Photography as Abstract – Darkness Ascending

Here’s another of the abstracts I’ve been doing. If you want to see the other images/posts in the series, please click here and here.

I’m not sure why I like this one, but I do. This was taken in late December. It had snowed a few days before and things were melting. I was trying to find patterns in the snow, and I came upon a place where water had dripped onto the snow, making patterns.

I took the photo using a small aperture (f/16), so that I could get greater detail in the snow, and then when processing the raw image, I upped the black factor in the image.

I just like the effect here. The darkness is taking over, and something about it fascinates me. (:

Shot with a 105mm macro lens at f/16.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on February 8, 2012.

27 Responses to “Photography as Abstract – Darkness Ascending”

  1. Yes, love this!

  2. Cool.

  3. Lovely photo, really interesting the different lighting

  4. Very dramatic… I like 🙂

  5. I tried to guess what this is before reading your description, and the best I could come up with was some sort of shortbread. Snow! So obvious now that I know. 🙂

  6. my imagination takes me somewhere jurassic. perfect creativity, thanks for the journey 😉

  7. Wonderful textures and the low light adds depth and colour.

  8. Dark is good…

  9. Thumbs up…I like it when something can look so vastly different to what it actually is..

  10. When I saw this, snow was not what came to mind. Somehow, it makes me think of a cave, or dark desert sands. Very striking! I like it a lot. 🙂

  11. it looks like dark sugar, almost yummy 🙂

  12. Beautiful. I love the chaos behind the traces in the snow and the encroaching darkness. Nicely shot, thanks for sharing.

  13. Cool texture. I couldn’t figure out what it was until I read your post.

  14. It,s alright ;-)…;-)

  15. Love it!! the texture is very interesting

  16. You’re right for changing your mind and finally liking it. I do too! It also reminds me of moon’s surface…

  17. A very fascinating abstract. Liked it, Katie. 🙂

  18. Cool light in this Katie

  19. Love abstracts 🙂

  20. This is really really cool. Makes me wonder what was in that snow.

  21. Oooh, love the low light here! Hope you are well, Katie! I’m dreadfully behind with my blog visits due to my work schedule over the past 10 days or so…….trying to catch up!

  22. A bit of a moonscape…very atmospheric!

  23. Fantastic!

  24. Great chiaroscuro! Really cool photo!

  25. it’s very intergalactick-y : )

  26. Another great inspiration! 🙂

    I’ve been introducing your blog to some friends of mine who like photography. 🙂

    And recently we are learning about camera movement and I’ve recommended your posts of photography abstract. 🙂

    Thanks for the inspiration, Katie! 🙂

    • Thank you, Inge! It’s so nice to hear! I’ve not been taking many moving subjects lately (well, not much of anything, actually), but hopefully with Spring coming soon (oh please!), I’ll begin to see them again. It does take a lot of effort to get the photos the way I like them, so they look that there is a design to them, etc, so I’m really glad that you like these works! Thanks again, Inge!

Leave a Reply

 
