Nice and Normal – Old Fountain with Sunlit Mountains Behind

Here’s another of those Nice and Normal photographs. If you’d like, you can see the other images here.

I took this image late in day in early January. This fountain is behind a very old building here in Santa Fe, and it doesn’t get much notice. The late day sun on the foothills caught my eye, so I decided to try to take a photo with them behind this fountain.

At first, I didn’t want those cars in the image, and I planned to go back and take another shot. But the more I ran into this photo, the more I liked it. To my eye, it feels a bit European, which I enjoy.

Shot with my 105 mm lens at f/2.8.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on February 27, 2012.

21 Responses to “Nice and Normal – Old Fountain with Sunlit Mountains Behind”

  1. Nice symmetry!

  2. It does feel European – had to look twice to see that it was in fact Santa Fe.

  3. Cool!

  4. Beautiful composition 🙂

  5. I like the juxtaposition of warm and cool colors. It is a pleasant reminder of the evening ahead.

  6. Love this, just beautiful. I love the sun on the hill in the background.

  7. I see you managed to get just the right New Mexico colors in the background. This is really nice.

  8. Great Photo Katie, to us Europeans it does look very European 😉

  9. really great photo Katie!!
    Peace
    xandi

  10. I love the colours Katie.

  11. I love the very crisp detail of the fountain compared to the very soft background. Well captured!

  12. that’s a nice old fountain in the middle of it all. jane:)

  13. Lovely image and I particularly like the colours you’ve captured – very nice

  14. Beautiful. I like the hints of blue-green in the basins.

  15. Love it – love the colors!

  16. Re: the cars — they’re a huge part of our world, and you handled them beautifully by using the shallow depth of field instead of photoshopping them out of existence. The softened shapes of cars and mountains really made the fountain pop, so — well done!

    (Parisians loathed the Eiffel Tower when it was new. They thought it was an ugly abomination desecrating their skyline, and now, who can imagine Paris without it? Cars, cranes, drill rigs, bridges…all utilitarian, and all beautiful if photographed by somebody who sees them as beautiful! Woody Allen’s filmed visions of New York spring to mind…okay, I’ll shut up now). 🙂

  17. Its got some nice character 🙂

  18. this is one superb image of a gorgeous fountain!! u do great day to day photography it makes these things look fabulous!

  19. The fountain with the little hints of turquoise stand out beautifully from the mountain amber… And the blurry tree branches on top, add a little extra!

  20. gorgeous photograph katie, i like the background colours

  21. Beautifully placed, Katie! Loved the different color tones in just one photo. Great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
