Portrait of a Leaf – 9 – Holding on Tight

Time for another portrait of a leaf. If you’d like to see the other portraits of leaves, you can see them at Portrait of a Leaf.

I was impressed with this leaf. It had fallen off of his tree, but then had latched on to this branch and was holding on tight. His tenacious streak struck me, so he became a subject of a portrait.

The thought occurred to me yesterday that this reminds me that sometimes we hang on to things past the point of when we should. I’m sure that means something in my life, but I can’t think of what right now. (:

Shot with my 105mm macro lens at f/3.3.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on February 29, 2012.

29 Responses to “Portrait of a Leaf – 9 – Holding on Tight”

  1. Beautiful structure, Katie!

  2. Great photo work. I really like the meaning behind this. Its so true that often we hold on to things to long, just like this leaf. Like this leaf we are all afraid to fall.

  3. This is fantastic, isn’t it? 😀 Nice photo, Katie. 🙂

  4. The popping veins make it look like it really needs to hold on tight!

  5. Fantastic DoF and image quality, the framing is also great. excellent 🙂

  6. Ohhh, what an interesting find and observation you made!

  7. Almost as though that leaf’s got little fingers!

  8. A great capture of fragile beauty. Love the soft colors.

  9. So beautiful and strongly captures me… This is amazing my dear Katie. Thank you, with my love, nia

  10. Nice. There is an emotional quality to this. The title is perfect!

  11. This one is not a quitter.

  12. I love the color in the leaf. Really lovely shot.

  13. Beautiful!

  14. Nice capture, Katie! And there can be much symbolism hidden in this scene!

  15. very cool — makes me think that there must be a bug happily hiding inside. and re hanging on…this reminds me I need to do spring cleaning, maybe one of these days soon…

  16. Awwww………..

  17. Simply beautiful capture Katie…love the colours

  18. Great capture Katie! I think it is just human nature to hold on to things or keep them close to our heart so to speak. The reason doesn’t matter to anyone but ourselves.

  19. There sure are some ‘clingers on’ this season, aren’t there? I’m surprised by how many leaves are still ‘hanging in’ there… LOL 🙂

  20. O love what you said to go with this photo – “sometimes we hang on to things past the point of when we should.” How true and a great illustration.

  21. gorgeous capture katie, it has a very wintery feel

  22. Beautiful and kismet; I was just contemplating the leaves barely clinging to the trees today. I even wrote a haiku:

    The last dried leaves cling
    Shivering in the winds.
    We’re all holding on.

    We must have been in the same frame of mind this morning.

    Your photograph is beautiful. I like how the delicate leaf seems to be so tightly clutching the branch. The color is lovely, especially the ruddy veins of the leaf. Great eye, as always.

  23. Like the bokeh and the effect it has on the leaf 🙂

  24. Lovely.
    I think dried curled up leaves make beautiful images.

  25. I don’t know, this leaf clings on to the branch with such natural affection that it can’t be wrong! I somehow know that it will let go when the time is right, won’t it?! Maybe it’s sole purpose was that you capture it in this beautiful shot…

  26. You are so right on this post. That leaf needs to let go, as I do sometimes.

  27. What an amazing shot. There’s something very poetic about it. I love it. Between this little leaf’s determination and the muted colors, it is quite poignant.

  28. Great capture.. : )

  29. Great capture!

Leave a Reply

 
