Photography as Abstract – Abstracting an Abstract

Here’s another of the abstracts I’ve been doing. If you want to see the other images/posts in the series, please click here and here.

Sometime in the past, Santa Fe had young local artists paint telephone boxes, etc. around town. There is one that I see a lot on my walks — an abstract painting — and I decided to try my hand at photographing it. I decided to add movement to the image, as I thought it gave it more life; instead of a static image, there is motion in it, and I liked the result.

And thanks to the anonymous artist who created the original art work!

Shot with a 105mm macro lens at f/36 at a shutter speed of 1/25, while I moved the camera in a circular motion.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on February 15, 2012.

24 Responses to “Photography as Abstract – Abstracting an Abstract”

  1. Fun colors!

  2. Nice Idea Katie with the movieng cam. This Photo is really abstract. 🙂 If you wouldn´t explain, I would not have known what it could be.

  3. Love the colours captured 🙂

  4. Has the feel of an abstract oil painting. Nice.

  5. oooo…more ideas to copy 🙂

  6. still cool Katie. Like it.

  7. Don’t ask me why, but it puts me in mind of tulips!

  8. I really liked the colors, Katie! Beautiful motion in colors. 🙂

  9. Nice image katie….I think it fits my mood today…a little unstructured.

  10. Very cool!

  11. There is something wonderfully evocative of abstract art. I love representational but with abstract I get caught up in the emotional part of the artwork. I love not being able to put words to a piece of art and instead just feel it. This photo has a wide range of emotions attached to it. Very strong and in-your-face but also with a hint of darkness. Very nice.

  12. Always love your abstracts Katie!

  13. Really nice colors and movement.

  14. so very cool! Fab colors.

  15. this is simply amazing… m so gonna try it with my canon baby!! 🙂

  16. Excellent dynamic, colourful image. Your abstract work is strong and imaginative.

  17. yeah, liking the streaky blurry

  18. I love this image! I love the idea of abstracting and abstract work.

    The texture in the green segment is amazing, it looks like light being bent within the color. Beautiful.

  19. nice colours and movement jane

  20. Very nice effect, Katie. Your movement works so well! [I love your title: Abstracting the Abstract!!!!]

  21. Ha, ha – abstracting an abstract! I like your fantasy – and the fine result of it. Beautiful! And great inspiration 🙂

  22. It’s another inspiration of you! 🙂

  23. very cool!

  24. I love sweeping the camera to make abstracts (though I don’t do it nearly enough). You never quite know what you will come up with; in fact I usually get a lot of stuff that gets trashed, but every now and then a good like shot – just like you have here. Thanks for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

 
