Photography as Abstract – Vertical Lines and Depth and Color

Here’s another of the abstracts I’ve been doing. Hope you like it. (:  If you want to see the other images/posts in the series, please click here and here.

This is a simple photo with a fence, greenery and the sky that I took in October when things were still green. I was really happy with the interesting abstracts I achieved from this scene, and this is the one I’m showing you today.

I just like the image. I like those powerful white vertical lines, and the subtlety and depth of color in the green. I did flip this photo upside down, as I thought it was just more interesting to my eye that way (Zorgor –his blog here — will understand (: ).

Shot with my 35-70  lens at f/22 and a shutter speed of 1/15, while I moved the camera in an upward motion.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on January 4, 2012.

72 Responses to “Photography as Abstract – Vertical Lines and Depth and Color”

  1. Very cool! Love the movement in this one! Great capture, Katie!!

  2. Great lines, the colours are amazing and the way they are distributed is amazing 🙂 Excelent job indeed.

  3. Oh very abstract…this could easily be a conversation piece on whether it’s a painting or photograph. Beautifully executed in my eyes.

  4. Abstracts are to-die-for! I find myself lost in them, trying to puzzle them out and taking meaning from them. This one reminds me of a silver forest where I find myself wandering into the depths and feeling a sense of calmness around me as I turn the next bend.

    • Ah, thank you so much, Dezra. I’m so glad you like this abstract and abstracts in general. I love them! 🙂 I love your forest comment also. Thank you. And thanks so much for visiting my blog. 🙂

  5. I absolutely love the green colour! It’s interesting to see your way of playing with photography 😀

  6. Yes! the green definitely gives it a 3D effect (or depth). It’s wonderful what a camera can do, isn’t it? Good job, Katie, and great that you shared this one. 🙂 A perfect abstract. 🙂

  7. scallion stalactites!

  8. I am not sure how you did this, but I really like it. It makes me want to do some experimenting.

  9. This is a cool shot Katie and thanks for sharing that link the artwork there is wonderful. The contrast and movement from the deep green to white white gives it a neat 3d effect. Love it Katie!

  10. Nice 🙂

  11. Another “WHOA!!” shot! I love this! It’s like I’m standing under a superfast waterfall, with beautiful rocks and ferns around me…It’s amazing!

  12. different as always,,, excellent

  13. Wonderful image… colours running… Thank you dear Katie, with my love, nia

  14. Oh wow. That one is really good Katie! Yeah, the green and the white are really vibrant and striking!

    But what is the thing in the middle? 🙂 Even picturing it upside down, I think it’s a candle in a candlestick? But that would be out of place in an outdoor scene…

    Thanks again for the link! 🙂

  15. Hey this is cool…you have done some really great shots with the camera movement technique! Good going Katie!!!

  16. Very nice Katie, I like the feeling of depth you get from the darker areas. and the composition is stellar!

  17. I feel as if I could walk into each of those streams of light and into a different reality for each. Like stepping into parallel lives. Very impressive photograph, Katie.

    Peace

  18. Great lines and colour. I’ve used this technique often, and I’m often pleasantly surprised by the effects. This is a wonderful piece of work.

  19. Great photo. Am wondering how you moved the camera when taking the shot. Up and Down or Side to Side?

  20. I like that you flipped it.

  21. Warp speed! lol. 🙂 I always love the abstract lines and stuff. Its neat to see.

  22. I love the strong white verticals too, with the splashes of color all around them. Great effect.

  23. Good for you!

  24. Very cool image! It makes me think of a fun house somehow…I mean that in a good way. 🙂

  25. Flipping it works really well! Brilliant green rain, Katie!

  26. As you already know I love images that show camera movement. Excellent abstract. Beautifully done.

  27. I love abstract photography as well, especially of nature. Great shot!

  28. Oh this is a fun image!

  29. Well done, Katie! I love how you made the green pop more by flipping it upside down.

  30. Very cool, Katie…
    for some reason it brought to mind tropical waterfalls plunging into a misty pool. I’d probably see something completely different the next time I looked at it, but whatever that is/was, you’ve created a lovely abstract here, Katie!
    🙂

  31. Abstracts are almost like another world trapped within our own that we get glimpses into.

  32. It’s great fun to play with the panning effects. This is a nice abstract 🙂

  33. Ah, I have a few like this! You’ve managed to get good depth in this one 🙂

  34. I see a jungle there 🙂

  35. Really like this. I think we’ve lost something in the obsession with stillness in photographs – in a way, it’s taking a dimension out of it.

  36. Amazing how just taking a camera and trying something different to what we have been taught produces something visually stimulating and unique! All too often photographers stick to the rules made by “whoever” and the results are monotonous as the images stick to the righteous path rather than branch out on a journey of discovery….
    Well done!

    • Thanks, John! I agree. I’m really trying to follow what my eye wants to see and to get more creative, so I was doing these types of images. Still trying to get photos that look good though too. 🙂 Thanks so much for your comment and visiting my blog. 🙂

  37. […] is a different take on the same subject that I posted a while ago here. People really liked that one, so I decided to post another one taken with different camera […]

Leave a Reply

 
