Portrait of a Leaf – 6 – Red Wins!

Time for another portrait of a leaf. If you’d like to see the other portraits of leaves, you can see them at Portrait of a Leaf.

I took this image back in October before I started considering a portrait of leaves collection, but it fits in, so here we go.

Maple trees are rare here in the high desert climate of Santa Fe, and the really old maple trees don’t turn red in the fall (which really frustrated me when I first moved to this town). Thankfully, there are a few younger trees that were planted by newcomers to Santa Fe.

Although the maple tree isn’t native here, I appreciate those people who planted these marvelous trees that have wonderfully shaped leaves that turn such colors in the autumn. My eye just zooms in on those leaves when I see them, and being that they look so different here, I have to photograph them.

I found this leaf in an overgrown alley way where I love to walk. What made this image special was the yellow leave that was next to the maple leaf. I just think it looks like the red maple leaf is saying, “I win!”

Shot with my 105mm macro lens at f/3.2.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on January 31, 2012.

32 Responses to “Portrait of a Leaf – 6 – Red Wins!”

  1. And yellow backs off 😉

  2. Beautiful. I love the colors. The red leaf just jumps out to say hello, doesn’t it? 🙂

  3. Maple leaves are my favorite! Beautiful photo, Katie! 🙂

  4. Great contrasts 🙂 Fantastic

  5. The touch of green makes the yellow pop!

  6. I love the colours of the leaves against the dark ground. 🙂 They pop so nicely.

  7. While red is certainly beautiful, I think yellow wins in this one! 😀

  8. Wonderful colors.

  9. I love the colors of nature.

  10. Lovely and great colors!

  11. Gorgeous colours Katie – maple is so pretty.

  12. Wow ~ Maple trees in Santa Fe? (btw) Red ALWAYS wins! ~ Red (LOL)

  13. I love the contrast.

  14. I think it’s great how we see little stories or scenarios in every day objects and nature. Such rich colours you’ve captured

  15. I agree, red wins!

  16. Lovely focus Katie 🙂

  17. Oh Autumn… how I miss ye! 🙂

  18. The red leaf sits on top of a yellow one so maybe the other yellow leaf is leaning over to give it a little stroke on the head, rather than feeling defeated! Either way, it’s delightful to the eye!

  19. That’s amazing. I did a “tree” project in the fall due to the amazing colours of fall.

  20. lovely! Great contrast between the two – great colors.

  21. wonderful one Katie!!!!

  22. great imagination you have Katie… 😉

  23. Great shot Katie…the red one is really pretty.

  24. I love your leaf photos! Thank you for sharing a unique and beautiful perspective on such a simple thing.

  25. I think the red and yellow together make this photo a winner.

  26. Wow, that’s really beautiful Katie! With the red, yellow, and just a touch of green — love the colors!

  27. Beautiful colours!

  28. I miss those vibrant colors in my daily life. (Go away snow!) Great picture and great reminder of a less cold time 🙂

  29. So beautiful! What a wonderful medley of color. Thanks for posting this one. 🙂

  30. pretty!!! 🙂 I love the yellow! I think it’s a bit overshadowed by the red one 😀

  31. What lovely colours and shapes.

  32. Thanks for the breath of autumn in February with this gorgeous photo! It’s interesting to hear how rare and special it is to find red maple leaves in Santa Fe. Since they’re quite common here in the fall, it seems kind of remarkable that we don’t take them for granted. Maybe it’s because their red colour is fleeting. I love the shade of yellow!

Leave a Reply

 
