Nice and Normal – Light Fixtures are Cool

Here’s another of those Nice and Normal photographs. If you’d like, you can see the other images here.

I seem to be drawn to light fixtures it seems. Something about their shapes attracts me. This is the second one I’ve shown lately. The first one was centered on shapes, lines and textures, and this one is more about the curves.

There’s a set of three of these lamps on a building a bit down the road from me. It needs to be rented, as a lot of the commercial buildings around Santa Fe do. I walk by this building every once in a while, and I always notice these lamps. They are so simple, as is the Santa Fe way, but elegant also. So I shot the photo to capture the curve and shape of the lamp and only that.

Shot with my 105 mm lens at f/3.2.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on January 25, 2012.

30 Responses to “Nice and Normal – Light Fixtures are Cool”

  1. Very beautiful shapes and colour contrast.

  2. Love the contrast! 🙂

  3. Very nicely done… love the colours and shape… and the “cut” that you gave to the “arm” that holds the lamp 🙂

  4. Beautiful, clean brown against the sky! Nice frame, Katie.

  5. I like the angle of this one

  6. older designs have a grace and beauty seldom matched today, I also like the goodeneck, simple and elegant

  7. Love the composition here, with bits of the light waxing in and out of the photo!

  8. I like the comp in this Katie 🙂 Nice!

  9. I love your “nice and normal” shots because they are usually not normal. They are unique! 🙂

  10. I love these old light fixtures. Great shot.

  11. I like how my eye follows the curve to the light fixture at the end.

  12. I love the simplicity of this.

  13. This certainly captures my attention.

  14. Nice!

  15. I like that you suss out WHY you are drawn to an image. This lamp IS elegant!

  16. Great shape, great contrasts and great composition!

  17. Very nice, Katie! Liking the composition too!

  18. Thats an interesting street light. A little bit more vintage feeling then your normal one. 🙂 great shot

  19. Wow I like this shot! Kind of makes me think of Disney Land I shot a lamp while waiting in line for Big Thunder Mountain.

  20. Nothing normal about this. Fantastic eye for design!

  21. Simply beautiful! 🙂

  22. I love the way you make everyday objects unique and eye-catching. I love the slanted crop of this! 🙂

  23. oh yes!like the crop you chose on this…:)

  24. A new take on an “angle poise lamp”!! And it’s that shade of brown again!!… Lights are the dreaming symbol for guidance…Lovely simple (but effective) shot.

  25. I really like the angle, it makes it more than just a lamp. The curve is cut off but it makes it even better.

  26. Hi Katie – What is it about light fittings that we find so fascinating? It is really strange but I have come across so many people who notice and comment on them! I just love them – primarily because the ones we notice tend to be ‘artworks’ in themselves; with great design, including simple or complex shape, unusual style, varied materials and colour!

    Cheers

    John

  27. enjoying this…i like light fixtures too!

  28. I love the way you take an ordinary object and set up the shot so it becomes a work of art. Just super.

  29. I always enjoy your latest photographs in your blog. I see many old and decrepit fixtures here in the city. Art within themselves.

  30. Nice and neat. I love that you have chosen the sky as background. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
