Photography as Abstract – Horizontal Lines and Sun Play

Here’s another of the abstracts I’ve been doing. Hope you like it. (:  If you want to see the other images/posts in the series, please click here and here.

This abstract is something simple—window blinds that face West at around sunset.

One evening I was going to feed my dog and cat, and I noticed the setting sun coming through the window blinds, so I grabbed my camera. These windows face a tan adobe wall, and the sun setting, along with the color of the wall, caused the blinds to take on the pretty color. I closed the blinds a bit and then lined up my camera to get everything straight and took the shot.

I like the warmth and lines in this image, and also the play of the sun. It just feels good to me, giving me a warm feeling. Not sure why, but I’ll take that. (: And for reference, in person, each slat of the blind is only one inch thick. The magic of macro. (:

Shot with my 105mm lens at f/3.2. I had the ISO speed at 3200, as it was in low light, and being that this is an abstract, I actually wanted to introduce some noise/pixelation into the image, as I thought it would make for an interesting look.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on November 29, 2011.

71 Responses to “Photography as Abstract – Horizontal Lines and Sun Play”

  1. Ok, i must say that after the adobe moon this one is the photo i’ve liked the most… by it’s colours and lines and most of all because of it’s perfection…
    Amazing job, and very well achieved.

    • Wow, Filipe, that is quite the compliment. The Adobe Moon photo is my 2nd most popular post, and I know people adore it. I love this shot too, so it’s nice that someone else feels the same way about it. Thanks so much, Filipe! 🙂

  2. Now that is a real neat image. I wouldn’t have know what it was until you told. Great imagination, to spot something like that. I like it. 🙂

    P.S. If you come up with something else like that, you should make us guess what it is. 🙂

  3. Very cool! I love your abstract photography 🙂 So tidy and smooth 🙂

  4. I totally agree with Bob here. If you would have asked me to guess, I would have never got it. But that’s the real beauty, isn’t it? Very neat lines. Wonderful work Katie. The color gradient works very well here. 🙂

  5. Hi Katie – I like it! Very ‘minimalist graphic’! I agree with Bob and Nandini – get us to guess what some of your abstract images are!

    Cheers

    John

  6. wonderful chiaroscuro

  7. Love this! Beautiful lines and beautiful lighting! 🙂

  8. OHHH well done Katie. You really have a great eye and talent.

  9. very good abstract shot! 🙂

  10. Nice color and light. I like it!

  11. Nice, Katie. Keeping it simple with just line and color from the reflected light, proves that you only need a perceptive eye to create a memorable image.

  12. Cool shot..:-)

  13. This shot catches my eye! Great capture! And really interesting idea 🙂

  14. Very nice. Warm and geometric.

  15. Very nice image! Love the soft colours; I can see why it gives you a warm feeling!! Cheers!

  16. It has a Mondrianesque feel to it! Very minimalistic! Good Seeing!

  17. I love the color in this. What a great abstract image. Well captured.

  18. Katie – this is great!!! I admire your eye for a detail around you like this – and creating a nice piece of abstract art out of it.

  19. I love how the simplest things can be so beautiful and interesting! Nice! — Susie C.

  20. i would not have thought to photograph window blinds.. LOL Interesting!

  21. Beautiful colour & I love the ‘neat’ and perfect lines.

    I agree with others. Next time you do an obstract, ask us to guess what it is. We all have different ‘eyes’ and imagination. Makes for some interesting conversation (sometimes even rather funny replies).

  22. Yummy!

  23. simplicity is so powerful- very calming subdued light-good one!

  24. A nice dusty pink colour. 🙂 Nifty.

  25. I am experimenting with abstracts with my painting, but it is astounding to me that it is so suited to photography, too! This is a wonderful, warm image and can almost feel the sun

  26. Like! You’d never guess that it’s window shades. Beautiful light.

  27. Katie, I agree with Bob, Nandini and all the others, you should let us guess!! 😛

  28. very pretty, i love beautiful light around the house

  29. Very nice indeed Katie! Loving the nice and clean minimalism of the shot, and I also think that red was very important to this shot, it’s like you said, it adds a lot of ‘warmth’ to the shot.

  30. Nice 🙂

  31. Nice one Katie…the color and the light do indeed evoke a nice cozy warm feeling!

  32. That’s a window blind? wow…it looks like a photo shopped edited image. It expressed warmness

  33. Simple geometric image — excellent!

  34. Very nice! I like it!

  35. Wonderful abstraction. I like the 3D look of it.

Leave a Reply

 
