Photography as Abstract – Raindrops as Something Strange :)

Here’s another of the abstracts I’ve been doing. If you want to see the other images/posts in the series, please click here and here.

Last week I posted a raindrops image, Rshmedialimited (his blog here) wanted to see the image upside down as it reminds him of alien landscapes, and Jennifer Triplett (her blog here) wanted to see more of the rain drop images, so I thought I’d put another one up for them.

This was the first image I took that inspired me to take more images. I have this image two ways, the original (with the drops hanging down) and then this way. This one just looks strange to me, so I like it. (: I did similar processing of the raw image as last week’s photo; I upped the black, contrast and the clarity in this one.

This was taken late in the day when things were getting darker (and it was overcast anyway), so the raindrops took on the darkness around them, which I liked and which kind of amazed me. (:

Shot with my 105mm lens at f/3.8.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on December 19, 2011.

107 Responses to “Photography as Abstract – Raindrops as Something Strange :)”

  1. These do not even look like raindrops esp., the corner ones. I really like this photo, makes me wonder. Amazing work, Katie! 🙂

  2. Wow, Katie! Incredible amazing shot!!

  3. Eerie, and other worldly in a good way–another successful image by Katie, Sally

  4. Yes, as Sally said, other worldly. Looks like one eye peeking over the top. 🙂

  5. This would be a great “What do you think this is?” kind of submission! Looks like some alien life-form trying to burst out! I

  6. This is really cool! Thanks for posting another one! The one drop looks like it has an eye in it.

  7. That’s still Earthrise – but this time distorted through the viewing bubble of a space craft.

  8. Black frogs with their eyes popping out of black mud!

  9. Wow! truly unusual! Love it!

  10. Very cool!

  11. Great stuff…

  12. Great one … the point of view is excelent and the way you make it look “turned around” is just amazing

  13. You’re inspiring me to get out my macro lens. Thanks!

  14. Wonderful shot. This is one of those things that I need to try and capture myself! Love the color and mood set by the dark sky.

  15. Odd but cool!

  16. Very cool. I like the way the light gives this ‘landscape’ life.

  17. I can see how this inspired you! Surreal, simple, beautiful …amazing!

  18. hi katies

    i like very much this abstract

    As a photo is a wonder.

    What can be seen in raindrops are fantastic

    I have done several experiences with raindrops reflections as well

    Vey cooll!

    João

    Ps: ty for seeying my blog and done comments

  19. The inversion really does create an interesting effect…
    kind of messes with my mind (in a very good way)!

  20. Love it! Very beautiful…yet simple. Thanks for the inspiration!

  21. This is way cool too!!!

  22. There seems to be a few people focussed on raindrops this week – I have to say they are inspiring to me as well. I love these shots. I might go back and look at some of mine upside down….thanks!

  23. That is very cool…almost looks like the top of an alligator’s tail.

  24. beautiful….

  25. I really like this flipped version, and it does have an alien feel to it 🙂

  26. That looks very interesting! I’m not sure what it looks like, but it looks like something! 😀

  27. This makes a really interesting and cool photo.

  28. Incredible abstract. I love the lighted drop. It looks like a cat’s eye. Simply amazing, Katie! Bravo!

  29. Pretty Cool Katie!! It looks like the top of a “Stealth bomber”!! I like this pic!

  30. Hrm. Neat; funny how such a simple change can totally change the context.

  31. Merry Christmas & all the best for 2012 xx

  32. Great shot Katie.

  33. It almost looks like a tentacle. I think its cause some of them are dark. Very interesting 🙂

  34. I like it! The upside-down perspective changes the way these raindrops look and feel to me. The processing is great! Add another one to your abstract collection! Cheers!

  35. I love it. Very cool perspective and look.

  36. […] from other blogs continues….on her blog, Katie’s Camera Blog (check it out here), Katie Johnson posted a photo upside down. This inspired me to look at some of my raindrops and […]

  37. Amazing shapes in this image. Looks almost like something from outer space or the nodules on a spaceship.

  38. Wow, they look like eyes… especially the center drop.

  39. Definitely looks like an eye from a frog having a sticky beak. Love it when a photo is open to many sorts of interpretation.

  40. Definitely an alien feel about this, it looks like the light one is an entrance to some subterranean world. The dark light makes them look more like oil than raindrops. This is a really great abstract.

  41. Great shot indeed!

  42. Fantastic

  43. This is brilliant Katie! Great idea 😀

  44. I followed your lead and did a post using a photo that I turned upside down (and I linked it to this post). It really is an interesting way to have a second look at photos….

  45. Very cool. It looks like a bug with lots of eyes.

  46. Very cool, and strange. Looks like aliens about to hatch. 🙂

  47. What makes the image a bit creepy is that the middle “eye” and the one on the right have vertical pupils, not round human ones. I liked the stealth bomber suggestion, too!

  48. Without your explanation I would have been able to workout what was going on here Katie.
    I even tried turning my screen upside down!
    Creative, effective, strange and very good job.

  49. This is a fabulous macro. Amazing. Like little alien blobs burbling around the surface of life.

  50. Oh, I love this!! I’m fascinated by water drops, the way they bend and reflect the light. 😀

  51. So cool!! love how one shines over the other

  52. […] took this image on the same day that I took that alien landscape photo in December. I just like this image. The leaf is trapped in jail; destined to stay there until it […]

  53. […] while ago, I posted some abstract rain drop photos that were very popular, so I thought it’s about time to show another rain drop photo; this […]

Leave a Reply

 
