Street Scene – The Effect of Early Morning Sun

Okay, off of abstracts for a bit. (:  Today we have this early morning street scene that I took in September. I was going for a walk with my dog and my camera, and I looked ahead of me and saw three large trees (trees like this aren’t that common here in the high desert) and something about it just struck me, so I took the shot. I was basically shooting East into the sun, and I liked the effect that the sun and wind had on the image.

Shot with the 105mm lens at f/8.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on December 1, 2011.

66 Responses to “Street Scene – The Effect of Early Morning Sun”

  1. Hmmmm the morning effect is clearly in this picture. The freshness in the photo is easily noticeable. Pretty sunlight and shadows. 🙂

  2. Niiiiiiiiiiiiice one! 😀

  3. Great shot! 🙂

  4. Really beautifl picture! It must have been a lovely walk in the morning sun 😉

  5. You are right. The light is very nice coming in that way. Great exposure for the trees. 🙂

  6. Can feel the brisk air! Love the old trees like this- great way to capture the trees on an early morning walk.

  7. THis is beautiful. It has a romantic, soft feel to it. Lovely Katie

  8. great colours and the sun position is perfect for this 🙂 great job

  9. Great shot! Like the softness of the lighting which also emphasizes the shadows.

  10. Love the way you compose it! I wonder what will it turn out if you slower the shutter speed..

    • Thanks for noticing the composition, Adam! If I slowed the shutter speed down more, then I think things would be more blurred and out of focus (this image was hand held). Thanks again for the comment.

  11. That is so beautiful. Nicely done!

  12. So gorgeous!

  13. Love this, Katie!

  14. Clearly great effect!

  15. Beautiful!!! Love this so much ❤

  16. Love the soft colours. Lots of beautiful greys here.

  17. its like walking towards the light at the end of the tunnel ! Sorta gives hope!

  18. Very soft, romantic light. This is really lovely!

  19. I think this is one of my favorites so far…beautiful.

  20. There’s something very idyllic and yet ordinary about this one.

  21. Love the light & colour in this shot. Strange to say, but it looks more like a scene from Australia (than Mexico).

    • Thanks, Victoria. I love when I see things that don’t look like they belong here in New Mexico. These tall trees take me back to where I’ve lived most of my life, and it just gives me such a happy feeling. 🙂 Thanks for your comment!

  22. I love the hazy light behind the trees. And the way it plays on the sidewalk. 🙂 Love it.

  23. Love it! The sun and shadows work well together, and the blur is cool too!! Great shot Katie!

  24. I can even feel the morning …scent! Well shot!

  25. Wonderful light play in shades of grey, very nice!

  26. That’s a shot that I would have enjoyed taking. Trees are a great source.

  27. Just lovely.

  28. awww…it’s so peaceful. This might sound crazy,but I would love to let Kame and Kroten walk under that tree…I know, they are turtles not dogs.

  29. I love this effect as well. It’s awesome!

  30. Great image! Shots towards the sun, and sometimes a “shadowing” object in front can be amazing pictures! Love the lights!

  31. Nice light capture in this one. It looks like a wonderful place to go for a stroll!

  32. I feel like I’m in some sort of dream when I look at that photo! Awesome shot! 😀

  33. You are right – this a great capture of early morning mood with so fine back-light!

Leave a Reply

 
