Photography as Abstract – Winter in Shapes and Lines

Here’s another of the abstracts I’ve been doing. If you want to see the other images/posts in the series, please click here and here.

We had a little snowfall over the weekend, and when I looked out my window, I noticed that even with the snow, I could see the texture of my brick patio. My love of shapes and lines and patterns in photography had me grabbing my camera and heading outside.

The snow was heavier in certain areas, and melting in others, and I composed this shot so that I could show both areas, to give the image more visual interest.

Shot with my 35-70mm lens at f/2.8.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on December 5, 2011.

75 Responses to “Photography as Abstract – Winter in Shapes and Lines”

  1. Beautiful snowy ladders!

  2. Oh, soooooo not ready to see this! Neat abstract, though may be ever-so-slightly crooked?? (Sorry, I’m a little anal about keeping vertical lines perfectly vertical!)

    • I think that the snow and the different levels of it create the effect of not so straight, and also that the craftsman who put the patio in place (and then nature itself) has made things not line up perfectly. Nature is like that. 🙂

  3. Very nice!

  4. Love the texture here! And wow, you got snow there. Lovely and amazing. 🙂

    Loved this picture. What great snow lines and the brick color looks so good. 🙂

  5. Just lovely the textures and colours… just love snow photos… but i must go a very long way from where i live to get some 😦

  6. NIce one Katie, I like how the snow is raised between the bricks!.

  7. Love this!

  8. Wonderful photograph dear Katie, you always capture amazing abstract photographs. Thank you, with my love, nia

  9. Nice shot, and congrats on getting out in the cold… a sign of a true artist 🙂

  10. Oh, Katie, you have such a fine eye for seeing things and creating great images of them! I LOVE your abstract series!!!! We had our first cold and snow these days, this fine image fits to the weather around here;-)

    • Oh, I’m so thrilled with your comments! Thank you so much. And so nice to hear that you love my abstracts, as that’s what my eye sees these days. I love that the image fits the weather around you. As someone with some Danish roots, it’s fun to hear. It’s like -1 degrees (F) here now. Cold! 🙂

  11. Nice. I’ve been trying some “line” shots lately. I don’t have near the eye for that as you do, Katie.

  12. Great capture, Katie. Love the patterns created by the snow on the bricks.

  13. Snow! I get so excited when it’s ‘snow’ time of the year! Of course, we don’t get nearly as much here as more northern locations, so it’s easy for me to excited ’cause I don’t have to deal with as much. 🙂

    Back to you! lol! I really like how you have vertical lines in the pic instead of making it a horizontal pattern. Most brick I see has that familiar side-to-side flow and I really like the way the snow covers those up-and-down strips at the top and fades off to more brick at the bottom of the shot.

    Did that make any sense? ha! Very nice, Katie!

  14. Very nice texture!

  15. Very nice!

  16. Beautiful!

  17. That is cool how it sticks up on the mortar.

  18. Interesting texture in this image. I love the small details in nature, so it appears do you.

    (I wish we had snow – it looks magical to me)

    • Thanks, Victoria! I kind of wish I had your weather right now. 🙂 Snow does put a magical spin on things I think. Cleans the world for a minute too. Thanks for your comment!

  19. This is so well seen. I love the graphic lines and the great colour contrast.

  20. Beautiful shot. I love the pattern and the asymmetry of the snow.

  21. Brr snow! We still haven’t had any. Its a cool (haha pun) shot. Its like the snow is creeping its way down the wall.

  22. Nice shot, Katie 🙂

  23. I love the layers, lines, texture and softness. Nicely done

  24. Gorgeous! I too love textures, angles, and patterns!:)

  25. Neat! I like the lines, gently showing through the snow. Great capture Katie!!

  26. very cool image, I love the outlines of the brick!

  27. fantastic Katie!!

  28. Love it! I want some snow!!! 🙂

  29. Very cool shot. I think that would make a fun texture to use in Photoshop as well.

  30. I like the way you compose this photo.. Simply beautiful…

  31. That looks great! That is a photo that makes me kick myself and ask why I never took a photo of that sort of thing!!

  32. Ow wow…I love how the snow keeps the brick shape. It looks like white cream on a chocolate cake

  33. I like this one Katie. Like you I love shapes and colours and textures. I thought it was a picture of a brick wall turned sideways – until I read that it was your patio!

  34. wish we had some snow down here, just rain the past week- more snowy pics please…

  35. I love simple, geometric images! Plus the snow adds a lovely texture. Also a good reminder that we don’t always have to go far to find images, rather there are always interesting things to shoot close to home 🙂

  36. Very good. The snow adds a nice texture to the bricks and the red grabs you.

  37. Again, I love this, the lines, the snow, the textures… GREAT composition!

  38. Beautifully crafted – so delicate. I love the powdery snow against the rough brick.

Leave a Reply

 
