Nice and Normal – Contemporary Wood Gate

Here’s another of those Nice and Normal photographs. If you’d like, you can see the other images here.

This photo was taken in January, when I was out with my big lens, the 70-200mm f/2.8. It Is an utterly fantastic lens, but one I usually don’t just carry around. It’s heavy, and the way I shoot — those details — aren’t served with a lens like this. Plus, people tend to look at you differently when you have a huge lens on your camera; you’re not as invisible. And I like just to go about my business quietly.

Anyhow, this lens is just outstanding, and back in January, it had me finding a shot on a driveway gate that I walk by at least twice a week, but had never photographed before. The late day sun was hitting it nicely, and I liked the contemporary lines to it, so I tried to capture a photo that emphasized that.

Shot with my 70-200 lens at f/2.8.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on February 22, 2012.

34 Responses to “Nice and Normal – Contemporary Wood Gate”

  1. sometimes normal is good – this is a fine example.

  2. Simplicity can have a strong charm and this is a good example. I only ever carry one lens (my Nikon 18-200mm) with because I hate swapping lenses – especially I keep changing my mind as to how to frame/shoot something. I also hate cleaning lenses, so one lens = less cleaning 🙂

  3. I loved it. The light and contrast are well captured. Thank you dear Katie, with my love, nia

  4. good shot, fits for a wallpaper too

  5. Classic. Like another commenter stated…charm! Classic charm. Very unexpected as art as well. But art indeed 🙂

  6. Nice lines 🙂 great photo

  7. Love the simplicity of the gate. Nice shot.

  8. Do you sell postcard size copies of your work? There are a number I would be interested in. I travel a lot which is why I say postcard size. Have you published a book of the photographs? Yotaki Beautywalk

  9. Love the way the light is hitting the gate. It seems I can almost feel the smoothness of the wood.

  10. You’re right, it is outstanding. They lines are very well-emphasized. And what I loved the most is the symmetry, I’m glad you like it too. 🙂

  11. It’s very smooth and soft with lovely variations of monochrome color. But what interests me even more is the peek between the fence into a world beyond. That is where my imagination goes.

  12. Wow, I love this one Katie!

  13. I like this, is it redwood.
    I don’t have a big lens, but do have an oversized camera. I know what you mean.

  14. wonderful light and I love the minimalistic composition. Great!

  15. I really like the light in this photo.

  16. That lens is fantastic… but so is the image 🙂

  17. http://photographyofnia.com/2012/02/22/i-am-honored-by-your-awards-thank-you/
    Dear Katie, you are one of my nominated bloggers for the Liebster Blog Award, Thank you, with my love, nia

  18. Yeah, nice selective focus. BTW, I’m thinking you probably do need to blend in a bit more, be a little bit more inconspicuous. Maybe something like this fella: http://bit.ly/ApXzWC

  19. Love the finish and design on this-and the lighting accentuates it.

  20. Great light…..

  21. Nice!

  22. Very nice shot. Funny too since I was just thinking how its so rare to see a full wood fence anymore and then bam, there you go posting one. lol. Psychic!

  23. Love it:) It is my kind of thing…nailheads and bat and board:)

  24. nice lines!

  25. Great image. I love the way the light brightens up pieces of everyday things – fences, lamposts. gates, stones & so on.

  26. Love the gap!

  27. I recall writing to you something about amazing browns… I love the lines, the shading, the frame, the blurry background, the fence, the colours, the composition, well …your contemporary wood gate!!!

  28. stunning! And I too like to be not too visible when taking pictures. Hate when people stare at me if I’m using a (borrowed) big camera 🙂

  29. Wonderfully composed.

  30. Professional as always!

  31. nice light in this photo katie

  32. […] mother got married. And also this image was taken on the same day and just down the street from the contemporary wood gate, I posted earlier this […]

  33. Reblogged this on Conceptual Art.

  34. it’s all about the lines! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
