Nice and Normal – A Light Fixture – Shapes, Textures, Lines

Here’s another of those Nice and Normal photographs. If you’d like, you can see the other images here.

I was out last week looking for interesting things to shoot with my long lens (70-200mm f/2.8). This lens changes the way I look at things, as it has more reach, and yet I can’t shoot as closely to an object as I generally like to. It’s a fantastic lens though and just fun to shoot with.

I took this photo of a light fixture on a bank building here in town. The building is unusual here in Santa Fe, as it’s a more contemporary type of building. You can see these type of buildings in the Railyard area, but for the most part they are not part of Santa Fe.

My photography centers upon shapes and lines and textures, and when I saw this light fixture against the textured wall with the lines, I knew it was a shot for my long lens. As much as I like old things in my photography, I really enjoy these more contemporary type of photos also.

Shot with my 70-200mm lens at f/4.5.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on January 9, 2012.

99 Responses to “Nice and Normal – A Light Fixture – Shapes, Textures, Lines”

  1. Katie, I really like the monochromatic effect, and the hues do give it a subtle antique coloration. Nicely done, Sally

  2. Great photo, Katie. Evenly balanced and exposed. 🙂

  3. This is really nice, Katie! I like the texture, lines, and brown tones.

  4. Very pleasing composition and symmetry here Katie. I very much like the bold lines and the tones and textures of the masonry.

  5. Realy like this one…
    Great shapes and tone …
    Stuart

  6. …and geometry. Nice shot.

  7. Nice exposure is very fitting…the exposure mingles perfectly with the colour, lines, texture and shapes.

    Beautiful!

  8. Very nice!

  9. I like the balance and symmetry.. very nice !!

  10. Beautiful. Simplicity has such impact. And the colour reminds me of the door I liked so much a few posts ago!

  11. A good use of a long lens, and a nice abstraction to show for it. Happy bilateral symmetry to you, says the eternal math teacher.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

  12. Wonderful….You captured so nicely with the light and the colours… Normally maybe we wouldn’t notice this but with your amazing camera how becomes an artistic image… Thank you dear Katie, you always impress me… with my love, nia

  13. Ooo I really like the composition and light in this one Katie 🙂 Well done!

  14. good eye, Katie. i like the idea of really seeing using the benefits or features of the particular lens. i like the contrast between the texture of the wall and smoothnes of the lamp.

  15. lovely composition. I love the way you see beauty in normal day to day things.

  16. I like the composition. Seems that others do too! 🙂

  17. 70-200mm f/2.8 !! I’m so jealous !! My equivalent lens is only an f/4.0 and I have to fight with it at low light !!
    Very nice picture !!

  18. I’m a big fan of creating art from simple objects. I like the symmetry and clean lines in this photograph. Very pleasing to look at.

  19. Very precise work … you call it nice and normal — a static yet sophisticated composition, I think … I draw my hat: Chapeau!

  20. I like to look for shapes and textures, too.
    This is pretty, but I agree that it could be anywhere.

  21. absolutely wonderful shot Katie 😉

  22. Love it! Fantastic textures and lines and such fab composition. Love the color tones too.

  23. LOVE this, Ms. J…
    stunning composition…
    great textures and warmth…
    and so elegant in its ‘simplicity’!
    Very cool!
    🙂

  24. I love industrial looking fixtures. I like the angle in which you’ve captured it in the photo. Compliments the lines.

  25. Nice idea – and composition 🙂

  26. Love the textures, and that colour is gorgeous.

  27. great photo, as always 😀

  28. Very cool; the lines are excellent! way to go Katie!!

  29. Love how clear looking the lamp is.

  30. I do like simple the zen is very peaceful.

  31. Love the symmetry of this composition. Works really well

  32. I LOVE your photos … exactly the style I like! You are great inspiration! Thank you for stopping by my blog! 🙂

  33. I love how you framed this picture, Katie! The monochromatic colors and the symmetry of the shapes and lines is fantastic! : )

  34. Perfect lighting for this! Wonderful combination of textures, shapes, and color.

  35. Really REALLY like this!

  36. I really love the symmetry of this! Would look awesome as a piece of art in someone’s home!

  37. Wow, the light in this photo is lovely! Beautiful, Katie!

  38. Lovely work, Katie! I look forward to working my way through your previous posts and seeing what you post next. Keep up the good work!

  39. Perfect composition, Katie. I like every detail in this…

  40. I just loved the symmetry in this photo. I’m sure it was intentional, it makes this photo even more fascinating. I loved the color(s) too. Interesting lamp. 🙂

  41. Very nice… I like this! 🙂

  42. Great composition and I like the monocrhamatic look. super photo Katie!

  43. Very nice, Katie! I like your framing and the play of lines on the image.

  44. I love the geometric elements in this! Beautiful photo Katie!

  45. Beautiful. Great color.

  46. Love the photo, colours nice and rounded too

  47. U nailed this; even tho it has a contemporary style, the shades of color add a rustic feel. I worked in lighting for about 3 years, and this fixture brings me back! Nice clean shot.. i’d like to invest in a long lens at some pt soon (is urs telescopic? I dont kno much about them -yet!)

    • Thanks so much for your take on this! Truly! As to a long lens. Mine is the Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8 VR lens. It’s the older Nikon Lens. It is a telephoto zoom lens, so yes, telescopic. It’s a big and heavy lens though, and expensive (a pro lens), but it is a fantastic lens for what it does. It’s a seriously great lens that I don’t use enough. 🙂

  48. Awesome composition and subject matter… I love how you see the attractiveness and beauty in simple things we often overlook.

  49. Lovely pic Katie 🙂
    I love the symmetry

  50. Excellent composition, lines and gritty textures! I dunno though, it looks more ‘old’ than contemporary to me, maybe just not ‘Santa Fe old’… Maybe more ‘1930s in New York’ old, or ‘Long long time ago in a galaxy far far away on Tatooine’ old… 🙂

  51. The colours and structure makes this a beautiful picture.

  52. […] it seems. Something about their shapes attracts me. This is the second one I’ve shown lately. The first one was centered on shapes, lines and textures, and this one is more about the […]

Leave a Reply

 
