Santa Fe Railroad Depot

If you’d like to see more photos of Santa Fe, New Mexico, feel free to look at my Santa Fe Photo Gallery.

The railroad was an important part of Santa Fe and its development after New Mexico became a United State Territory. In 1880, the Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway Company pulled its first train into Santa Fe and was greeted by much fanfare. The Santa Fe Depot still stands today in the Guadalupe District of Santa Fe and is a fine example of Mission Revival style of architecture.

I took this image back in early October. It was the first snow of the season, and I loved how the mountains just shown in the early morning light. The Sangre de Cristo Mountains loom large to the East of Santa Fe, and yet, you often don’t see them from downtown. To me this photo takes me back to what Santa Fe must have felt like before the town became what it is today.

Show with my 105mm lens at f/4.5.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on February 13, 2012.

28 Responses to “Santa Fe Railroad Depot”

  1. I’ve never been to Santa Fe, yet you make it seem so familiar and close to me!

  2. Very nice Katie. I love how massive the trains look. With the mountains and trains it’s a very powerful photo for me. Great shot.

  3. I love the bits of history (known or unknown – and I love the assumed)- really makes the picture “speak” a bit more- now if that black car weren’t there…it would really take me back in time. Love the photo of the mountains.

  4. Two types of engines, great! Loved the sunlight and the background here. Beautiful, Katie! 🙂

  5. Beautiful colours and composition you captured dear Katie, I loved it. Thank you, have a nice week, with my love, nia

  6. Fantastic framing and love the colours and lights… great view 🙂

  7. Great shot. I love the oranges of the trains and depot against the blue mountains and sky.

  8. This is such a beautiful photo!

  9. Very nice!

  10. Great shot Katie…love the composition…the old station and the two locomotives that are from two different eras and the mountains in the background. Well done!!!

  11. Looks like a train station in a small European town with the mountains as a backdrop… maybe its just me 🙂

  12. I love this Katie! I rode the Amtrak from So. Cal to Chicago one time. On our way through New Mexico it snowed. It was beautiful! On our way back it was in the 90’s…

  13. What I wouldn’t give for a blue sky……
    Fantastic shot Katie.
    😉

  14. Love the Spanish style houses and the hills intrigue me. All-around pretty photo with trains and all. Welcome home! Jane

  15. Great shot Katie..it looks like the trains are racing. Love the mountains.

  16. Lovely image, modern histoy really !

  17. really great photo Katie!!

  18. Cool 🙂

  19. Great shot Katie. Love the way you’ve composed this.

  20. Lovely, Katie!

  21. wow how beautiful is that!!!

  22. Wow!! You really captured “it”!!

    Happy Valentine’s Day!!

  23. Impressive Place with the Hills in the Background. I could imagine to enjoy it there.

  24. Love the juxtaposition of the two trains. Yotaki Beautywalk

  25. love the menacing face of the train on the left!

  26. So i’m a little behind.. I love this!! what a great pic!! reminds me of the train set we had as kids – it was very elaborate and intricate, always wanted to build a scenery for it much like the setting & background of this shot. Wonderful 🙂 thanks for taking me back a few

  27. This is great I like the contrast between the different trains and the colors. I love the Santa Fe station, though only had 30 minutes to explore when we came through on the train.

  28. Oh, I really, really like this, Katie! It is a photograph that is ‘right up my street’ so to speak! Give me more, please! …and the mountains!

    Cheers

    John

Leave a Reply

 
