Photography as Abstract – Holiday Lights 2

Here’s another of the abstracts I’ve been doing. If you want to see the other images/posts in the series, please click here and here.

Milkay Photo suggested that I do a series inspired by my first holiday lights image. I had that thought also, but being that I take photos of things I see, it can be a bit difficult in such a small town.

Even so, I’ve had the thought in my head, so I’ve gone out looking for holiday lights. The Santa Fe Plaza is known for its holiday decorations. To be honest, in the way I’m shooting today, I find them a bit jumbled and my eye struggles to find photos that I like.

That being said, I still went looking, and I spied some holiday light globes hung on The Plaza stage. My mind had a thought that they kind of looked like planets in the night sky, so I composed photos that emphasized that.

A yummy, candied coated planet with candy stars above it. (:

Shot with my 105mm macro lens at f/2.8.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on December 12, 2011.

73 Responses to “Photography as Abstract – Holiday Lights 2”

  1. Love this one Katie. Looks like a pack of alien enemy lights are chasing the glitter planet through space!

  2. what a great photo 🙂 the two separate blocks do a fantastic work for this photo.

  3. Beautiful picture.. 🙂

  4. Great job Katie. I really like these. A planet hanging around with some colored asteroids where there are no rules of gravitation. Hehehe. 😀

    🙂

  5. Very cool!

  6. Very nice; it looks like a floating ball of light

  7. That’s awesome! : )

  8. This is one of my favorite photos that you have taken. Very unique and an interesting perspective on Holiday Lights.

  9. *Like*! I love how the ball seems to be floating.

  10. Agreed… that sphere really does seem to be hovering about in space…
    really cool!

  11. great shot Katie!!

  12. Jolly good, Katie! The composition is great and I want to eat that pretty bauble. 🙂

  13. This is wonderful Katie, Lovely lights! I love the colourful ball and it’s so detailed in your picture! 🙂

    • Thank you, Kristina. You know, sometimes I’m surprised at how sharp this macro can be when it can do such great narrow DOF. but on large things farther away, it gets that sharpness well. So glad you like the photo!

  14. This would make a great holiday card for the young at heart! (A candy-coated planet and candy stars above — how cool is that?)

  15. Fun times 🙂 I love lights.

  16. I love your take on this photo. Your description gives the image a great story. Well done! 🙂

  17. I love how it looks like it’s floating in air!

  18. looks like the big dipper-pretty

  19. Wow! I really like that! The ball of lights especially really pops against the blackest night sky!

  20. Really great picture! Love the energy captured :{D

  21. I just love this!

  22. I just love the contrast in these and of course the sugar coated planet!

  23. The big one reminds me of the vast space ship that Captain Kirk and the Enterprise encountered in one of the very early Star Trek episodes. Can’t recall the title (ashamed). You know the one I mean… Just remembered – The Corbomite Manouver or something like that.

  24. I love the contrasts and how the planet looks natural there

  25. Wow, very cool and nice picture.

  26. The moon and stars; that’s what this reminds me of. Nice shot!!

  27. This is terrific! Before I read your post my first thought was a far away planet out in space!

  28. It’s an interesting picture and the globe is great!

  29. I love the dreamlike feeling of Christmas lights, great shot!

  30. So cool!! looks like a photoshopped thing rather than a real photo. It’s a new planet 😉

  31. Absolutely Beautiful!!!

  32. Very nice 🙂

  33. it’s colorful, it’s full of life, amazing shot & composition !!..I LOVE IT 😀

  34. Love the globe plus the simplicity of just a few fairy lights 🙂

  35. What a magical picture! I love the delicacy of the colours against the dark backdrop – so beautiful and atmospheric! Stunning in its simplicity. Last night our next door neighbour put up tiny white lights across both our houses (and coloured lights on the cow shed – we live on farmland!!) so you’ve given me the inspiration to experiment… Thank you!

  36. […] I was out shooting some of those abstract holiday light photos (see here and here) that people seemed to love, I also shot some regular night-time shots. I was walking past the New […]

  37. […] few weeks back, I was walking around at dusk. This was the same night that I took one of those abstract holiday light photos that people seem to like. It was a night with the full moon, and I looked up and the moon was […]

  38. Neat abstract! Happy holidays!

  39. […] last of my holiday light abstracts. I did three others, if you’d like to look – here, here and […]

Leave a Reply

 
