Portrait of a Leaf – 4 – Pine Needles in Snow

Time for another portrait of a leaf. If you’d like to see the other portraits of leaves, you can see them here “Portrait of a Leaf.”

This is actually pine needles, so not a normal leaf, but still a leaf. (:

When I was walking around in December after a snow, I came to a place that was covered with dropped pine needles, and so I decided to see if there was something interesting to shoot for my series of leaf portraits.

I saw this grouping, and I thought it looked elegant, so I tried to capture that in a simple way.

——–

I’m at my destination, but I am still very busy, and the Internet connection is on the slow side, so I’ll try to catch up with everyone soon. Thanks everyone for still visiting my blog and liking and making comments. Truly appreciate it!

Shot with my 105mm macro lens at f/5.0.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on January 19, 2012.

90 Responses to “Portrait of a Leaf – 4 – Pine Needles in Snow”

  1. Gently nestled in the snow…

  2. Nice and unusal photos , colours are really nice Joe

  3. Lovely!

  4. This is so beautiful in its simplicity, like calligraphy. Very graceful.

  5. Simple is so often beautiful, isn’t it?

  6. how graceful!

  7. Oh this is a great photo Katie. I love the easiness and simplicity of it.

  8. When I read the title in my e-mail box, I know, this should be amazing shot, more than what the title says… And yes, I am right again. You are amazing dear Katie. With this natural object, you created such a nice artistic image… It almost gives me a kind of Japanese art touches… Like a hauki touches within photograph. I try to imagine Basho’s feelings if he were here and read and watched us. Thank you, Have a nice and enjoyable day, with my love, nia

  9. What a perfection in the snow background and great positioning of the leaf 🙂 I like it a lot.

  10. Simple. Lovely.

  11. Graceful in its simplicity. I envision a ballerina en pointe arched with her hands raised.

  12. Very nice, Katie, very nice. 🙂

  13. So graceful…

  14. Simple, yet elegant. Very nice! 🙂

  15. A nice subject Katie 🙂

  16. the grace found in nature is beautiful. good eye.

  17. Very cool lines to this image, simple yet elegant. Nice work Katie!

  18. Balletic…(is that a word?)
    😉

  19. lyrical…love the symplicity. thought of the curly theme that you did with the macro shot of one of the plants you took-keep up the great work, Katie! Jane

  20. What a beautiful, simple image! 🙂

  21. wonderful minimalism

  22. Love the simplicity in this! just lovely. 🙂

  23. Not to be redundant, but you have a very nice graphic here.

  24. It reminds me of a ballerina. Very lovely!

  25. So very elegant… great capture Katie..

  26. Beautiful minimalism with a graceful simplicity.

  27. Very beautiful shot! I love that you see in such a “macro” way. I have loved finding your blog!

  28. Great shot! I like the shapes of the needles.

  29. very cute :o)

  30. Very simple contrast against the pure white snow. Love the top edge of one of the needles – how it’s slightly buried under the snow.

  31. This is simple and elegant. I like it!

  32. The curves in this photo make this a very graceful picture. I love it against the snow background.

  33. Excellent Katie!

  34. So simple, yet so complex. I love it!

  35. simple 🙂

  36. It doesn’t even look like it is in the snow. As if it’s flowing in whitish ember. Great shot. 🙂

  37. I love these. This series is so fun – this might be my favorite of the leaf portraits so far.

  38. Loely, such a clean shot 🙂

  39. Love this Katie…it’s very Zen-like!

  40. Very nice! Minimalist elegance!

  41. As simple as it gets! Beautiful seen, Katie!
    By the way: Did you see my portrait of a leaf:
    http://truels.wordpress.com/2011/08/19/heart-leaf/

  42. Simple, elegant and interesting all at once. A beautiful image, Katie!

  43. So simple and elegant, Katie.

  44. If I don’t read your explanation,I wouldn’t know 😉
    Nice shot Aunt Katie

Leave a Reply

 
