A Simple Pretty Flower for a Sunday – 13

Here’s the thirteenth installment of “A Simple Pretty Flower for a Sunday.” If you’d like, you can view all the earlier Sunday flower images/posts on this page.

This is one of the dahlias that I bought back in October and shot with my camera on a tripod, so that I could use smaller apertures (and get greater detail with my macro lens) and take longer exposures. I had this flower in a vase (well, actually a large plastic bottle) that faced into the sun.

As simple as that. 🙂

Hope you have a wonderful Sunday!

Shot with my 105mm macro lens at f/14.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on December 18, 2011.

113 Responses to “A Simple Pretty Flower for a Sunday – 13”

  1. The image of spring, caught in sunlight. Lovely.

  2. Katie, that is a superb, super, gorgeous photo. Great job. 🙂

  3. katie, you post photos by the hour!! i love this!

  4. Great Shot!!

  5. I sent you an e-mail regarding the sale of this piece. It would look so beautiful in our house. Thanks for sharing Katie.

  6. The colors and detail are wonderful!

  7. Gorgeous Katie.. I’ve just bought my very first macro..a Nikon 40mm and am thrilled about it…now all I need is time ( oh and a tripod !! ) I posted my first few macro shots at the end of my latest Saturday post http://hellenjc.wordpress.com/2011/12/18/a-split-second-moral-dilemma/

  8. Nice. I like those little petals.

  9. Great details. interesting how you need f/14 on a macro lens to get that depth of field. One day I’m going to pick one up…. One day 🙂

    • It is interesting about macro’s and the DOF/aperture. It’s because you can get so close to the object, which makes the DOF smaller. A challenge a bit, but still so much fun.:)

  10. So delicate! so pretty! And beautiful colors. Great shot, Katie. 🙂

  11. This is definitely a “simple pretty flower”… Nice shot! Love the soft purple. 🙂

  12. Beautiful!!

  13. Amazing what nature creates! Very well captured Katie! Those lines… I love this!

  14. I love your sunday flower theme. Love the bright light in this one – clearly a beautiful day for capturing a beautiful flower.

  15. So pretty! 🙂

  16. Beautiful image – the petals are delineated so well/

  17. Gorgeous shot!

  18. Such a gorgeous dahlia and one of my favorites!

  19. Tremendous! Love the detail, the colours. Nice shot Katie!!

  20. Simply beautiful photograph.

  21. A gorgeous flower beautifully composed 🙂

  22. I love the off-center composition and light from the side that casts the delicate shadows. Exquisite!

  23. Very nice Katie, I love the white tones and shadows. Your series is quite captivating.

  24. Those colors together are sublime. What a beautiful shot.

  25. That is gorgeous Katie!

  26. Wow is all I can say. I showed my husband your blog and he couldn’t stop looking at all the photographs! Thanks for the pretty flower!

  27. Outstanding…great colours 😉

  28. Such a gorgeous picture; beautiful shot Katie 🙂

  29. What a lovely photo – so nice colors and light, Katie.

  30. A truly marvelous composition with these colors and the frost as contrast. Great shot!

  31. Beautiful shot. Love the light.

  32. Lovely colours 🙂

  33. Just gorgeous, I love these flower posts! You are so talented, it looks like a painting!

  34. So delicate and lovely.

  35. Oh my this is sooo beautiful! I always wait for your Sunday flowers; I think this is my favourite! 🙂

  36. This flower is amazing….so so so beautiful!

  37. So beautiful, so beautiful…. Thank you dear Katie, with my love, nia

  38. So So so So So So So So beautiful!!

  39. Love the color of the this flower. Great shot.

  40. So much to like here! I really like your composition the was the eye sweeps from right to left as well as all the fine details captured.

    • Ah, thank you! I know I made it sound simple to take, but finding just the right composition is not easy, so I’m so glad you noticed that! Thanks so much for your comment and glad you liked my photo. 🙂

  41. love the petal layers and how you overall framed the shot. beautiful. 😉

  42. Love your sunday flowers so much!

  43. This is just so beautiful Katie! I love your macros! I can’t decide if I should get the 85mm or the 105mm macro. The 85 is easier to afford…hmmm

  44. Lovely photo Katie.

  45. Beautiful, indeed!

  46. hi katies

    i love flowers too

    A very beatiful flower . the white is magnificent!!

    And macros are the ones i like best.

    Ty for commenting in my blog

    You have in your blog wonderful Photos

    Big embrace

    João

    PS : Portugal salutes you

    • Thanks, João! So glad you like this photo. I love macros too. You’re so welcome for the comments on your blog. Always a pleasure to visit. And thanks, Portugal! I still fill horrible about not getting to see you when I was trotting around Europe way back when. 🙂

  47. Katie, this is an absolutely lovely flower!And you have portayed it so well. Like your choice of composition.

  48. That… is exceptional. So much subtle detail.

  49. Very nice. I love how bright it is. yay for sunlight!

  50. Beautiful shot Katie! 😀

  51. Gorgeous! Those delicate violet edges on the petals are the icing on the cake. This is so beautiful!

  52. Lovely colours 🙂

  53. Beautiful – it looks like it is blushing at the attention!

  54. Ow my….what a beautiful flower !

  55. This is lovely…delicate, soft, yet detailed. :O)

  56. So beautiful!!!

Leave a Reply

 
