Happy Thanksgiving!

For those of us in the United States, I want to wish everyone a Happy Thanksgiving. And everyone else, a Happy Day.

For me, I’m thankful for all the support for my photography and this blog. It’s been an amazing two and a half months. Thanks, Everyone! (:

This image was taken back in early October, while I was in the mountains just outside of Santa Fe. I’m not sure people would recognize it for that however, as this isn’t a classic Santa Fe image.

In my mind, the photo takes me back to a Thanksgiving Day some years ago. My family was up at my dad’s house in West Virginia. After dinner it was customary for all of us to go for a walk, and so off we went with our dogs. This image reminds me of that walk and the woods around my Dad’s house. I can see my family there, laughing and being silly, and my first dog, a Boxer girl, running her butt off among those trees with her doggie friend, my sister’s Rottweiler.  All was right with the world then. As it should be.

So on this Thanksgiving Day, my wish for everyone is that they are where they want to be, surrounded by those they care about. Happy Thanksgiving.

Shot with my 35-70mm lens at f/2.8.

Image Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on November 24, 2011.

67 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving!”

  1. And a Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours, Katie. πŸ™‚

  2. Happy Thanksgiving, Katie!

    Great photo!

  3. Happy thanksgiving to you πŸ™‚ and keep up the great job, after all that is why we follow πŸ™‚

  4. Lovely image Katie! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving! xoxo

  5. Happy Thanksgiving Katie! We’re celebrating it here too as Sean (my partner) is form the US. He lived in Santa Fe for a while back in 2005 while doing his second MA at St John’s and has fond memories of the Aztec CafΓ©! And the dragon pearl tea!

  6. Happy turkey day! πŸ™‚ And its a pretty image too.

  7. And Happy Thanksgiving to you!

  8. I really like this picture! So many of the autumn pics out there are so heavy on saturation and contrast. This image feels “real” and so subtle. Love it!

    • Thank you! I know a lot of photos people show over-saturate color, etc. I agree on that. Thanks so much for liking this photo. I truly appreciate that you like photos that look real. πŸ™‚

  9. Happy Thanksgiving and thanks for sharing your wonderful photographs.

  10. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family Katie!

  11. Happy Thanksgiving Katie! Hope YOU are where you want to be too! This image also takes me back to my home, western Manitoba, where scenes like this were the norm. Great capture, and thanks for bringing in those memories. Keep the great images coming!!

  12. Happy thanksgiving Katie, have a wonderful day!

  13. Happy thanksgiving!

  14. Lovely colours in this image. Sounds lovely going for a long walk in these kind of surroundings. Hope you enjoy your day and while we don’t have Thanksgiving here is Aust. I’m certainly thankful for all the photographic blogs I follow,

    Yours and others continue to inspire me with tips on photography and creative visions from all around the world.

  15. Happy Thanksgiving, Katie to you and yours . May we all stop to be grateful for all that is.Wishing you love and laughter, Jane

  16. All the best to you and your family.

  17. Very beautiful. I love the curves…make me dream.

  18. And a Happy, Happy THanksgiving to you, too, Katie!

    Don’t eat too much turkey! πŸ™‚

  19. Some wonderful memories you have from those past Thanksgivings. Great photo, and happy Thanksgiving to you, too! πŸ™‚

  20. Yeah Katie… the picture looks quite real πŸ™‚ and Happy thanksgiving to you πŸ™‚ Have a great day ahead…

  21. Absolutely beautiful. I hope you had a wonderful holiday!

  22. That’s just gorgeous, Katie. I imagine small magical creatures playing about in there, somewhere.

  23. I love the shades in this picture. And the fallen leaves and the less saturated colors gives it a “winter” feel. Happy Thanksgiving to you!

    πŸ™‚

  24. Your photo reminds me of the Robert Frost poem: “And I, I took the one less traveled by. And that has made all the difference.” Congratulations on your beautiful blog, and Happy Thanksgiving!

  25. Hope you had a good Thanksgiving Katie!

  26. Love the winding pathway, makes me really want to explore! Hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

  27. Happy Thanksgiving aunt Katie πŸ™‚

  28. Hi Katie – A very belated Thanksgiving Day wishes to you from someone who hasn’t a clue as to what it’s about, being a Brit who hasn’t known any American people in the past! It sounds very special, and a family oriented day, which has to be good! I also didn’t realise you just started your blog at the same time as me. You have done really well in that short time and your blog has taken off astronomically! Well done!

    Best wishes!

    John

  29. hi katie

    Wonderfull Photographe
    The effect of the sun in catΒ΄s eyes is amazing.

    Confratulations!!

    Embrace

    JoΓ£o

    Portugal.

  30. Lovely fall colors. Hope you enjoyed a peaceful Thanksgiving.

  31. Happy Thanksgiving

  32. Such a beautiful picture, Katie! I hope you had a lovely Thanksgiving! πŸ™‚

  33. Brilliant. Top cat!

  34. How lovely, I’m sorry I missed this before… Hope you had a Great Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

 
