Photography as Abstract – Natural Litter in a Spider Web

Here’s another of the abstracts I’ve been doing. If you want to see the other images/posts in the series, please click here and here.

There are only so many places you can walk in Santa Fe from my house, and so I look for things that just catch my eye. Here it was some leaf/flower litter that was stuck on some real spider webbing (not like my other magic leaf photo 🙂 ) on a stuccoed wall. It was eye height, so my eye caught it and something in my mind clicked. I composed the image in several ways and this is the one that was ever so slightly my favorite.

This image just appeals to me because of the composition, the tone of it, the shapes, the textures. All things I really enjoy in my abstracts. Other than that, I guess it just plugs into something in my brain, and I can’t explain why in a quick sentence. (:

Shot with my 105mm lens at f/3.3.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on December 7, 2011.

72 Responses to “Photography as Abstract – Natural Litter in a Spider Web”

  1. Fantastic… this one is amazing and i love the detail of the veins of the leaf 🙂

    • Thanks, Filipe! Truly appreciate it, as sometimes, especially with abstracts, I’m not really sure about things. So, I’m glad you like this one. I like the veins in the leaf and also the veins in the little flower too. Thanks for your comment! 🙂

  2. Thins is lovely. I can’t say enough about it. I love the colors. The composition is stunning. It’s beautiful.

  3. Beautiful capture, Katie. Your composition was spot on and the DOF is just as great.

  4. Wow! Stunning!

  5. great shot Katie!!!

  6. No need to explain the connection you have with the piece. We all can see the emotional content of the compostion and the technical prowess of your hand and eye.
    Nice work Katie. The detail and soft focus is a great contrast.

  7. Lovely, Katie!

  8. Great capture Katie, I like the composition and the depth of field you chose!

  9. Very nice!

  10. Awesome shot, I love the foreground focus 🙂

  11. Wow…that’s really pretty cool! 😀

  12. Your a very good nature photographer. Do you have a flicker account? Sorry if you have it posted on your site and I missed it.

    • Thanks so much for the nice compliment. I truly appreciate it. I don’t have a Flickr account, so you didn’t miss that information. 🙂 You can look on my portfolio pages to see my work. Hope that helps. And thanks so much for visiting my blog! 🙂

  13. Great title….and great shot

  14. I love this! beautiful

  15. lol! I understand the reaction in that part of the brain that clicks and is never fully described with words! : ) About the ways you WERE able to describe it – I completely agree. It’s textures and tone and shapes, compositions. All make this a very appealing shot! Beautiful…

  16. I really like the scale and variation of sizes and shapes in this. It keeps it interesting. The way it comes from soft focus to sharp clarity draws your eye down through the photo. Nice!

  17. Yes, it is an interesting pic alright!! This pic reminds me of a pic that someone would find in “National Geographic”!! That is a Compliment!!

  18. I dispise spiders but this is beautiful!!

  19. This is lovely, and looks as if it came to you in a half-understood dream rather than on a walk. I love this one!

  20. What an interesting shot. I love the composition, and those colors work together beautifully. Great one, Katie!

  21. I like this a lot, Katie. Very nice composition.

  22. Your abstracts are wonderful, Katie. I like the colours in this one. Quite interesting is that the background is almost a mirror image of the foreground. Great shot!

  23. It really draws your eye in Katy. Very nice and effective use of DOF.

  24. Webs can really collect a lot of litter isn’t it and the uncanny way of nature is that all of them are arranged in it to make a good photography subject

  25. can’t take my eye off this leaf! Also like the way the top right “litter” fades into darkness…

  26. WOW! What an impressive one. This is great shot dear Katie, you are so creative. Thank you, with my love, nia

  27. I, too, like the composition, tone, shapes, and textures. Nice abstract as always 🙂

  28. I love this shot! What’s the white thing on the focused leaf? I couldn’t figure it out yesterday too.

    Really nice Katie. Love the dried leaves and the details in the focus. 🙂

  29. As you say, the tone, textures, shapes and overall composition really work together — it’s a great image!

  30. Love this image – nice colours and interesting composition. I particularly like the detail of the veins in the leaf

  31. Some seriously wonderful wabi-sabi.

  32. You take the most unexpected pictures ever! 😀

  33. Lovely image wonderfully taken. The focus is brilliant; it makes the image scream Autumn

  34. I love the angle…It’s great how you manage to capture it in an interesting angle

  35. I like the texture, the subtle tones, the narrow depth of field and the repetition of shapes with variety.:)

Leave a Reply

 
