Photography as Abstract – Raindrops on …..

Here’s another of the abstracts I’ve been doing. If you want to see the other images/posts in the series, please click here and here.

I’ve seen lots of wonderful raindrop photos, and since we don’t get much rain here in Santa Fe, I really hadn’t thought about trying my hand at photographing them.

But a few days ago, it was raining on my walk. I had just shot some leaves that were stuck in a metal wire fence, when I saw some raindrops hanging on to the fencing that I thought looked pretty cool, so I got in close and took some shots.

When I processed the photos, I really liked what I saw, so yesterday morning when it was still wet out, I took my camera and tripod in search of more wet metal fencing.

I found some fencing a few blocks away and starting shooting. This is one of my favorites from those photos. A red car was in the background, which warmed that up, and the fencing was a blue grey metal, which gave the raindrops a blue tint to them. When processing the raw image, I upped the contrast and the black in the image to give it a more abstract feel.

Shot with my 105mm lens at f/4.5.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on December 14, 2011.

88 Responses to “Photography as Abstract – Raindrops on …..”

  1. Love it! Raindrops are one of my favorites 🙂

  2. I love the reflections here. Drops are fun to capture, great when they hang up there. Amazing, Katie. 🙂

  3. Hi Katie
    another really great shot…but I like this image even more when it’s upside down…
    Like some scifi landscape…
    I’m getting nearer and nearer to buying a macro lens and it’s all because of you…..

    • Thank you! I actually have another image I was going to post today, but I took the fence shot yesterday and I put that up instead. I do have a cool upside down shot that I will put up soon. I think you’ll like it, as it does look just so strange. 🙂

      Ah, I think you’ll do great work with a macro! So glad my images have inspired you. I really love using a macro. It lets me see the world differently.

  4. Lovely photo, amazing detail and idea of what the subject is, making it not that much abstract 🙂

    I’ve tried some of this before i had the macro extension tubes and they didn’t work out that well so i must try some in the near future 🙂

    • What i mean about the abstract is that it is not as much as abstract as some others that you have posted … not that it is not abstract at all 🙂

      Sorry if i didn’t make myself clear 🙂

    • Thanks, Filipe. I think you’re right about it not being as abstract as my others. I’ve really been exploring what abstract means, especially as it relates to photography, and maybe there is a better term for my photography that is about shapes and textures and lines, etc. I just don’t know at this point, so I put this image under abstracts.

      Good luck trying your macro extension tubes again on rain drops. I bet you can get some good one! 🙂

  5. great shot Katie!

  6. great job on capturing such an overlooked moment in time!! Awesome work!

  7. The catch light in the drops really makes this shot. Very interesting abstract, Katie.

  8. I really love this shot! The water drop are so rich in contrast. Great concept! I want to see more!

    • Thanks so much, Jennifer! I have another one to post for you. I was going to post it today, but then I took the fence photo that I liked so much last night, so it’s up today. I’ll be posting another one soon. Thanks so much for the encouragement!

  9. Beautiful! I can almost feel the drop in the centre about to fall and touch the ground! Great photo.

    By the way, for plenty of rain, do come to the UK!! We get plenty of it!!

    • Ah, glad you can feel that drop getting ready to fall! I was amazed at how long they stayed up there, really.

      I’d love to visit the UK again! What fun I’d have with my camera! 🙂 Thanks so much for your comment and for visiting my blog!

  10. It looks cute!

  11. Well done Katie!!! That’s a killer lens you use!!!

  12. The two bright raindrops look like the Earth reflected in an astronaut’s visor.

  13. Marvelous!

  14. Great job, Katie! I love photographing water droplets too!

  15. I always love raindrops. They make for interesting texture and fun little things to focus on. 🙂 Glad you got some rain to try it out! Its a pretty shot.

  16. I love the look of raindrops and dew. It’s rainy here today, so I may have to go walking with my camera. You’ve inspired me. 🙂 Great photo!

  17. You have a great eye for these abstract images! Water drops make interesting shots; these are no exception! Nice capture, and I like your processing as well!

  18. This is a great image Katie, really simple and subtle. I like it very much 🙂

  19. Love it! Very simple, delicate… nice.

  20. Oh man, that is a great shot! I love when one can take the most ordinary and mundane and elevate it to greatness as you have here. Wonderful!

  21. Great shot.I once shot this kind of water drop too.Water is really interesting. I imagine small people living inside that water-dome

  22. Water… sometimes I think all the best photos are of water…

  23. Great photo, I wish I could see what was in the reflections of the drops!!!

  24. Stunning shot, Katie.

    Raindrops make great subjects in photography and I particularly like this image. It’s simple, but creative. It draws your eye directly to the water drop. The background colour makes a nice contrast to the fence colour too.

  25. This is absolutely beautiful, Katie! Your eye has captured an image that can be ‘read’ in so many ways! I can also see it as water ‘pockets’, or eyes in the dark! Well done Katie!

  26. excellent photo, 😉

  27. 🙂 nice

  28. Sooo cute, I keep watching them expecting one of the raindrops to fall down 😀

  29. Beautiful 🙂

  30. Great shot, the red in the background works great here!

  31. Nice shot – not as easy to pull off as it might look. If you ever want to get more regular practice with rain photography, I’d can thoroughly recommend North West England, I’ll try to send you some over, we can spare some.

    • Thanks for appreciating how it’s not easy to take the simple photos. 🙂 LOL! Do send some rain form North West England. 🙂 I’ll trade you for some of our sunshine and clear starry nights. 🙂 Thanks so much for your comment, Malcolm!

  32. Lovely. This capture is just wonderful. I love the imminent sense of dropping.

  33. Hi Katie

    http://littleweekendtrot.wordpress.com/2011/12/15/the-reader-appreciation-award/

    😀

  34. Nice shot!

  35. Love, love, love this! Water and Water drops are fascinating photographic subjects… I love the challenge of capturing the beautiful shapes and light play of water drops. Thanks for sharing!

  36. Beautiful! – water does the most amazing things! And I love your creative capture of it, here! Very cool!

  37. Close-ups of raindrops never go old! Lovely work.

  38. I loved it, wonderful abstract with raindrops… Thank you dear Katie, with my love, nia

  39. Those raindrops look like eyes. 🙂

  40. Adore your ideas… Fabulous!

  41. I really like this one. In fact< i think I will do a painting based on it when I have a chance. Ill keep you posted

  42. […] week I posted a raindrops image, Rshmedialimited (his blog here) wanted to see the image upside down as it reminds him of alien […]

  43. Cool pic, A study of the power of surface tension.

Leave a comment