Photography as Abstract – Nature Dressing Up for the Holidays

Here’s another of the abstracts I’ve been doing. If you want to see the other images/posts in the series, please click here and here.

I took this last week on the same day as my lantern photo, that everyone seemed to like.

To me this is evocative of the winter holidays. We have the evergreen, we have it decorated with snow and pinecones that look like little decorations. And I love that they’re hanging downward too.

It’s nature celebrating this natural holiday. 🙂

Shot with my 35-70mm lens at f/2.8.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on December 22, 2011.

79 Responses to “Photography as Abstract – Nature Dressing Up for the Holidays”

  1. dainty!

  2. LOVE this one!

  3. I agree, snow is one of nature’s most beautiful decorations! I just wish we had some over here.

  4. More beautiful than men can ever imitate 🙂

  5. Lovely! And I love your title too! Nature really does seem to be dressing up the cones.

  6. Oooh, what a nice Christmasy photo. I love it. Well done, Katie. 🙂

  7. Tis the season…great catch and well done Katie. A Merry Christmas to you!

  8. Christmasy or what!

  9. Love this one Katie, and I agree, these look great as they are hanging downward. I love the title 😉

    🙂

    On another topic, strange timings, you are checking my posts a day after, because the same day’s post is coming just after you leave my blog. But not a problem, since you are not missing any…! 😉 🙂

    • Thanks, Nandini! Yep, it does seem that right after I leave your blog, you post a new post. 🙂 Strange timing. I guess it’s the global thing, eh?:) Thanks always for your visits and comment. Always appreciate your support, Nandini!

  10. Lovely :)Its like the classic xmas photo. 🙂 Beautifully done as always.

  11. Lovely photo and very nice picture of the season 🙂

    Have a merry christmas full of joy and all the best 🙂

  12. Ah, the trees are all dressed for winter. Beautiful.

  13. So wonderful!!!

  14. Well done Katie!

  15. Those little red “dots” work wonders! Beatiful, Katie. Such a “happy” photo!

  16. Lovely festive image with a great title 🙂 i love how the tiniest bit of snow can hang on to a branch for ages.

  17. These do look festive! I really like the warmth of the background with the cool colors of the subject. Very nice capture!

  18. so pretty! I wish we had snow…
    x

  19. Love the photo.

  20. Beautiful capture, Katie. It is like they are reaching down to earth to touch it with magic.

    Peace on Earth!

  21. Natural ornaments, aren’t they?

  22. I love the way you capture beauty in things that may otherwise go unnoticed…

  23. Thanks for saying hello!
    Ah, such a wintry feel to your photograph. Gets us Texans in the mood for cold days and hot chocolates, and of course, Christmas!

    • Ah, I love Lilly, so I always check in to see what she’s up to, Alicia. 🙂 Ah, glad this puts my neighbors to the south in a mood for cold days, hot chocolate and Christmas! Thanks for the comment! 🙂

  24. Beautiful! By the time the season is over, you’ll have enough gorgeous wintry photos for a side business next year — Katie’s Camera Christmas Cards! I’d buy a box. 🙂

  25. oh, i am loving this…the crispness of the greens, the soft blur behind. a gentle suggestion of nature’s celebrations.

  26. So cool and very Christmassy! love it

  27. Lucky, looks like we aren’t getting a white Christmas here where I’m at lol. Merry Christmas Katie!

  28. oh, cool

  29. happy holidays for you too my dear!

  30. Wonderful photo. It looks very much like Christmas.

  31. Oh Katie, what a beautiful photo for christmas; looks like it could be a christmas card! I love it!

    Your eye and creativity for capturing beautiful images is inspiring

  32. nature does abstract expressionism – love it!

  33. I love this!!! So Wintry.

  34. NICE MOON KATIES

    I HAVE I TELESCOPE I SAW ALL MOUNTAINS OF MOON.

    IS A WONDER TO APLY TO A CAMERA

    I LOVE YOUR PHOTO

    CONGRATULATIONS

    JOÃO

  35. SORRY I DID THE LAST COMMENT IN THE WRONG IMAGE

    I AM COMENTING NOW IN THIS ONE I LIKE A LOT

    IN THE OTHER I COMMENTED ALSO

    I LOVE MACROS WITH DIFUSED BACK GROUND

    BIG EMBRACE

    JOÃO

  36. A very fine composition! Nice.

  37. Wow! Just wow!

  38. Nice photo…I wish to see real snow one day 🙂

  39. Lovely image. Snow really adds to that Christmas atmosphere.
    I’ve only spent one Christmas in the snow and that was in 1978 in the UK. Somehow our Aust. hot summer just doesn’t evoke that same feeling.

  40. That’s lovely. I’ve tried to see it before but my phone wouldn’t load the image, Anyway, I like it. 🙂

  41. Like like like! You have a good eye for little things Katie, you always notice something ordinary eye wouldn’t ! 😀

Leave a Reply

 
