Portrait of a Leaf – 7 – Above the Crowd

Time for another portrait of a leaf. If you’d like to see the other portraits of leaves, you can see them at Portrait of a Leaf.

Maybe you’ve noticed that I’ve been gone for a bit. Really busy on my trip and then back home, and then busy with work again. And as bloggers know, it takes work and time to keep up the blogging experience. This blog thrives on me feeding my creative spark, and to be honest, I have just been too busy to do that. Unfortunately.

But still, as I have a few minutes before a shoot, I saw this image, and this little leaf wants some attention.

This is a London Planetree leaf, which is a close relative to the Sycamore. I love the strong shape of these leaves; something in them just speaks of power to me.

This image was taken in late December, so this leaf had been on the ground for a long time. But still, it was demanding attention, and it looks remarkably fresh. And even in this pile of leaves, it stands out — floating above the others in the crowd.

Shot with my 105mm macro lens at f/3.0.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on February 7, 2012.

35 Responses to “Portrait of a Leaf – 7 – Above the Crowd”

  1. As light as a feather, in subtle colors.

  2. Always love the leaves. Beautiful capture of the subtle shades. 😉

  3. great photo Katie!
    Greetings
    xandi

  4. Welcome back Katie! (Missed You.)

  5. I love the attention to detail here.

  6. Lovely!

  7. Nice! Welcome back home, Katie!

  8. Lovely photo and good to see you back 🙂

  9. I am glad you said what it was, since I didn’t recognize it. Nice photo.

  10. Beautiful shot. Such lovely muted colors.

  11. Dark, crisp and o so beautiful…

  12. I love this shot Katie….great.

  13. beautiful shades!

  14. Enjoy your shoot, wherever you are!

  15. That top leaf has done a very nice job creating a drop-shadow effect for itself!

  16. Great shot. It would make a wonderful cover for poetry. Yotaki Beautywalk

  17. Cool colours..cool shot

  18. Nice shot!

  19. A very beautiful leaf! i like the shape of it also. It won’t be long until Spring comes and you will be taking pictures of flowers and birds again. Today I was taking a walk in Atlanta, GA and noticed one of the trees already had flowers.

  20. Lovely colours and great shot

  21. The London plane tree is one of my favorites. Great capture! (It’s been a while since I posted, too…sometimes life is just packed!) 🙂

  22. Ah! My favourite leaf! Very nice, Katie.

  23. Love the shot Katie!

  24. getting caught up with life happens to all of us
    lovely photograph katie

  25. This is beautiful! 🙂 So the snow has melted now? 🙂

  26. Hi Katie, I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Please have a look here: http://ingaphotography.wordpress.com/2012/02/08/blogger-awards/

  27. Beautiful. I love the sheen of light on the leaf; that depth of fading brown in the veins looks amazing.

  28. I wanted to you know that I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award, and certainly you deserve it. Please see my post from today at “Lens and Pens by Sally” to see the details. Congratulations, Sally

  29. I’ve been missing your posts, but understand how life gets in the way sometimes. Beautiful shot! I am a big fan of leaves. 🙂 This one deserved a moment of appreciation. Well caught!

  30. Welcome back! I like your leaf portraits.

  31. My favorite leaf photos so far!!

  32. Good to see you back! 🙂 And great shot.

  33. I hear ya. This blogging thing is really getting out of hand isn’t it? 🙂

    As usual, great photo!

  34. Beautiful!

  35. Lovely shot, Katie, and a gorgeous leaf! A few years ago I organised the planting of three London Plane trees in my school grounds as a memorial to an 8 year old pupil who suddenly took ill and died of meningitis. It was such a shock at the time for everyone and took a while to get over. Obviously, we never forget these tragic events and nor should we! Anyway, we were advised mistakenly by the County Arborist to use this type of tree. When they were a few years old, the branches and foliage became too heavy for the trunk and one of the trees split apart. Since then, they have had to be ‘pollarded’! I assume the same would be the case with this one? To me, pollarding spoils the look of the tree in winter, but in summer, the trees and their leaves are gorgeous! Just as well the leaves look so good when they fall!

    Cheers

    John

Leave a Reply

 
