St. Valentine’s Day

In the downtown area of Santa Fe, the parts that date to the early part of the twentieth century, there are quite a lot of hand crafted wrought iron fences and gates. I really like photographing them, and I found this heart-shaped fencing last month and took this photo.

I love the delicate nature of the wrought iron heart  —  with the twists, and then the colors in the background — the red of the adobe wall, the light greens and yellows.

I thought this photo would fit in well on St. Valentine’s Day.

Shot with my 105mm macro lens at f/3.2.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on February 14, 2012.

42 Responses to “St. Valentine’s Day”

  1. Fantastic, it can really be seen as an irony… the cold of iron and the warmth of an hearth. Excelent photo 🙂

  2. You certainly hit it out of the park with this one. All the best.

  3. Another perfect example of your incredibly creative eye. Beautiful shot!

  4. Perfect! Happy Valentine’s Day, Katie! xx

  5. I was waiting for your post and I knew it will be unique!! Happy Valentine’s Day! 🙂

  6. Such a delicate and elegant photo, Katie! Happy Valentine’s!

  7. Very nice! Good eye.

  8. Beautiful. Great shot for the day. Happy Valentines Day.

  9. Happy Valentine’s Day!

  10. This is perfect!
    BTW, I enjoyed all your Santa Fe photos!

  11. Aw, sweet! ♥ ♥ ♥

  12. Perfect!

  13. Love this!

  14. This is beautiful! DOF is perfect!

  15. Happy Valentine’s Katie… cheeky image 🙂

  16. Happy Valentine’s Day, Katie-your photo is a nice touch!

  17. This is a great spot and very pretty! 🙂

  18. Nice shot……A subtle approach to Valentines day is a good approach to valentines day……It can all get a bit ‘overkill’ for my tastes, but this is lovely.

  19. Sweet 🙂

  20. Perfect…great find and great eye.

  21. Rather fitting image Katie! 😀

  22. Beautiful, so beautiful. Happy Valentine’s Day, with my love, nia

  23. Happy Valentines Day Katie…this photo is perfect for the occasion!

  24. great one!
    And have a nice valentines day too Katie!

  25. Very sweet 🙂

  26. What a beautiful idea Katie. This is great.

  27. Beautiful photo & composition – how perfect for Valentine’s Day.

  28. Beautiful as always, Katie!

  29. I love your Valentine Heart. I really like how the heart stands out in front of the background. The composition gives it a 3-D look.

  30. I don’t know why, but it reminds me of glasses. Maybe that’s a comment on the nature of love…

  31. Oh I love this!

  32. Very nice!

  33. Well seen, Katie. Great photo. 🙂

  34. Nice. Made me smile!

  35. nicely spotted there Katie. love the bokeh.

  36. very appropriate!

  37. This is cool 🙂

  38. Where’s the super love button???

  39. Nice shot and theme! 🙂

  40. Nice 🙂

  41. Love how you captured the iron work. I can feel the metal curves in my hand.

  42. Lovely 🙂 Sorry I missed this back in February.

Leave a Reply

 
