A Simple Pretty Flower for a Sunday – 14 – Happy New Year!

Here’s the fourteenth installment of “A Simple Pretty Flower for a Sunday.” If you’d like, you can view all the earlier Sunday flower images/posts on this page.

First — Happy New Year! 🙂

My wish for the new year is that the creativity in my photography continues to develop in new ways and leads me to additional avenues for exposure and compensation. And I hope I can make some art along the way. (:

This current creative process started again for me with this simple flower photograph. I took this image a few years ago, when I was in a friend’s yard, just with my camera and seeing what my eye could see.

This photo became a seed in my brain that said my photography could be more than just a pretty photo; that it could be creative too. And it was so easy for me and so much fun; I felt like a kid again.

And so to you, I hope that 2012 fulfills some long-held dreams for you, and that it is also a seed for new things. The best of the year to everyone! Happy New Year’s Day!

Shot with my 105mm macro lens at f/3.5.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on January 1, 2012.

96 Responses to “A Simple Pretty Flower for a Sunday – 14 – Happy New Year!”

  1. Happy new year full of beautiful pictures !!

  2. Happy New Year’s Day, Katie! (And readers of your blog!). I love the idea of a seed thought..and bringing dreams to life. What a beautiful shot. It reminds me of a tiny sunflower. I look forward to your 2012 posts!

  3. Happy New Year too Katie! An keep on this great work!
    Greetings
    xandi

  4. Here’s to being a kid again…! I believe artistic expression is the true path to opening up joy and the innocence of childhood.

    Wishing you continued success and happy blogging for 2012.

    Ant
    (The “Art Pants” Artist)

  5. Happy new year , looking forward to your photo,s and ideas

  6. Beautiful yellow. Very pretty and surely creative. 🙂

    Happy New Year to you too. I always look forward to your photos, and you know it too. 🙂

  7. Happy new year and thank you for sharing your great picture with us! 🙂

  8. happy new year…may your year be filled with fun and creative photos!

  9. Awesome POV on this flower!!!

  10. Happy 2012. 🙂 Playing is fun, creativity is essential and I am sure you will do both this coming year 🙂

  11. Beautiful!

  12. A beautiful start to the New Year! Hope 2011 went out on a good note for you, Katie, and that 2012 is ringing in well too! Just getting back into the swing of things after returning from my trip, trying to catch up. Love all the beautiful photos you posted while I was away – a fine selection!

  13. Cool shot!

  14. Great shot!!! 🙂
    Happy New Year to you too!
    xxxx
    ~Sophia

  15. Happy New Year! I like your interesting depth of field on this shot.

  16. Happy New Year Katie.. I look forward to continuing to enjoy following your blog in 2012 🙂

  17. Wow that’s stunning! Have a wonderful new year, I look forward to seeing what beautiful pictures you have in store!

  18. Happy New Year Katie. Here’s to seeds in 2012.

  19. I love the depth of field in this. Beautiful shot. Lovely colors.

  20. Beautiful, Katie. I love the appearance of the petals in motion, like the wind is touching and moving them. If fits your concept because seeds growing, creativity, is in motion in our lives as it develops and blossoms.

    Thank you for sharing this. All the best to you in 2012.

    Peace

  21. Happy New Year to you and your family – and thanks for your inspirations here in 2011!

  22. Prett Flower Sunday’s are my favorite!

  23. Happy New Year to you Katie !!! Love this “the creativity in my photography continues to develop in new ways and leads me to additional avenues for exposure and compensation”
    All the best for a great 2012 and beyond!

  24. Happy New Year! Katie! cheers to lots of great images to find. 🙂

  25. Lovely flower and colours 🙂

  26. oh pretty

  27. Nice Inspiration!! Just don’t stop shooting!!

  28. Happy new year my friend. Thanks for all your comments and support. I am thoroughly looking forward to seeing what you post in 2012. Peace.

  29. Happy New Year and good luck on your journey of discovery

  30. What a nice way to kick off the New Year!
    Wishing you all the best in 2012, Katie!
    🙂

  31. first, Happy new year Katie. hope you can develop your creativity to no end 🙂

    second, that’s a beautiful shot of a beautiful flower. It’s nice to know the story of your inspiration

  32. gorgeous photo Katie, all the best for 2012, i look forward to enjoying your photography

  33. Wow! Great!!!

  34. Beautiful!

  35. Wow, beautiful photo!

  36. You always carried me into a beautiful worlds through your photographs… Sometimes they were so inspirational, sometimes they were like a wisely talking pieces… But they were all so artistic and so beautiful… Thank you dear Katie, another amazing shot! Fascinated me. Happy New year, with my love, nia

  37. Hi Katie
    Another lovely post…
    Based pretty much on your inspiration my own ‘postaday’ style blog is now up and running…(well limping really but it’s early days).
    Keep up the great blogging on 2012.
    Happy new year
    Stuart

  38. hi katie
    Wonderful flower is that one
    i love the macro you have done
    A wonderful gift for 2012

    Congrats
    big embrace
    joão
    PORTUGAL

  39. I love the unique focus of this. It’s almost like this flower has a secret. I don’t know what makes me say that, but there’s something about that dark little center that has a sense of mystery. Great shot! Happy New Year, Katie. 🙂

  40. Hmmm…a flower that looks as if it’s shy, but it’s about to POP and become even more wonderful. What a great choice for the new year! 🙂

  41. Beautiful, Katie! Just like 2012! Happy New Year!

  42. Great macro shot!

  43. Happy New Year! 🙂 I never get board of your Sunday flowers, they all are so unique!

  44. Nicely done! It can be difficult to get the right focus on flower shots.

    • I agree on the focus, especially with a macro. I love this one with the very shallow DOF. For me, it took it above just a normal photo of a flower. Thanks for your comment, Shannon!

  45. Happy New Year to you too! This is definitely an arresting shot–lovely & with feeling

  46. Happy New Year Katie! I’ve been very busy recently and won’t be able to post — or check in — as often for a while, but I’ll hopefully manage a catch up every few days or so. Love the flower — what a great story about how it was the beginning of your current creative process. It’s always interesting to go back and remind ourselves of those things that were our inspirational seeds 🙂

    • Welcome back, Mufidah! Hope all is well your way! And thanks for the comment on this post. 🙂 I should probably print this photo huge and hang it in my home. 🙂 Reminders are always good!

  47. Now that is an interesting photo. A not so simple flower really, the way the petals curl up towards the lens and get a little foreshortened blur. Focusing on the tiny leaves behind the flower and blurring the petals a bit really makes the photo a lot more interesting imo. Well done!

    • Thanks, Zorgor! I focused on the center of the flower, and because some of the petals and the tiny green leaves were level with the focus point, they were in focus too, but that left all the rest out of focus. Pretty neat that the lens did that. 🙂

  48. I really like your work, The door knob especially is very interesting.

Leave a Reply

 
