Nice and Normal — Wood Post Fencing (better than it sounds :)

Here’s another Nice and Normal photograph. If you’d like, you can see the other images here.

This photo was taken at the beginning of November a few blocks from my home and a few blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza. This is wood fencing that surrounds some empty land on the Old Santa Fe Trail. I’ll assume there was a house there at some point, but for a long time it’s just been empty, which makes me happy.

Most properties in this part of town have walls around them, so it’s nice that this simple fencing is in place.  I’ve never seen these type of posts anywhere else in downtown Santa Fe (although that doesn’t mean all that much), so it caught my eye. Earlier in the summer I took a morning shot similar to this, but this photo was taken in the later afternoon, and the sun in it is just beautiful to my eye.

Shot with my 105mm lens at f/2.8.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on December 2, 2011.

73 Responses to “Nice and Normal — Wood Post Fencing (better than it sounds :)”

  1. Love it…reminds me of being a kid running through the neighbourhood

  2. Soooo much character in this simple fence! Nicely shot!

  3. Ooh I like this, a wobbly fence and shallow depth of field — great combination 🙂

  4. Nice photo! I agree with the earlier posters…lots of character!

  5. fantastic photo Katie 🙂

  6. This photo makes me want to explore what is behind the fence. Rush through the grass and run straight towards the building that is partly visible. But then the fence would be hurt. So I will stay on this side 😉
    Beautiful shot once again Katie. You are a visual magician.

  7. Lovely fence shot!

  8. 🙂 I like all the shades of brown in this shot. Its got a nice cheery feel.

  9. Lovely, warm shot. Thanks.

  10. Very warm picture! It reminds me of countryside back home 🙂

  11. So nice! I love the focus here. Brings out the natural in this photo. I love this! 🙂

  12. I usually find fences to be interesting subjects, snd this one surely is!!

  13. Very nice Katie! Fences are timeless, and this one is captured so well, with the afternoon sun on it being just the right light to make it pop! Great shot!

  14. Nice and normal is always good when well captured, and you managed to do it 😉

  15. Of course it’s better than is sounds! We know what good photos you take Katie! 🙂

    This one is really nice. I wonder why we like seeing works of civilization being reclaimed by nature so much… But we do and this photo is very peaceful. The afternoon light does add a lot. I love afternoon light. Some of my own favorite photos were of the palace at Versailles taken in the late afternoon as the sun hit the limestone of the west facade… it was just mind-blowingly awesome. Light is just so important with photography. As you clearly understand. 🙂

    • Thanks, Zorgor! How nice to say that! 🙂 I agree afternoon light is pretty much the best, especially here when we live next to mountains, that block the early morning sun until it’s high and really bright in the sky. I’d love to see your Versailles’ photos. Wow. 🙂

      Oh, and I like seeing nature take back things. 🙂

  16. Even the normal view looks great when you took the picture 😉

  17. It’s beautiful!

  18. Nice! 😀

  19. Really nice…love the rust coloring in the 1st post you see.

  20. Awesome, Katie!

  21. good shot 😉

  22. Warm and welcoming photo.

  23. Love this shot. It has a stillness about it as though the fence has been standing there forever. I’m a great fan of late afternoon sun too (could be because I never get up early enough to catch the dawn LOL). I love the play of light in photography and how it affects the subject.

  24. I love the rugged, antiquated feel of this fence. It’s as though history slipped through the wide open spaces and escaped long ago! After standing the test of time, it has probably become it’s own barrier in some ways. Another awesome photo!

  25. Funny it reminds me of my childhood too- you dont often see fences like this any more!

  26. Love everything about this shot. 🙂
    Thanks for sharing.
    xo

  27. I like the way you have taken something seemingly oridinary and made it into something interesting!!

  28. Great shot Katie, I love the depth off field in this one!

  29. Fences can make the most beautiful photographs!! And you nailed it Katie!

  30. Your every photograph is full of depth…. Adore your talent!

  31. Love the texture of the grass and wood…nice, normal things can be beautiful in their own right, as you prove.

  32. I loved this shot, especially the wood and the depth… You are amazing again, Thank you dear Katie, with my love, nia

  33. Another great capture – the dof and light is very fine – well seen!

  34. Superb composition, a great example of leading the eye! love it!

  35. Loved it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
