Portrait of a Leaf – 5 – Jailed

Time for another portrait of a leaf. If you’d like to see the other portraits of leaves, you can see them here “Portrait of a Leaf.”

I took this image on the same day that I took that alien landscape photo in December. I just like this image. The leaf is trapped in jail; destined to stay there until it finally decomposes enough to fall away. I wouldn’t be surprised to still see him there when I get back to Santa Fe.

I like that the fencing is darkened due to the rain; it gives it a nice color. The rain also provides texture in the leaf. And then the fencing provides strong lines and shapes which counter the more graceful shape of the leaf and the curve of the stem. I like that the leaf is starting to disintegrate; he’s not perfect and that’s life.

Shot with my 105mm macro lens at f/3.2.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on January 24, 2012.

82 Responses to “Portrait of a Leaf – 5 – Jailed”

  1. Do you know, how exciting to follow your titles… I don’t have any idea what will be in your photograph… A leaf and jailed… You are amazing, I loved it of course, your photography always fascinates me. Thank you dear Katie, have a nice day, with my love, nia

  2. Love it!!!! “Book him, Danno!” (You have to be of a “certain age” to get my Hawaii – Five – 0 reference!! Great picture, Katie.

  3. Fantastic 🙂 Love the jail look that you got there, being the leaf tangled in the wire. Great one

  4. Love your images and the fact that you often take images of natural occurrences that are so easy to overlook. Feel inspired!

  5. He’s not only in jail – it looks like he’s tied down!

  6. Aha! Floral incarceration.

  7. Okay, After seeing this I’m ready to start the “FREE THE LEAF FUND” 😉 Great capture.

  8. “Let me outta here, warden!” 🙂

  9. Ah…the poor guy!

  10. 🙂 nice. I like the contrast of colours and shapes.

  11. Nice one Katie

  12. Very strong work Katie! I really (really) like this one. ~ Red

  13. There is a conspiracy here! Things keep posing just for you …or as I’ve told you many times, you have a gifted vision! The dark, almost black fence gives life to this leaf! I love this, Katie.

  14. Poor! I hope you helped him to escape 😀 Lovely shot 🙂

  15. Very nice!

  16. Leaves can tell amazing stories. Yotaki

  17. The title says it all!

  18. Simple and beautiful. Love it! 🙂

  19. It wasn’t me I tell ya! It wasn’t me!

  20. The patterning in the leaf is very similar to the pattern in the fence. I also like the neutral colors together. Great Photo.

  21. I really like this one, with the details on the leaf. The colours of the leaf and the fence go great together 🙂

  22. Katie,

    I love your leaf collection…! It really brings out the childlike-eye us adults really need to hone more. This is one of your cutest ones yet.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Ant :c)

    PS – I think you’ll get a real ‘kick’ out of my photo post for Wednesday… hehehe

  23. greta photo Katie, excellent!!!

  24. where do you get your ideas from…excellent..

  25. I love this one Katie…it’s kinda dark, but so clear. Great shot.

  26. love this shot katie, very thought provoking

  27. Another lovely capture by you! Amazing how these leaves seem to just get caught up in the strangest of places.

  28. Great capture..in every sense of the word 🙂

  29. Very cool. Love your leaf series!

  30. I like this composition, Katie. And the colours. I love how things change colour, or at the very least, tone when wet. There’s a particular rree that I’m waiting to see wet again – the bark becomes quute vivid yellow, red and green.

  31. I hate when this happens!! LOL!!

  32. Perfectly titled. You have done a great job on this blog. Congratulations on all your followers!

  33. Love this! Very clever!

  34. Lovely, it looks captured and caged.

  35. Hi,

    Really enjoy your blog and your images 🙂

    Just to let you know I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. You can find out more here http://benlowephotography.wordpress.com/2012/01/25/versatile-blogger-award/

    Ben

  36. Great shot! I love that this one seems to tell a story.

  37. Nice subject and wonderful framing here BUT small crit…your horizontals are slightly off. In something this tight, they need to be perfectly level. JMHO 😉

  38. Nice capture, Katie!

  39. Yo! Free the leaf!! Imprisoned for a crime he did not commit!

    Leaf! Leaf! Leaf! Leaf! Leaf!!

    Ahem, great photo too!

  40. Great theme, Katie! 🙂

  41. Lovely photo, Katie. I just wonder…what did this little leaf do to end up in jail? 😉

  42. Poor leaf, great shot!! 🙂

  43. Spectacular capture, Katie…
    feels like a great moment that might end with the next great gust of wind
    (and kind of makes me wonder how long that leaf has managed to hang on, too)!
    🙂

  44. Loved this photo, Katie! The two major colors in this photo look great together. 🙂

  45. Awesome shot and perfect title!

Leave a Reply

 
