A Simple Pretty Flower for a Sunday – 11

Here’s the eleventh installment of “A Simple Pretty Flower for a Sunday.” If you’d like, you can view all the earlier Sunday flower images/posts on this page.

This is a close up of the petals at the very top of a Spanish Lavender bloom. I had this plant in my house last winter, and it was beautiful. I took a lot of photos of these flowers, but this one is my favorite. I couldn’t believe that I could get that close to such a small flower, and I was really pleased with my macro lens.

Hope you have a wonderful Sunday!

Shot with the 105mm macro lens at f/11.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on December 4, 2011.

69 Responses to “A Simple Pretty Flower for a Sunday – 11”

  1. Love it, Katie! Very unique composition.

  2. Wow!! I like the detail as well as the colors!! I am considering a Macro lens too!!

  3. Unique indeed………..I love the textures that flower macros reveal.

  4. A lovely photograph Katie, and an education in the flower department as I’ve never seen a Spanish Lavender before. The colour of the petals is beautiful and the green veins give it an interesting texture. Good shallow depth of field also. 🙂

    • Thanks, Mufidah. I’ve never really grown lavender, before this plant, and I was surprised when the other ones didn’t have those lovely petals at the top. 🙂 Thank you for noticing all that about the image. 🙂

  5. I love that pretty lavendar color. and, like Mufidah, I like the shallow DOF. 🙂

  6. The texture on this is amazing. Beautiful.

  7. Beautiful, Katie! I love everything about it, especially the color palette 🙂

  8. Oooh I loooove this one! This may be my favorite…for now! 😀

  9. great photo Katie!

  10. Love to check your blog every Sunday and to see these lovely flowers! Especially when it is so cold outside 🙂

  11. Its great how you can see the delicate fuzz on the plants. One day I’ll get a macro lens…

  12. lovely shot, I love the colours in the flower

  13. Wow that’s incredible- such amazing detail!

  14. This one is a macro right. Great shot Katie. I want to touch it. So pretty 🙂

  15. such a beauty, amazing colors

  16. The always beautiful sunday 🙂

  17. Nice macro work, Katie! Love the detail, and beautiful colours here! Cheers!

  18. Love the pink against the darker lavender as well as the veins threading through the flower. My macro goes to 85, wish that I had gotten the 105. But I have a pack of magnifying lenses that I can add onto it. Nice image, Sally

  19. Beautiful photo I pressed it on the Donkey Whisperer Blog.

  20. perfection Katie! 🙂

  21. I like the focal point of this photograph. The background works out great to bring out the different textures of the flower. The lighting gives the petals a nice glow!

    • Thanks for noticing all that Jennifer. The background is just another part of the plant. When you go in that close with a macro, it’s hard to get too much DOF, which is perfect for photos like. Thanks so much for your wonderful comment and visiting my blog, Jennifer! 🙂

  22. Very nice photo. By the way, what camera do you use?

  23. I love the contrast between the crisply detailed petals and the soft, less-focused ones. Gorgeous.

  24. Ow my goodness….such a beautiful flower and I love how the detail appears amongst the blurry background.
    Great shot Katie!

  25. WOW! Beautiful, simply BEAUTIFUL!

  26. Thanks for stopping by Katie – not very active at the moment more like ‘hibernation’ mode. Love the detail and DOF on this – well composed shot. Have a great week.

  27. Love the texture

  28. Gotta love macro!! The colors and detail are super!

  29. Beautiful colours, great shot again. Thank you dear Katie, with my love, nia

  30. beautiful photo katie, lovely colours & tonings

  31. Absolutely love it! Great close-up! 🙂

  32. So lovely! Love the colour! I am always exited to see your Sunday flowers! 😀

  33. I am so sorry I missed a Sunday!! This is beautiful dear 🙂

  34. Lovely colors, pattern and texture ! It’s a beautiful bloom 🙂

  35. Your eye never ceases to amaze me… you see beauty and share beauty in such a GREAT way.

Leave a Reply

 
