Photography as Abstract – Plants, Wood, Walls

Here’s another of the abstracts I’ve been doing. Hope you like it. (:  If you want to see the other images/posts in the series, please click here and here.

This abstract is less abstracty 😉 than most of my movement photos that I’ve shown, in that the movement of the camera wasn’t enough to totally obscure what I was shooting.

The subject was a door/wall/greenery that is in my neighborhood. I’ve liked this door for a long time, and I’ve taken some still photos, but they weren’t anything that I really liked, so I thought I’d try some movement shots. This is the one I liked best.

Shot with my 105mm lens at f/32 and a shutter speed of 1/30, while I moved the camera in a downward motion.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on November 21, 2011.

67 Responses to “Photography as Abstract – Plants, Wood, Walls”

  1. Oh I really like this Katie. It’s very whimsical…it provokes me to use my imagination. I love it!

  2. Cool! It seems like you were flying in the vertical direction, so fast, that it made these look blur. Grrrrreat 🙂

  3. I llke that you can just tell what it is. The light and shadows are great and really bring out the colours.

  4. There is a lovely action in this green tones… I loved what you did. You are amazing dear Katie, Thank you, with my love, nia

  5. Love it!

  6. This looks like so much fun! I am going to have to try this with my camera.

  7. Ethereal and mystic–really nicely done, Sally

  8. I’m thinking pom poms or maybe a grass skirt on a very excited dancer

  9. good job, Katie 🙂 I like your abstract pictures 😀 Lovely green colour! 😀

  10. Beautiful Katie.
    love your abstracts, so creative.

  11. Great idea, just the right amount of movement to make the greens very interesting, and the surface pattern on the browns below…great composition!

  12. Nice! I love how captivating abstracts can be. Thanks for sharing this!

  13. Great abstract! Especially I like the green part.

  14. It looks almost like a painting rather then a photograph 🙂 neat

  15. This has a beautiful “painterly” feeling to it. I could see this mounted on a museum wall somewhere. You do a nice job of exploring the different styles of photography, Katie.

  16. http://photographyofnia.com/2011/11/22/liebster-blog-award/

    Dear Katie, please check this link, Thank you, with my love, nia

  17. Really nice result. I love abstracts like this. One of the reasons I enjoy photography so much – there’s no end to what you can create with a camera.

  18. Very nice Katie! This is quite striking, with the movement in just the vertical direction. I like the parallel lines created, that almost carry on from the building to the greenery. Cool! Cheers!

  19. This gives a very nice piece of art for a wall!

  20. It has a cheerful exuberance. I like it!

  21. I really like this one, Katie, especially those stripes that I guess are the door but which look like a stylized tree trunk. To me. 🙂

  22. Nice shot – I love doing these motion abstracts as well :o)

  23. Wow! Very cool picture! 🙂

  24. Katie, this is wonderful! I love the long color blocks that you achived near the bottom. I will have to go check out the others!

  25. I like the carpet of green hair and the vertical grey and brown stripes in the centre. Also, less camera movement can result in more sometimes, in this case I think it works really well 🙂 And great you’re still doing these ICM shots—I haven’t done any in a while and keep thinking of doing more, but life is so very, very busy these days with less time for creative photography than I’d like.

  26. I like the vertical movement you captured here…Pretty neat!

  27. You do come up with some of the coolest abstracts!!

  28. Very nice! I like this one!

  29. I love the “upward” feel even though you moved the camera down!

  30. ah, what a fun ICM shot. Yeah, I’m just showing off 🙂 I had to look that up several months ago, like, what in the heck is ICM??? I understand there’s a Flicker group for “intentional camera movement”

  31. It’s a forest! Makes me want to slip in and explore!
    Now I also have to look up ICM
    Thanks katie

  32. Love your abstract photots!

  33. Very effective image with that lovely bokeh.

  34. Gotta love an abstract! Great movement too. Nice!

Leave a Reply

 
