Nice and Normal – Construction Crane at Sunset

Here’s another of those Nice and Normal photographs. If you’d like, you can see the other images here.

I will be blunt here. I hate this construction crane, or rather what this construction crane is building. (: It is involved in constructing a large municipal building that will block out the view of the Jemez Mountains in the downtown Santa Fe area. From now on my walks will never be to the east of this building.

That being said, sometimes I shoot things I dislike. (:  In January, I was on the top-level of a parking garage, trying to see if I could get some interesting sunset shots. I saw the lines of this crane and in the light of the sunset, it made a pretty shape.

I hate that crane. I like this photo. (:

Shot with my 70-200 mm lens at f/14.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on February 16, 2012.

27 Responses to “Nice and Normal – Construction Crane at Sunset”

  1. The colours of the sky changing with the increasing height of the crane makes this a fantastic idea 🙂 Very well achieved too.

  2. Love, love, love the subtlety here. Thank you, Katie.
    PS will be posting a new blog by Saturday, a Sephardic dish. 😉

  3. Loved the sky, Katie! And it would be very right to call this as a “tall” photo. Wow! 😀

  4. Awww, it looks so lonely…even if it’s a sign of impending (visual) doom… 😉

  5. Lovely! Like the two (sky and crane) were a match made in heaven.

  6. Love the lines and the sky…..but that it will block a view of mountains..not so much!

  7. Interesting silhouette – pity your view ids going to be ruined though.

  8. Great photo – shame about the building.

  9. I love this Katie. I think it’s one of your best. I like the stark contrasts of the crane against the colorful sky. I also like the sense of rest after a days work – a time to refuel and re-energize for the new work day tomorrow.

    p.s. Thanks for all your kinds comments and support. I have to think that if there is a construction crane there has to be some cool concrete/steel abstracts lurking nearby. 🙂 Wish I were there.

  10. I truly sympathize with you, in both!. It’s annoying and disturbing when the very rare ability to “connect” with nature is being blocked. Yet you manage to make me forget that and see something beautiful! Excellent photo, Katie.

  11. Haha I love that you hate the crane so much that it becomes a favorite subject for photographing. I guess it’s the love/hate thing, but the crane does have some great geometric design going on there. The way the cable is dangling though, in front the beautiful backdrop, makes the crane seem ever more delicate. I love it! 🙂

  12. “That being said, sometimes I shoot things I dislike” – presumably with a camera? 🙂 Nice photo

  13. really, really a nice one Katie!

  14. I can surely understand.. but a very cool shot!

  15. Very nice, simple composition

  16. The sky is absolutely beautiful. The crane is a nice contrast with its architectural look. Nice!

  17. Fingers crossed…Maybe the building itself might be beautiful…A lot are.
    I hope so…..

  18. Lovely backdrop to the crane…

    (and i am sorry that your view will be blocked)

    And i like this picture too 🙂

  19. Well it is a beautiful shot of something you don’t like. The sky is amazing; the striated colors add such depth to the image.

  20. Great shot! The contrast btwn hard, rigid lines, a man-made machine vs the soft, gentaleness of Mother nature; i once did a shoot out at a landfill (apparently ur supposed to chk in b4 u go wandering –oops!) And while i got a few crane shots, i didnt get the beautiful bkgrnd of a sunset 🙂

  21. That is Las Vegas state bird. Nice shot. Yotaki

  22. WOW!

  23. I would hate the blocked view also, but I like the interesting shape of the crane against the sky. Nice shot Katie!!!

  24. Something about this is so cool… Love all the textures.
    🙂

  25. I am so sorry your view of the mountains will be blocked out – how awful, you must be gutted!! But how marvelous that you have managed to take such an awesome photo and make something good come out of it 🙂

  26. Lovely! this industrial shot is so romantic 😀

  27. I’d rather see the spiderweb structure of the crane silhouetted against the evening sky than the blocky building that will stand in its place. Too bad the crane can’t stay! It may not have the perfectly symmetrical elegance of the Eiffel Tower, but it’s still pretty cool. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
