Nice and Normal – Laundry Post/Pole

Here’s another of those Nice and Normal photographs. If you’d like, you can see the other images here.

This photo was taken back in December in the alley behind my home. There are walls on either side of the alley, but every once in a while, you can get a glimpse into a back yard. There is an old laundry pole/post in one yard, and I was inspired one day by the T shape it made, and took this shot.

I just like how the clothes line isn’t straight, like the wind is making it dance a bit, which contrasts with the strong T of the pole. I also like the sun play in this photo – a cold day yet a beautiful day for hanging out some laundry to dry.

Shot with my 105 mm lens at f/4.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on February 10, 2012.

19 Responses to “Nice and Normal – Laundry Post/Pole”

  1. Love the DOF … it is very well done.

  2. I like this. I like the DOF and how the lines just seem to disappear in the ether. Cool shot.

  3. Very cool!

  4. I love the color of this pole and the rusty style. It looks pretty much industrial. You should make a macro picture of the pole only. 🙂

  5. Fine idea – and nice composition. Have a nice weekend!

  6. Nice 🙂

  7. Makes me want to go and peek behind my clothes line.

  8. This looks exacty like the one at my mom’s house!

  9. …once again a lovely frame, Katie and I love the curly / blurry wire!

  10. Good shot….

  11. I like the shining wires leaving from this post. Great DoF. 🙂

  12. This brings back memories…my parents had a clothesline with poles like this and we used to use them as pull-up bars and also, hang from them. Don’t see these too often these days!

  13. Love the clothes line, almost as if they are dancing! 😀

  14. Cool shot!

  15. hi Katie!Nice lighting and depth of field – like contrast between lines and pole. Jane 😀

  16. My clothes line poles look a lot like this…bent up, over-used lines and all. Great shapes and textures in this photo. I like it a lot!

  17. I love the juxtaposition of solid, perpendicular lines with the ethereal, twisting wires.

  18. I like the sunlight in the background. It makes the picture come alive.

  19. I like your industrial shots Katie, they are so good!

Leave a Reply

 
