Portrait of a Leaf – 8 – A Leaf with the Memory of Her Distant Cousins

Time for another portrait of a leaf. If you’d like to see the other portraits of leaves, you can see them here, “Portrait of a Leaf.”

Here’s another leaf from a London Plane Tree, that American Sycamore cousin, whose leaves I just adore for their shape, and whose trunks I love for their wonderful pealing nature.

I really like this image for the shape of the leaf against all that texture and curved lines in the sidewalk, and the warm color of the leaf against the cool grey. And then those little indentations that look like they could be small leaves of long ago.

So, a “Portrait of aΒ Leaf with the Memory of Her Distant Cousins.” (:

Shot with my 105mm macro lens at f/8.

Image Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on February 23, 2012.

22 Responses to “Portrait of a Leaf – 8 – A Leaf with the Memory of Her Distant Cousins”

  1. Maple leaf, my favorite! πŸ˜€ And I really like the way it is lying on the wavy textures below. Brilliant eye… πŸ˜‰

    πŸ™‚

  2. Beautiful photo, Katie.

  3. Katie,

    Your ‘Leaf’ collection is by far my favorite… As a huge fan of trees, these just capture such a lovely, natural essence. Well done!

    Ant :c)

    PS – Been rather sick these past few days, will be back up to blogging speed soon…

  4. I love leaves that have fallen…they are still so beautiful.

  5. Well done. Those depressions in the concrete really do look like leaf impressions. Cool.

  6. Nice and simple, I love the texture of the background!

  7. Lovely!

  8. Fantastic textures and framing πŸ™‚

  9. I was reading your description and thinking at the same time [as one does!] and soon I realized that my thoughts and your words coincided! So the only thing I can add here is the warmth I get from your beautiful image…

  10. Great contrasting textures Katie! πŸ™‚

  11. What a pretty name for a tree.
    I have a maple leaf to post later. With the snow gone, they are showing up again.

  12. Excellent photo here Katie!

  13. I love that idea…memory of her distant cousins πŸ™‚

  14. The curvy grooves give a sense of movement – nice!

  15. Very nice composition

  16. We don’t see maple trees in India much (or at least I haven’t seen till now!)

    I like its shape… unusual πŸ™‚

  17. Great eye, Katie. You always find the most interesting and beautiful subjects.

  18. I love the contrast of the colours and textures – but the best bit for me is the “wavy flow” across the horizontal. Lovely and simple.

  19. Another wonderful image! I love your leaf series, Katie.

  20. Very beautiful. I like the pattern of the background.

  21. The textures here are stunning! I am a big fan of leaves. πŸ™‚ Great photo!

  22. great textures!

Leave a Reply

 
