Sometimes You Shoot the Birds You Can :)

I can’t top the bird photography of Bob Zeller (his blog here), so I won’t even try. (: I just don’t have the lenses for it, nor the opportunity to take photos of all those different birds. But what I can take photos of are pigeons. (:

So one day in October I was at the Santa Fe Plaza looking for something to photograph. I spotted the usual flock of pigeons on the Indian War Memorial Monument. I looked around for an interesting photo to take, and I spotted two pigeons on a detail of the monument. I composed my shot, waited for the pigeon to get into the spot I wanted, and took the photo.

I like this image mostly for the composition. I like the different levels and the lines and textures of the monument, and then the placement of the two pigeons. I also like the iridescent color on the one pigeon’s chest, and then the other pigeon in shadow. All just making an interesting image to my eye.

Shot with my 70-200mm f/2.8 lens at f/7.1.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on November 28, 2011.

67 Responses to “Sometimes You Shoot the Birds You Can :)”

  1. Good shot and nice composition!

  2. Sometimes it’s not the type of bird you take a photo of… it’s the composition and framing, and the general output of the photo … so i can say that with a common bird you made a great photo and that is remarkable 🙂

  3. Wow! Thanks for the great shout-out. Very nice composition. BTW, the official name for that specific bird is Rock Pigeon. 🙂

  4. Nice photo! I can never take a picture of a bird, because it’s too quick for me and flies away or gets eaten by something…

  5. Great shot, as per usual

  6. Who said that pigeons are not pretty! Look at him all proud! Lovely picture! 😀

  7. One pigeon is enjoying the sun and one is hiding in the shadow. Great picture. The stair-kind of sitting platform makes this picture more amazing. Loved it 🙂

  8. Ohhh nice, they look like statues, love it

  9. Hi Katie – Lovely shot for all the reasons you mentioned – and at last a familiar looking bird from the USA! You beat me to it! I was also thinking about putting some swan shots onto my blog, having been inspired by the great man that is Bob Zeller! His blog is awesome and so is yours! Right, I’m off to do it now!

    Take care

    John

  10. I loved your use of light in this photo. Animals and children are so hard to shoot but you really nailed this one.

  11. Brilliant post title! And pigeons are more beautiful than they’re given credit for — I guess it’s because we see so many of them wherever we go. I agree with your thoughts on the composition, the lines of the steps and the two pigeons, with one in silhouette.

  12. Actually pidgeons are great birds to shoot, the neck ring changes color with various light and there are alot of them. Great shot and composition..:-))

  13. Can’t really add anything new. Good shot.

  14. Germans have the same word (“Taube”) for both pigeons and doves, and looking at the graceful shape of a pigeon you can see why. Thanks for showing that pigeons can be pretty, too. 🙂

  15. Great shot! Love it so much ❤

  16. Great photo! Oh and I like how you said, you shoot the birds you can 🙂

  17. “I can’t top the bird photography of Bob Zeller (his blog here), so I won’t even try.”
    If you don’t try, what about me, a poor beginner?
    ….

    • There aren’t great birds around me, just House Finches and Sparrows, so I really don’t take photos of them. Try doing it! i bet your can take some great ones. Have your kitty watch for them. 🙂

  18. Nice shot – I like the contrast between the stone memorial, the pigeon and the colourful blur of the foliage in the background. I take shots of any bird I can get too – mainly silver gulls.
    The challenge is to shoot them before they walk or fly away. Even with lots of practice, there are some days when you just can’t get a good shot of a bird.

    • Thanks, Victoria, nice that you can see all that in the photo, And can appreciate how hard it is to get good photos of them! You take some really nice bird shots. 🙂 Turtles too! 🙂

  19. You captured his coloring really well…great shot.

  20. Very nice capture!

  21. Great shot Katie! Photography is all about the capture, getting the image that we want. These pigeons suit this image quite fine! The contrasting colours of the background bushes and the pigeons’ feathers just make this image. Cheers!

  22. Hehe, I like how they look like they’re just tolerating each others’ presence! I like the shadowed bird too.

  23. like the composition and how the subtle hues in the pigeon are repeated in the shadows of the foliage in the background – thanks to you, I discovered Bob Zeller’s blog as well. 🙂

  24. crazy, it almost looks like a statue! lol. 🙂 something about the way the eyes look I think…but its an awesome shot.

  25. Your title made me laugh! Great shot – and pigeons are noble birds, you shoot away.

  26. A great shot. My favorite part is that sly pigeon hidden so cleverly in the shadows. He looks like a character! 🙂

  27. Very nice!

  28. Love the steps, the textures, the background…all fit wonderfully!

  29. nice bokeh in that photo

  30. Great shot! Love the use of shadow, good job x

  31. great, but I don’t like turtles actually, but the photo 🙂

  32. Lovely picture!
    As a nature/ wildlife photographer I often take pictures of birds but for me it is not the species that is important, it’s always the composition and the picture.

  33. I love photographing birds, mostly I get to capture sparrows. It takes a lot of time, a lot of patience and a lot of luck… I probably take 100 pictures to get one really good one. I like your pigeon picture. 🙂 Like the shadows.

Leave a Reply

 
