie! I don’t know a thing about photography but your work is stunning and compelling. This image in particular is quite enthralling. I didn’t even realize that images like this were possible with photography. It’s so painterly. =)

  19. Another great outcome of your smart work 🙂

  20. I like the blurred, yet sharp angles in this one.

  21. I find it interesting how you get this wonderful angular shapes. I would think that the lines would blur. I just noticed that you are in Sante Fe. I am going to see family in Taos for Christmas!

  22. It’s almost like you were driving by Picasso’s “The Guitar Player” and photographed it. Very angular- I like.

Leave a Reply

 
