On this Friday, May You Be as Content as My Cat

I was thinking about what to post today, and this image just caught my eye. I just love how my cat looks so content and happy, which is how I think we should feel after a good Thanksgiving.

If you’d like to see my beautiful British Shorthair kitty looking evil, click here. If you’d like to see him being inquisitive, click here. Love my black kitty. 🙂

So I wish you all things happy on this Friday.

Taken with my 50mm lens at f/3.3, in early morning light, so the sun on my cat’s black face showed up, and what wasn’t lit by the sun was black.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on November 25, 2011.

109 Responses to “On this Friday, May You Be as Content as My Cat”

  1. Ahhhhh you can feel how content he is in the warmth of the sun. Great moment caught Katie!

  2. Black cats and photos…amazing and misterious 🙂

  3. aww…. So nice!!!

  4. Love those eyes, Katie. Great shot. 🙂

  5. Nicely captured with the sun. Being content is a great quality. 🙂

    The background is black too. Really like it!

  6. Too cute!

  7. Cute shot! (:

  8. Ahhh yes life is good. I live with a great lady!

  9. A tremendous portrait of you cat! Pets can be the most challenging yet rewarding photos of the animal kingdom, possibly because we kind-of expect them to behave for us where wild animals, we know, are unpredictable. Great job with the lighting!! Cheers!

  10. ANOTHER fine photo of your beautiful feline!! I often say I wish I had my kitty’s life! 🙂

  11. Oh, what a beautiful kitty! He looks a lot like mine, even the color of the eyes. 🙂

  12. Your cat is beautiful! I am definitely a cat person, so this really made me smile. He looks content, and perhaps even a bit smug – the classic cat expression. 🙂 What’s his name?

  13. Nice cat!!!

  14. lol Nice shot 🙂

  15. awesome picture.. love the post.. 🙂

  16. Does this cutie like to have his picture taken, he sometimes looks like he’s striking a pose? I can’t get my little kitty to look at the camera…and my dog, well i’ve loads of shots of her nose as she sniffs the lens when you go near her.

    Beautiful photo; quite a pretty kitty 🙂

  17. What a beautiful kitty! Hey, I have an idea of a blog post for you. Could you do one sometime on how to photograph Holiday Images. I’m always at a loss as to how to take a picture of my tree and outside lights. Just an idea.

  18. Beautiful kitty. And those eyes! Wonderfully captured, Katie. 🙂

  19. As I type in bed, at this very moment, my two cats surround me sleeping blissfully.

  20. Great shot!!! look at his eye.

  21. Love this shot – great capture of the eyes

  22. Such a sweet face. This is a great capture – and I love more cats on the internet. 🙂

  23. He looks so happy and content… Happy thanksgiving to you Katie!!

  24. Look at him giving the camera a “come hither” look! 🙂 He knows he’s cute.

  25. Damn fine picture of a great beauty. I like this so much, Katie.

  26. Great shot! I know how hard black animals can be to photograph…great looking cat!!

  27. great pic Katie!!

  28. Hi Katie – To me, in this photo, as opposed to the inquisitive one where he looks super, he looks like a real bruiser! A fighter! A tough guy! His other ear also looks as if its missing! I love it, but obviously my first impression is different to everyone else! Aw, who cares! What you see is in the eye of the beholder!

    Cheers

    John

    • Thanks for your comment, John! Most people do see him as being happy and content in this image, which I love. 🙂 Do you see many of the British Shorthairs where you are, John? They all have that large round face/head with big cheeks and the Cheshire Cat grim. In this photo, I was highlighting his grin/smile and the half closed eyes, which happen when a human smiles. 🙂 Most people see that, which is great. Yep, his other ear is in the dark (but it’s there), because the camera had to expose for the sun on his face, and the sun wasn’t shining on his other ear. Thanks again for your comment! 🙂

  29. Oh sweet!! I can see why this cat is so popular!

  30. He’s a handsome fellow! They love to follow the sunbeams thru the house don’t they? My black girl kitty is obsessed with sunbathing this time of year LOL

    • Yes! My kitty does follow the sun, and even better in the afternoon when the sun is on my plants and he just loves lying next to them. 🙂 Love that you have a black kitty too! Thanks so much for your comment and visiting my blog.

  31. Oh, dear Katie, this is so lovely, you know how I love cats… Blessing her. And I hope and wish you had a nice Thanksgiving Day, Thank you, with my love, nia

  32. Beautiful kitty!

  33. He looks gorgeous!! What a great shot. Reminds me to Abu at home 🙂 Thank you for visiting my blog 😉

  34. This is fabulous! And such a nice sentiment! 🙂

  35. Looks like one contented kitty, great shot..:-)

  36. Beautiful cat, he reminds me of Mr. Marsberry (I miss my old cat!)

  37. What a lovely cat and post! Thanks for stopping by and liking my post 🙂

  38. Aw, love that splash of yellow amidst the black. Great capture!

  39. My cat seems to alwasy glare at me when I try to take her picture. Once in a while she’ll assume a friendly pose. My dog is the opposite. He is a major poser. He also smiles quite frequently – it’s true! We’ve had friends and visitors comment on it. They have their personalities and expressions that are so unique and make us love them even more.

  40. Very nice. I have a black cat (and her sister, a gray tabby), and have a hard time taking her picture because I can’t seem to balance the detail and solid black in her fur. Yours looks great.

  41. He he seems like your cat has a lovely Friday, looking forward to the Thanksgivig dinner 😀

  42. I love cats and you capture the most amazing expression from yours. beautiful fur and bright eyes. Love it!

  43. Nice shot, Katie, and getting a good photograph of black dogs or cats is really difficult because it’s hard to get a good reading on the exposure. The only “criticism” is that his right ear seems to be missing. With a little work in Photoshop, you could bring out a little bit of detail to fix that one minor distraction. But like I said, it is a beautiful shot. I especially like those golden eyes that are barely open. You really captured the mood.

    • Thanks for your comment! I could only put the right ear in there, if I cloned his other one. The 2nd ear is there, but in the deep shadow, and it’s not recoverable in any usable sense in Photoshop. After someone else mentioned the missing ear, I went to see if it was there. 🙂

      I don’t mind a photo that isn’t perfect in a sense like that. I love light and shadow play, and I just really liked this image for what it was. My cat’s smiling face with those half closed eyes, which mimic a human smile.

      Thanks for your comment!

  44. Nice picture, with these “black tones” caress the cat from me 😉
    Just been out for a walk with my 21 year old…
    /Per

  45. Wow! This is deadly!!

  46. How is it possible to look so contented? I think you can safely say, your cat is perfectly happy with how you look after him. Great shot, and you’ve done very well to capture the detail and highlights in the fur. Glas you didn’t do too much in photoshop to get the ear back, I didn’t even notice it was missing, I couldn’t stop looking at those eyes.

    • Thanks, Malcom! I didn’t notice the ear missing until I looked at the photo like a zillion times. 🙂 I don’t do Photoshop things on the photos on this blog. If I thought I had to, the photo would be trashed. It’s the eyes and the expression that caught me. He is a happy cat, so I’m glad you noticed that. thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for visiting my blog.

  47. Love this exquisite kitty!

  48. Another excellent cat portrait. I love the textures in this. Also love your toffee apple header, by the way!

  49. Awe, that cat is in Kittie-heaven! 🙂 I love the lighting in the photo.

  50. What a gorgeous cat!! I think Lilly just said she has a crush on him!

  51. I love my cat too as you will have seen from one of my photos Katie 🙂

  52. Hello Katie,

    Thanks for visiting my blog to view my page I created today. I love maps and those far distant place you eluded to.

    Since I’m more of a home body ( yet, my girlfriend already this year has been to China, Costa ica, Italy, Britain and Bhutan) i creat pages and what nots in my books.

    Thanks again and love your abstracts,
    Kurt D. Hollomon

    • You’re so welcome, Kurt. Your work really did bring out that thought to me, so I’m glad you can see that although you’re a homebody. You do wonderful work.

      So glad you like my abstracts. That’s really where my photography is heading an so for someone like you to mention them means a lot. Thank you so very much. And thanks for visiting my blog also.

  53. […] I did some screen captures, and I just love this one. I took the photos of my Boxer dog and my British Shorthair cat, but for the rest, that’s the magic of […]

  54. black cats can be really hard to capture!
    i have a mini-british short hair ( or, part-british short hair) miss scarlette.
    she is a trip. i hope to have a pet section 9 and better photo sections in general) on my blog soon. nice to meet u here : )

  55. […] photos of my kitty (which have been some of the most popular images on my blog), you can click here, here, and […]

  56. LOL! This is hilarious! Animals have the best personalities – EVER!!

Leave a Reply

 
