Nice and Normal – Lanterns, Bricks, Wall in Snow

Here’s another Nice and Normal photograph. If you’d like, you can see the other images here.

I took this on the same day as the abstract gate in snow photo. I’ve taken photos of these lanterns on a couple other occasions; I posted an image of the lantern in front of its house in warmer weather a few months back.

I just like the design of these lights, and the way they sit on the brick wall has always attracted my eye, but when adding snow to the picture, it just elevated the image to another level. Although this image isn’t one of my abstracts, I do love it. There are great lines, textures and shapes to this, and it just looks good to my eye.

Shot with my 30-70 lens at f/2.8.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on December 16, 2011.

147 Responses to “Nice and Normal – Lanterns, Bricks, Wall in Snow”

  1. One could walk by and never notice. But you do.

  2. I love love love this one Katie!!! Everything about it is right!

  3. great one Katie

  4. Just beautiful. This is one of those shots which seems to have perfect balance. I think it’s a Feng Shui kind of thing, and the framing of the lights is just sooooo perfect.

    I can see it as the perfect Christmas Card. Do you follow the English tradition of exchanging Christmas Cards with family and friends? If so, this shot should be on the front.

  5. Nice!

  6. I have to agree with Victoriaphotography…beautiful shot!!! I love this…. what a great christmas photo…or calendar photo… could just gaze at the simple beauty of it…

  7. On my faves list. I love this one Katie. I know I say that about most of your photos but this one….I really love it! Great subject, lighting, feel, colours. It has a sense of nostalgic to it that you don’t get in many photographs.

    What a special shot 🙂 Thanks for doing what you do!

  8. It might be normal, but it is beautiful.

  9. agree with Marion….great eye!

  10. One of my favorites too! 🙂

    Love it. Love the snow and the brick colors along with the dark green. Amazing shapes too. Great perspective. 🙂

  11. Its so pretty. It could be the cover of a book or something. 🙂

  12. OOOh, snow! beautiful Katie.

  13. In a word – beautiful. 🙂

  14. Absolutely stunning!! I love the way you’ve framed this image; the brick columns descending and getting more blurred, the lamps with the snow on them, all of it! Nice work Katie!!

  15. This is one of my favorites! It’s beautiful!

  16. wooowww!! so amazing.. 🙂

  17. Beautiful, so beautiful… As always I love your series, like “Nice and Normal”… actually it is something you make very special, all these ordinary things with your camera… Then can’t be normal for us… Maybe just for you 🙂 Thank you dear Katie, you fascinated me once again. Have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

    • Ah, thanks, Nia. Maybe I should change the name, but I need someway to categorize all these photos, and that just is where I put them. 🙂 Thanks so much for your lovely comment! 🙂

  18. Beautiful!

  19. With sunny skies and warm temps here in fl, this picture definitely makes me long for some snow. Beautiful!

  20. So beautiful this would make a perfect Christmas card!! 😀

  21. Reblogged this on JadaDiaz.

  22. Ah, snow! It seems like we’re not going to have some over here for xmas, so it’s great looking at this! You’re right about the lanterns… and although snowing this is such a ‘warm’ picture you’ve captured.

  23. Katie, you’re such a talent 🙂 I love how the lines all converge as you get shallower

  24. Put the name different, Nice and Outstanding 🙂

    excelent job 🙂

  25. This is one of those photos that is just classic. Very beautiful, and it has a Christmassy feel to it. I really like it!

  26. Nice and normal indeed!

  27. Lovely photo, seems bizarre to see so much snow where you are and here it’s summer, we have had rain for a few days and it very hot and sticky!

  28. Love this one Katie…would make a great Christmas card.

  29. It really gives of that holiday feeling. 🙂

  30. Like the angle of this photo and it’s perfect for winter 🙂

  31. The serenity of fallen snow is captured, and I really like the deep color of the brick (water-saturated to a deep maroon?) that gives color against the otherwise mostly monochrome image, Sally

  32. Oh so very beautiful….you knew I’d like this one. Thanks Katie!

  33. Great pic! I love the way winter looks … just wish it wasn’t so cold 🙂

    • Thanks, Jack! I agree, winter would be better if it weren’t so cold. It was barely below freezing her on that day, so not bad for snow. 🙂 Thanks so much for your comment and visiting my blog!

  34. I don’t think its nice…..It is very nice 🙂

  35. This is beautiful, Katie. I don’t know why, but somehow it reminds me of Christmas morning…

  36. Great capture! really wonderful!

  37. I like the textural contrast, too.

  38. This one’s adorable! Love the repetition.

  39. I love this photo.

  40. Great photograph! I wish it would snow here in Texas!! It’s nice to be able to enjoy it vicariously through others, though. Thanks for the post!

  41. That is a great composition. You’re right the snow does add a lot… Which surprises me. Who knew snow could do that?!? 🙂

    • Yep, it’s the snow. I’ve taken the photo without snow, but it wasn’t what I’d post. I liked it, but this photo has that special thing I love. Glad you notice that! 🙂

  42. It’s photos like this one that make me miss the Michigan winters. Of course, I still don’t miss walking *through* them.

  43. You are a gift! How did the fruitcake come out? Mine was ready within 4 weeks. Very popular. Give yours a try, if you had time to make it.

  44. Beautiful work as always!!!!

  45. Nice and normal…yet you make it stunning and nostalgic. I’m ready for the fireplace and hot chocolate just looking at this. Perfectly composed, as always.

  46. Great photo, Katie.

  47. I am enjoying seeing these winter photos, especially since no longer live where it snows. This does make me almost want to be in it again….almost. 😉

  48. Katie, I love this and am glad Santa Fe has many faces.

  49. Love it. Beautiful DOF.

  50. I love this shot!

  51. there is something very appealing about the repetition along the wall. lovely work.

  52. Wow! How beautiful!

  53. Thanks for a great blog: I’ve nominated you to the Versatile Blogging Award:

    http://saarimner.com/

  54. Lovely Katie, absolutely lovely,

  55. Love the way you compose this~!

  56. Definitely festive Katie! Lanterns and snow! Lovely.

  57. WOW… this looks awesome! So very “Christmasy”… 😀

  58. Beautiful. It makesme want to go caroling.

  59. Love it! the snow looks like cotton pods!!

  60. Not a fan of snow here, but a beautiful capture!

  61. I have never in my life hoped for snow before (well, except to have school canceled) and I am so jealous! We’ve had nothing but brown and mud here for weeks and I am desperate for some snow to make some scenes more interesting!

    • Hope you get some snow! We’re supposed to get more tonight/tomorrow, more wet stuff, but more inches too. I’d rather not have the more inches, but I’ll be out taking some photos in it. 🙂

  62. Wow, you’re getting a lot of snow! And I’m with you about the lines, textures and shapes — very nice! 🙂

  63. It reminds me of the Christmas cards of my youth in England a few decades ago. It has a lovely nostalgic feel for me, Katie. 🙂

  64. This is absolutely beautiful. This is an image I could live with all year long.

  65. Snow turns the planet into a an art form. It’s just that not everybody notices the fact.

  66. Wow you’ve got tonnes of snow! Love this one – with your usual great focal point and silky bokeh. Nice!

  67. Beautiful snowy photo. I don’t envy you, though. Snow has held off here in the Northeast and that is quite fine with me!

  68. Now that is just a wow photo 🙂 Never seen snow (other than in photos) in my life though 😦

  69. So beautiful! I love it! And smells like Christmas

  70. That’s beautiful — makes me long for snow here…well, sort of 🙂

  71. […] took this last week on the same day as my lantern photo, that everyone seemed to […]

  72. Winter is my favorite time of year and this shot is just one of the many reasons why. A great one. Would make a nice greeting card.

  73. I would buy Christmas cards like this… thank you for sharing this! Makes me even more anxious for snow. North Central PA had been having unusual weather, as we’ve had 50 and 60 degree highs in December… our plants are blooming again… as this is so strange. I’ll just sit and imagine myself walking past these snow covered lanterns for a while… 🙂

    • LOL! Yes, imagine you’re walking by those lanterns. We’ve actually had more snow (small amounts) then we’re supposed to have this year. It’s supposed to be cold (has been) but dry. It’s a bit strange. but we’ve had such a drought, that we’ll take any moisture we can get!

  74. Lovely photos, I also like the design of that light…looks like small houses

  75. I love this shot! The lanterns are gorgeous, and covered in snow they look even better – it’s a really beautiful and artistic photo. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
