Portrait of a Nail 2

When I posted my first Portrait of a Nail, I received a lot of wonderful likes and comments for it (thank you!), so I thought I’d post another one.

This was actually the first portrait of a nail I did, when I actually thought of it that way. (: This nail was found in another alley that I visit a lot, and I just liked how it was sitting there on this gate by himself. He looked a bit lonely by himself, so I took the photo to make him smile. πŸ™‚

Shot with my 70-200mm macro lens at f/2.8.

Image Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on March 7, 2012.

32 Responses to “Portrait of a Nail 2”

  1. I love this composition, Katie, the nail standing proudly there in the middle, the hint of blue on the gate and the greenish …underworld!

  2. Hey πŸ™‚ I took a nail picture just this evening. It reminded me of you, and here you are, posted a nail portrait! Great. πŸ˜€

    Nice photo. πŸ™‚

  3. I like this. It demonstrates how sometimes the smallest things really do keep the big things together.

  4. Nice to give the lil nail some company πŸ˜€

  5. nice portrait πŸ™‚

  6. There is something about this shot that I really like. And, not just the nail.

  7. Maybe he wanted some me time πŸ™‚ I like this one.

  8. You nailed it, katie.
    (Forgive me that; couldn’t resist.)
    Great shot.

  9. The lonely nails of the world thank you for your photographic sanctuary, Katie…!

  10. I love how you compose and the color pallete you capture here. Lovely!

  11. Greetings! I am ‘awarding’ you the Versatile Blogger Award! Because I enjoy your portraits of everyday things, which makes them “special”.

    Go to my blog to capture the badge, & let me know if you need help with that. As a ‘condition’ for receiving this award, recipients are to reveal 7 things about themselves, & pass the award along to 15 other bloggers.

    Have fun & be well!

  12. great one Katie!!! Love your compisitions too πŸ™‚

  13. There is nothing like a really good Nail Photo. And this is NOTHING LIKE a good nail photo…..

    Oh C’mon….I’m kidding you know I love your work and this really is a lovely pic.

    :-0)

  14. great symmetry!!

  15. Very good photo…very nice day
    πŸ™‚

  16. That nail looks lonely! Can’t you find a mate for him?

  17. I really like the idea of the portrait of a nail. This one is so great! I’m not sure if this nail is lonely, or likes to be alone, standing tall and proud. πŸ˜‰ Great shot!

  18. Ah, always looking out for the little guy! Nice!

  19. Wow. Who would have thought that would make such a neat picture. I love it! Always have to look out for those interesting perspectives!

  20. Karie – I love this photo – super composirion πŸ™‚

  21. I love this, and I think a big part of what makes this work so well is the title, and the way it orients my focus in a fun way.

  22. I really like the depth of field. There is a lovely comparison of colors between the soft blues in the background and the paint(?) chris along the wooden slats. Beautiful capture.

  23. Love that you made him smile, made me smile too! πŸ˜€

  24. Cute….He looks perched just high enough to take in the world.

  25. me like

  26. Lovely symmetry, and even though he does seem a little lonely he also seems a little proud… standing straight and tall. I like him! : )

  27. I think you nailed it with this one!

  28. What a cute nail! πŸ™‚

  29. A very beautiful and striking picture, Katie, excellent stuff! Adrian

  30. a very nice detail to focus on. really good composition on this.

  31. […] got the idea for a Portrait of a Nail (and his little sister) from Katie over at >>katie’s camera blog<< who in turn, inspired Nandini @ >>Life Just Is<< to do the same. Continuing […]

Leave a Reply

 
