Nice and Normal – Pot in the Snow

Here’s another Nice and Normal photograph. If you’d like, you can see the other images here.

I took this photo the same day as the image of my favorite fairy, which surprises me, as there was no snow on the fairy, but plenty here. I know the fairy faces South, and this pot faces North, which I know explains that but still…. (:

Anyhow, I was walking back home with my dog and my camera when we came upon this pot setting on a wall. I had never noticed it before, but the dark color against the white of the snow caught my eye, and I decided to see if I could get an interesting image.

I like this image with the soft lighting (it was late in the day and overcast), and also the strong lines of the pot against the soft lines of the background. The dark vs. light is interesting also.

I have no idea why that pot was setting there, but I’m glad it was. (:

Shot with my 105mm macro lens at f/3.2.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on December 26, 2011.

56 Responses to “Nice and Normal – Pot in the Snow”

  1. A nice and normal shot, Kaie. Neat snow. 🙂

  2. Untouched snow – soft and neat. Great shot, Katie. 🙂

  3. yes, the dark vs. the light…the strong lines of the pot vs. the soft background…the inherent strength and permanence of the pot vs. the fluid transience of the snow.
    i’m glad the pot was there too…and glad you captured this shot…beautiful.

  4. Love the picture, simple yet relaxing. Nice 🙂
    Oh, and merry Christmas for you 😉

  5. Beautiful. This just fills my morning with winter. 🙂

  6. Nice shot katie!

  7. The snow on the pot’s roof is such a lovely even little cap – a Christmas hat! Have a great Boxing day.

  8. I like the angles in this sHot and the contrasts are great too. Hope you had a great Christmas! We’re having a great twine in Taos! 🙂

  9. Nice shot Katie 🙂

  10. god you make it look so easy 😉

  11. Like the blue tones!

  12. A glimpse into contemplative art….thank you….lovely…

  13. Nice one Katie!!!

  14. HI KATIES
    WONDERFULL PHOTO OF SNOW.
    THA BLUE REFKECTIONS ARE VERY BEAUTIFUL

    CONGRATS!

    JOÃO

    PORTUGAL

  15. Lovely image. I like the contrast.

  16. How pretty the white snow looks against the greenish-blue and red tones. Hmmm… kind of Christmas-y! 🙂

  17. Lovely image – I like the colours (just as much as the composition). I think some of these simple compositions are more interesting that the greatest landscapes. It take’s real skill to do this simple kind of photography – I really like it.

  18. So many beautiful tones of black and white here….lovely work Katie!

  19. I like the paint peeling, it shows its been out there for awhile, braving the elements. 🙂 Nice

  20. [back from a short rest!] I really like your “Nice and Normal” photos. You manage to capture beautiful angles – views – details from everyday images / objects, in such a wonderful way!

  21. Very nice subject focus and blur to the background.

  22. Great one, this one is lovely for the season. Just love the snow surrounding the pot 🙂

  23. Dark and light, hard metal and soft snow, lovely contrasts — a beautifully composed shot!

  24. It’s a great shot… the old pot with the crisp new snow… but to be honest, I’m liking for the SNOW!!! Please share!!! LOL

  25. That’s so cute 🙂 I was hoping for some snow back home, but it was too mild and rainy instead… 🙂

  26. So pretty…..and cosy. great shot.

  27. I like the color combination of this photo.

  28. simply awesome

Leave a Reply

 
