Photography as Abstract – Lines this Way and that with Shadows and Light

Here’s another of the abstracts I’ve been doing. If you want to see the other images/posts in the series, please click here and here.

Ryan over at the Lifeasgood blog (he has a talent for writing haiku that so simply and poetically captures life, and he also does some wonderful mythic art) recently said he loved my experiments in abstracts, so I thought I’d post another one.

This is a different take on the same subject that I posted a while ago here. People really liked that one, so I decided to post another one taken with different camera movement to show how you can get different effects.

As with the last one, this is a simple photo with a fence, greenery and the house in the background. I liked the other one, but this one intrigues me also. Instead of an upward motion with the camera, I moved the camera diagonally. This gave the photo diagonal lines, but kept the vertical and horizontal lines of the wooden fence. The shadow and light play are interesting and I love the greenery and fall colors too.

Shot with my 35-70mm lens at f/22 and a shutter speed of 1/13, while I moved the camera in a diagonal motion.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on January 26, 2012.

32 Responses to “Photography as Abstract – Lines this Way and that with Shadows and Light”

  1. Oh, I do love them – and this is no exception. The colors and lines on this are amazing. The thing that’s so special about your abstracts is that they are so original. I’m enthralled by the form and sense of play that creates these interesting shots. Here, the mundane becomes transformed into an object of beauty and movement.

    Thanks for the mention, major hugs.

  2. Very cool movement. I especially like the bold horizontal that slices through the image near the bottom. Well done.

  3. Nice dynamic diagonals

  4. Another great abstract. I’m particularly drawn to what I see as conflict between stationary and movement. It’s almost as though two forces are working here.
    I also like the bold Horizontal near the bottom of the image – it’s really adds something to the whole composition.

  5. Great way the lines lead our eyes 🙂 and fantastic colour mix

  6. I can’t wait to give it a try. Great photo!

  7. It looks like it has a reflection. Pretty neat. I also like how it has those blocks in it.. for some reason it reminds me of a quilt.

  8. Great abstract! Love the sharpness of the lines, and the green colors. Calming amidst chaos!

  9. Cool stuff Katie 🙂

  10. Love it!

  11. I am trying to think how you did this.
    It is really neat.

  12. Very cool Katie and I love the movement!!

  13. I just love this! It’s like rain of colour coming through my window!

  14. This did make an interesting photo.

  15. great photo Katie, wonderful and really abstract!
    xandi

  16. Almost Cubist, and certainly emotionally mysterious, really nice Katie, Sally

  17. I love the colors in this one! An exciting photograph. Well captured, Katie! 🙂

  18. I love the color and angularity wonderful

  19. I like this a lot and, normally I’m not fond of abstracts. 🙂

  20. An extremely beautiful image, absolutely perfect.
    LoveITloveITloveIT.

  21. I liked the other fence abstract too, but there’s something really appealing about the diagonal movement in this one, grounded by that strong horizontal line. Very cool!

  22. This is great, Katie! I really like the colors. 🙂

  23. Very cool lines great post as usual!

  24. It looks like a painting! I did one of those myself when we still had leaves on our trees! 😀

  25. very cool!

  26. Great abstract! Lovely orange and green 🙂

  27. Amazing, as always! 🙂

  28. Very cool.

  29. It looks like the colors are flying. I like it!!

  30. Very nice – I like the way it still has a sort of geometric pattern under the abstractness.

  31. Cool shot. Since I started following your blog, I think this is my favorite abstract that you have done. It reminds me of an amazing painter whose name escapes me right now, but I will remember it when I am doing something completely unrelated, a week from now. And I will pass the name along.

  32. This is a great shot, loved the colors and the ‘blocking’ effect.

Leave a Reply

 
