Portrait of an Apple — Out in the Cold

I took this image last year about this time. It was cold out and snow was still on the ground in places.

I came upon an old apple in my alley one day. To my eye there was a simple beauty to this decaying fruit. The snow framed it in an interesting way and then the gravel rocks added more texture.

Shot with my 105mm macro lens at f/4.0.

Image Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on January 30, 2012.

30 Responses to “Portrait of an Apple — Out in the Cold”

  1. It’s almost as if the snow wanted to protect it… Nice, Kate!

  2. Great display of nature. I like how the composition of pattern, texture and symmetry all work together equally. I’m loving this!

  3. Nice!

  4. Yep, that’s what happens to me when I step outside. Cool shot.

  5. I really like this, Katie! The surroundings are the most significant elements here, for me! πŸ˜‰ Great photo! πŸ™‚

  6. Only you could make rotten fruit look good! πŸ™‚

  7. This one is fantastic… and could be part of a great sequence of the cycle of life with the various stages of “the apple’s life” πŸ˜›

  8. Nice textures and contrast in this Katie πŸ™‚

  9. ow…it is indeed beautiful Katie.

  10. Really nice shot, Katie! Nature at work! Fascinating thing nature, how it all interlinks together! This simple apple; starting with a seed that grows into a tree; the tree produces flowers and fruit; and the fruit falls, rots and re-seeds and fertilizes the ground! In human terms, we are not that good at putting back, but we are getting better at it! Carol is right! Only you could make rotten fruit look good! I’m not sure I would even have noticed it!

    Take care!

    John

  11. I imagine this as some kind of fallen apple soldier; fell before he found shelter from the bitter cold.

    It is very beautiful

  12. This is a perfect example of the things you see, Katie, that others would walk by and never notice. You took a photo of a piece of rotting fruit and made it gorgeous. That’s pretty magical in itself! πŸ™‚

  13. Great pic, great composition – even though I don’t get so hungry watching it! πŸ˜‰ As always, love your way with saturation.

  14. The contrast of the actual subject is very interesting — apple and ice.

  15. Excellent shot, Katie. Things that are rotten can also be beautiful. Great contrast with the ice. Well seen!

  16. Love it…well you know me I like to photograph a bit of rottenness πŸ˜‰

  17. Interesting photo Katie, most folks would not even notice the various forms and textures. Nicely done!

  18. i like this, veery intriguing!

  19. Great shot!

  20. Nice colors!

  21. Poor apple out in the cold! Nice shot Katie πŸ˜€

  22. looks like it’s been there for a while O_o
    i like how the overall image has a cold feel to it, very wintery

  23. It’s an amazing concept, even though there is decay there is still life within the apple causing the decay. The melting ice/snow adds to it. Only you could make this look good. Nice image!

  24. oh, poor little apple.
    there are actually some lovely golden browns here, echoed in the stones…

  25. Such a variety of textures and colors here, Katie – lovely! There’s beauty, even in decay πŸ™‚

  26. I agree – there is a simple beauty in entropy. The shot is beautiful. I really like how he apple has its own distinct character with its wrinkles and markings.

  27. I love the stones, the colors, the textures… I would never have guessed at first glance that that was an apple. πŸ™‚

  28. I quite like this – the way the snow is approaching the apple, but stopping short…

  29. That is gross and great at the same time!

  30. Jolly good, Katie! The decaying apple I find quite beautiful in itself. I really like the shallow depth of field producing that lovely array of colours of the pebbles in the background and the contrast between the sharpness of the wrinkles with the softness of the pebbles.

    Apologies for the delayed visits here of late and probably for some time to come; my inner and outer life have become much busier than they were.

Leave a Reply

 
