Portrait of a Leaf – 1 – Leaf, Shapes, Lines, Textures

I love trees and their leaves, and recently as I’m looking for subjects to photograph, I’ve noticed leaves in their fallen state. I’ve started to look for interesting compositions with them, and so starts a new series – “Portrait of a Leaf.”

Leaves naturally have shapes that attract my eye and this leaf, although simple, caught my attention with its placement. I like this image for the lines and textures, and the leaf at one end and that blue-grey rock at the other.  My eye just likes it. (:

Shot with my 105mm macro lens at f/3.2.

Image Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on December 30, 2011.

76 Responses to “Portrait of a Leaf – 1 – Leaf, Shapes, Lines, Textures”

  1. I really liked this small leaf. What a nice textured background, which enhances its shape even more. Very nice, Katie. πŸ™‚

  2. I like it as well Katie. There are some nice blue tint in the piece.

  3. Beautiful in simplicity.

  4. pure illustration that art is everywhere.

  5. I like this too Katie. It’s simple but an interesting composition. My eye wanders through out the photo.

  6. Katie – I enjoy the different views you have on things! I’m new to this blogging community and you have inspired me to keep posting. I’m not sure if you’ve already received this or not but I would like to include you on my nomination list for “Versatile Blogger Award”. I haven’t officially posted it yet, but you were the first blogger to pop in my mind. Thanks again for all your encouragement from the get go and keep up the wonderful posts.

  7. Great composition, love it!

  8. Wow, I do like this combination!

  9. I love this one Katie. I can see many aspects too: the contrast of the blue stone is beautiful, and if you turned the picture around you have the leaf decorating a cross!

  10. Great picture– love the colors and the composition.

  11. Dear Katie, I know, this is my fault that I noticed today that you have another blog too. How much I loved you once again, oh, Katie, you should have been here or I should have been there… You are so nice… I saw your photographs with your lovely visitors… I am so emotional one… Blessing and Happiness for you dear. And yes, your photograph… What a great image you captured, the leaf and the blue stone… amazing. Thank you, with my love, nia

  12. Beautiful!

  13. Oh, Katie! This is beautiful. I love the blue stone on the left. I am fascinated with leaves. When I was 10 and first got glasses I realized that I could see the individual leaves on trees. I’ve been looking at them ever since. Don’t know if you saw it, but here is my ode to leaves in all their majestic color in the fall: http://fourdeeroak.wordpress.com/2011/11/17/you-never-know-what-you-might-find/

  14. fantastic shot Katie!!

  15. I want a giant poster of this to hang somewhere in my house. It’s great!

  16. Beautiful! This is a wonderful composition, Katie. I love the sense of solidarity of all the elements of design and nature.

  17. …and quite rightly so [your eye likes it!] Perfect frame. This leaf lays there so comfortably!

  18. I like this idea a lot.

  19. I like it, too.

  20. great idea, be interesting to see how it works out πŸ™‚

  21. Lovely composition! I love leaves as well and can’t wait to see the shots in this series! : )

  22. that is a very good framing and choice of subject. the bluish rock and the leaf counter balance each other very well.
    (if i had to be nit picky, i would only wish that the pebbles and dirt in the crevasse would smoothen or vanish but that would be wishful thinking i guess :))

    • Ah, go head and be nit picky. πŸ™‚ I actually like the pebbles, etc. in the crevasse. It adds to the textures and since this is a “portrait of a leaf” I wanted to have the leaf in it’s natural habitat. That’s how my eye sees it.

      Thanks for your comment. Makes me think more about why I do things, which is good. πŸ™‚

  23. I cannot wait to see more of your new series. This image is very “southwestern-like.” Was the turquoise stone really there? It’s simple and eloquent all at once. I wanted to make a suggestion, which will take a bit of an explanation. Since you are setting out to add leaf images to your oeuvre, I thought that you might do as I did November 2010. I submitted a photograph of a leaf to the National Geographic Magazine’s Your Shot website, and shockingly was selected by the editor and the public for the Daily Dozen and Weekly Wrapper. You can see the photograph on my blog. It’s posted with my first ever posts on 24 March 2011. It’s called “Autumn’s Spirit” and the post is dated 10 February 2011. Obviously, you can submit any photograph. I took a chance, encouraged by friends. So I wanted to do the same to you. After you read the post, where you will find the web address, let me know if you are inclined to take a chance. I believe that you cannot submit an image that has been published anywhere else. That’s why I gave credit to the National Geographic when I posted “Autumn’s Spirit” months later. I must say that the images submitted are really worth perusing the website. They are from all over the world and quite awe-inspiiring. Talk to you in the new year, Sally

  24. such perfection and perfect guidelines with a lost leaf πŸ™‚ great shot.

  25. Lovely shot- not only because I like leaves but I have a thing for stones… in fact I collect them!!

  26. I really enjoy your photo blog. I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! Thanks for sharing your stories and pictures! http://frommomentstomemories.wordpress.com/2011/12/30/nominated-for-versatile-blogger-award/

  27. What an eye you have! I love the textures.

  28. I look forward to your future portraits, this is wonderful!

  29. Stunning Katie! I cant wait to see more!
    Happy new year!

  30. Simplicity is beautiful, just like this picture. Love it, Katie! πŸ™‚

  31. I just love that, seeing great compositions in the small that have occurred naturally πŸ™‚

  32. I love the simplicity !

  33. how lovely, the leaf seemed like an accesory of a wrapping gift. Your talent of spotting things to capture is really remarkable

  34. Very nice. The strong lines and organic shape of the leaf make for a great image. Well done.

  35. Small things become so beautiful through the camera! I especially like the background πŸ™‚ Very clever picture πŸ™‚

  36. […] was so pleased that my first portrait of a leaf was so well received, as I really like these photos (so thank you everyone! ), and I wanted to show […]

  37. This is lovely, so simple and zenlike.

  38. That is a really good one for textures and lines. Well noticed and photoed! πŸ™‚ Yeah the contrast of textures is very strong, and the lines and how the leaf landed only add to the composition. Makes me want to take my camera out and start looking for things like this. I’m sure you won’t try to ‘talk me down’ from that idea… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
